Back to hotel info

2015
Very good 7.7
Based on 1348 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 1348 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 8.8
  • Location 9.1
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.7
  • Service 7.3
  • Value for money 7.1
  • Food/Dining 7.8
Sort by

Timothy M. from Australia
Families with older children
Stayed 5 nights in December 2012
Grand old lady of Colombo
Real class and old fashioned service
We felt we were part of history at the Galle Face. Its facilities are excellent and the breakfast buffet one son's all-time favorite. The rooms are old, but comfortable. Highly recommended.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Dunithra S. from Sri Lanka
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in February 2013
Nice and charming hotel
Charming, nice restaurants , view and pool
Very nice and charming hotel. Nice staff and good location. The view was amazing . Only cons is the quality of the room. It was clean but need maintenance.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Laurence M. from New Zealand
Couples
Stayed 4 nights in January 2013
The Old Grande Dame
Location and sense of history; also large rooms in Classic Wing
The faded elegance of history runs through the whole of the classic wing of the hotel. We had a huge and wonderful room with windows on 2 sides overlooking the Indian Ocean and Galle Face park. Large fan and two noisy air con machines. It does not have the polish that you would expect from a modern international chain (go to the Regency Wing if that is what you prefer). As you would expect from a building that is nearly 150 years old, the windows are a bit loose in places, the bathroom decor could be upgraded, an a number of other features do not work as well as you would expect from a modern hotel. But the bed was comfortable, the room was light and airy and spacious and we loved it for the style and character that is lacking in so many international hotels today. Came back to the hotel again after touring the country
Reviewed February 08, 2013

Martin P. from Australia
Couples
Stayed one night in January 2013
A grand piece of colonial history
Location, service and food
A wonderful piece of Sri Lankan colonial history beautifully preserved to give the modern traveller a glimpse into history.
Reviewed February 07, 2013

IGNATIUS C. from United States
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in February 2013
the hotel wifi is unsatisfactory
history
You are asked to buy wifi access in time segments. The wifi access is very, very poor and unreliable and takes forever to access.
Reviewed February 07, 2013

Michael B. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in January 2013
Grand dame needs a make-over
location and downstairs dining and bars
This is a beautiful old hotel but we were in a very shabby smelly room on the first floor. The reception and eating areas are clean and international standard. Breakfast and High Tea were very well served, and good value. The view across the ocean at sunset is spectacular. Our room was large but sparsely furnished and barely clean. Lighting was limited and the door gaped allowing light and noise in from the hallway, in which were stacked some very grubby used matresses. Furnishings in the hall way were soiled and shabby. Staff were well meaning but limited.
Reviewed February 06, 2013

Bala S. from United States
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in February 2013
Classic hotel in Colombo on the beach
Excellent location with beautiful view
We were upgraded to the Royal Suite one of te largest we have stayed.Staff wer very helpful and the restaurants though limited were good. The reception staff lost our booking and had to be reminded with the printed copy. No problem in changing the wing for future booking.
Reviewed February 06, 2013

Amanda K. from Canada
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in January 2013
Great place to greet Colombo
Nice pool, good food and great sleep.
my boyfriend and i stayed for two nights. we landed late and our driver was patient and helpful. we were upgraded to the new wing and although the rooms were smaller than we expected, they were clean and comfortable. you can easily hear your neighbor in the standard rooms. we had hoped for better cable too. regardless, it's a great place to start or finish your time in sri lanka!
Reviewed February 05, 2013

erika M. from Netherlands
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in January 2013
Great location, great atmosphere, mediocre service
Location and colonial style hotel with a great sea view
The hotel is in a great location for exploring the city. It has a great pool, great seaside terrace for sunset drinks and the hotel itself is like the old colonial hotels you see in the movies. The service is not very good, but overall a great hotel and close to all the city sights. Rooms are a bit dated, but so is the hotel. No free wifi available.
Reviewed February 04, 2013

Francis C. from Australia
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in January 2013
Lovely and great location
Fantastic location
Fantastic location for an old hotel. The reception staff are poorly trained and unable to be be useful in dealing with customer complaint. 3rd world service for a lovely hotel. Foods are great and very pleasant to spend your evening beside the sea.
Reviewed February 04, 2013