arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

2015
Very good 7.7
Based on 1333 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 1332 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 8.8
  • Location 9.1
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.7
  • Service 7.3
  • Value for Money 7.1
  • Food/Dining 7.8

Durjoy B.
Singapore
February 10, 2016
CNY Galle Face Hotel.
Historic. New Renovated. Very good ambience.
An excellent stay otherwise marred by downtight insensitive check-in staff. Our advice is not to select this hotel when travelling in a group as room allocation takes for ages. The hotel is overbooked. It was like adding insultto injury when they tried squeezing two families (6 people) in a single suite. Then, instead of the Ocean View rooms booked, the checkin staff were trying to make us agree to a Non-Ocean view room. All the while our 12 passports were shoved away to a corner while other check-ins went on for 30 minutes. The camel straw was that we were unprofessionally told that since it was a group booking, we would have to wait longer than others. We then asked why was it so, why should we be penalized for overbooking on the part of the hotel...they should separate out group bookings and pre-allocate rooms, as groups are highly unlikely to cancel bookings enmasse! If their systems cannot assign rooms efficiently, that should not be a guests' problem. And guess what...within a couple of minutes of asking difficult questions, all rooms were allocated! It only goes to show that the check-in staff were trying to wear us down to make compromises since they had overbooked in the particular room category! Or were trying to keepthe rooms for corporate bookings! In the hospitality space, such shabby experience rankles, especially since hotel rooms were booked in early Nov 2015. Rooms should be upgraded if suitable rooms cannot be found, not told to downgrade! Its only when we raised our voice and said why were we receiving 2nd class treatment, did they produce rabbits out of a hat! SO PLEASE AVOID GROUP BOOKINGS AT THIS HOTEL. It surely did not look good on the hotel or on Agoda's clout!

LIM E.
Malaysia
February 10, 2016
A Gem, old British Colony building
There needs improvements for checking in for guests.This hotel is beautiful and a gem. Breakfast was fine.

Michael H.
United Kingdom
February 07, 2016
Much better than last time!
First 3 nights in Sri Lanka were spent recuperating at the Galle Face Hotel, the history is evident and the refurbishment has definitely improved things on the last time we stayed here. The location is excellent and the staff looked after us well. We ate in the main restaurant and in the fine dining "1864". Expensive but the quality was good. Overall a good experience although quite pricey for a good room.

Ingrid L.
United States
February 06, 2016
Beautiful heritage hotel
I had the standard room and it was beautiful. The photos that I have seen don't do it justice at all. The room was not austere as pictured. It was warm and lovely as was the property. Awesome rain forest shower and giant soaking tub. The Verandah restaurant was lovely to hang out at. (I only had ice cream so can't comment on the food.) Arrived a little past midnight and they were expecting me. I did give them notice of my late arrival but still am impressed that they were ready.

Michael W.
United Kingdom
January 23, 2016
Superb old style elegance
1. Beautifully and tastefully restored. Cleverly preserved the elegance of the original design. 2. Location by the sea is unbeatable. 3. Staff were well trained and attentive.
Loved the breakfast on the terrace looking out over the sea. Would not suit those who want a glitzy hotel with air-conditioned restaurant. They can go elsewhere.

Markus B.
Germany
January 15, 2016
bit old and dirty - be aware of rats
big pool, nice view on the ocean, good breakfast area
beautiful hotel with worst servce ever on the pool bar we wanted to have a nice lively drink with some burgers/ceviche in front of the ocean as the pool bar has a lovely waterside. first, our food took 40 min till it arrived (for a cold starter and panini) and then, we were literally attacked by several rats who were looking for food under our table. the best, I received my starter and my main dish at the same time while my wife had to wait another 10 minutes. So, we shared my starter in order to eat then the burgers that had gone cold afterards.. the commentary from the waiter was, we cannot do anything against the rats and the food that arrived tardy was a mistake of his colleague. no apology, no discount.

Chris B.
Australia
January 15, 2016
Really enjoyable stay
Great outdoor area, vintage feel and location

Daniel A.
Australia
January 10, 2016
Classic heritage hotel
It's unique character, its location and its staff
We had a very enjoyable stay over Christmas at the GFH. The check-in & check-out process could be improved/streamlined - staff were helpful & courteous at all times. The buffet breakfast was extensive and well prepared. It has a great outlook over the ocean and the Galle Face Green.

Naozar D.
India
January 09, 2016
History and Location
Tasteful renovation, gorgeous location and comfort
Wonderful

Victor W.
Singapore
January 07, 2016
Not bad hotel to stay
The room was nice and service perfect. The hotel outside was crowded and not that great. There are people sleeping on the streets and terrible traffic on the road outside. Took a Ling time to get back
Overall the stay was great but the expense was not worth the price paid. The advertisement was overrated an price was too high. However the hotel staff was very polite and helpful but not overly enthusiastic about helping us make dinner reservations. I asked for a dinner reservation to be made but when the time came out reservation was in existent