arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

2015
Very good 7.7
Based on 1336 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 1336 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 8.7
  • Location 9.1
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.7
  • Service 7.3
  • Value for Money 7.1
  • Food/Dining 7.8

ambalavaner K.
United States
January 26, 2013
Great location but the rooms are not clean at all
The beach and the restaurant was very good.
One whole night we could not sleep at all. the room above us making lot of noise which went until the morning. When we questioned about it the next day they told us they were getting ready for a wedding. The hotel should allocate the rooms appropriately. The rooms floor and the bathroom floors were dirty but the linen was changed nicely. The staff was nice.

Corinne K.
United Kingdom
January 26, 2013
Most awful hotel I even lived in all my travels.
Restaurant facing the sea
This is worse than a 2 star hotel in Europe with a five star price of a European hotels. Water leaked into our Bathroom from the cealing upstairs. The Bathroom and Bedroom has not been renovated since the 1950. The hotel is just there. Everything is falling apart in the furniture. AC very noisy. Not worth. Fortunately stayed only one night. Hotel reception was awful. Several of my friends telephoned and staff said we were not registered in the hotel. Missed a very important call staying in that hotel. The only thing that was good was the food and the restaurant on the sea I read bad reviews but I had already booked. Agree with every word on the bad reviews.

Russell S.
Australia
January 25, 2013
A Colonial Fantasy
Location by the sea, swimming pool, Verandah Restaurant
if a colonial fantasy is your thing this is perfect - i stayed in the old wing - it is like stepping into the past. the buffet meals and breakfast sitting on the verandah are quite romantic. i've stayed here quite often and i'm always drawn back to this historic hotel with its own particular charm. g&ts on the lawn at sunset with the waves crashing onto the rocks is the perfect way to end the day. but beware of one thing. this hotel hosts weddings day and night - up to 3 a day. they can be very noisy.

CHELLIAH J.
Australia
January 24, 2013
lovely hotel but building and furniture old
good location,good service and good food
the hotel is located by the sea with opportunity for morning or afternoon walks with numerous locals.the hotel also has a very good salt water pool suitable for adults and children. the buffet breakfast had a good collection of sri lankan and western food. The buffet was however a bit crowded during the morning and it is adviseable to go a bit early for breakfast.The laundary and room service were very promt. On the downside the furnishings and the room was a bit old on the old wing. However this gives the traveller what srilanka was during the olden days. The reception staff were very busy that they could not be contacted easily perhaps because of the insufficient number. I would say that my experience in the hotel was a pleasant one.

Ariel L.
Singapore
January 24, 2013
Lovely Sea Front hotel
Sea Front, Sea View, near Crescat Shopping Mall
Lovely hotel with good food selection Conveniently located to Sea front and Crescat Shopping Mall

David K.
United Kingdom
January 23, 2013
Rather like Fawlty Towers!
Good location on the sea front adjacent to the Galle Face. Generally helpful staff.
A large, rambling heritage hotel in need of a make over. That said it was quite good value. Unfortunately there was no wi-fi unless one paid an exhorbitant daily rate. In this day and age, old hotel otr not, free wi-fi is essential. Also, the service in the restaurant was incredibly slow!

Nirosha M.
Australia
January 22, 2013
A different experience to the first time...
The oceanic spa suite in the Regency wing is well worth the upgrade!
When we first stayed at the Galle Face Hotel, we were in the Classic wing where the rooms although nice were very dated. This time we upgraded our room from the Standard Classic to an Oceanic Spa Suite in the Regency Wing which was absolutely amazing! The suite was enormous with plenty of room to lounge around and entertain guests should you so wish. The luxurious four poster bed can fit at least five people in it and ensures a good night's sleep. Perhaps the best part of the room, is the in-built spa in the generously-sized bathroom, which will quite comfortably accommodate two people! Perfect for pouring yourself into and recovering from a night of drinks and dancing at Amueseum.

Haldis T.
Norway
January 21, 2013
Nice, Colonial Style hotel
Good surroundings, the Green, close to the sea
I liked the athmosphere of the hotel.Nice staff, helpful. The room could have been nicer, but all in all, this is a good hotel that Iwould recommend to others.

Garry R.
Australia
January 20, 2013
Old world charm
Location, location, location
Hi We stayed here one night and found it disappointing on arrival to be told the hotel is booked out and we were asked if Agoda had contacted us to inform us they had made an error in overbooking due to a fault in their computer system (I believe this to be common in SL as it happened to us at another hotel in SL yet not experienced in another other hotel during our travels over many years). The hotel offered to relocate us to another hotel. As we booked and paid for this hotel many weeks prior we insisted this is the hotel we wanted to stay at and were not prepared to accept another hotel. After much discussion and not backing down by us the hotel manager found us a room straight away (interesting!). Is this a scam by the hotel to save rooms for people who wish to stay longer than one night? While the room was fantastic and hotel facilities just perfect the attitude from the staff was poor in that they showed little interest in providing any form of assistance. The service in the restaurant was non existent (as mentioned in a popular guidebook) as the staff just blatantly ignored our requests. If we had not been forceful we would still be sitting there now waiting for our order to be taken. Other than poor service the hotel is fantastic and in a great location. Besides the poor reception and lack of staff service, would we stay again - most certainly.

Michitaka M.
Japan
January 17, 2013
Location Good but very noisy for trafic all night
Location is good facing the Indian sea
Location is good but the room facing the road is quite noisy for traffice for all night, therefore we could not sleep well. Also hotel staff is not serious to take our request to change the room. If you insist to stay this old hotel, we recommend you to stay in ocean view room.