Back to hotel info

2015
Very good 7.7
Based on 1347 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 1347 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 8.7
  • Location 9.1
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.7
  • Service 7.3
  • Value for Money 7.1
  • Food/Dining 7.8
Sort by

Elaine L. from Malaysia
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in April 2016
Good service and beautiful hotel.
Beautiful location and friendly service. Quiet and relaxing atmosphere. Love the hotel.
Reviewed April 17, 2016

michelle C. from United Kingdom
Families with young children
Stayed one night in April 2016
Fantastic hotel!
A wonderful end to our fantastic trip. You must stay here! The pool on the sea is magnificent!
Reviewed April 17, 2016

Madhumita C. from India
Couples
Stayed one night in April 2016
Unbeatable location overlooking miles & miles of water
Everything in the hotel is superlative. Only minus is the very limited bar- menu which extends to people sitting at the fantastic ocean- side location. Watching the sun go down over the ocean waters and the waves crashing on the rocks below the hotel premises is such a memorable sight. One can just sit & sit here, but alas one gets only alcohol and tasteless 2-3 snacks. Minus this, all's well.
Reviewed April 14, 2016

zuliana N. from Singapore
Business travelers
Stayed 3 nights in February 2016
Awesome
Awesome
Reviewed April 13, 2016

JERWIN P. from Philippines
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in April 2016
Elegant and beautiful heritage hotel
On my last night in Sri Lanka, I chose not to be a backpacker. I couldn't say no to this lovely and elegant heritage hotel in Colombo. I wish I could have stayed longer. The staff were great. Check-in/out was seamless and they have a welcome tea drink. Breakfast was lovely. And the dining/pool area is one of the best areas in the hotel. It's a historic hotel with a couple of celebrity guests in the past like Mark Twain, Yuri Gagarin, Mahatma Gandhi, Roger Moore, Carrie Fisher, John D. Rockefeller, Steven Spielberg and Harrison Ford!
Reviewed April 10, 2016

Maria H. from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Stayed 3 nights in March 2016
Old World Charm in great location.
I liked everything about it. The pool is great right by the sea, the staff were helpful. The bed very comfortable and many dining options in the hotel and area. At 5:45pm daily the bagpiper bring down the flag just a little extra.
Reviewed April 01, 2016

Amy K. from United States
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in March 2016
A fabulous classic hotel
I have stayed at the Galle Face Hotel several times, and I love going back. Historic, beautiful, and comfortable (both the rooms and the grand common areas). Best place for sundowners in the city, and an absolutely lovely pool facing the sea. Staff are overall very helpful and nice. The breakfast is great --- both the food and the view (but expensive). Personally, I prefer the rooms in the South/Landmark Wing. Definitely spring for something with a sea view if you can. I would not recommend using the excursion ("expedition") services at the hotel. I consulted with them and found them to unfortunately not be very helpful unless you want to arrange a (very expensive) car and driver via the hotel. The Spa is also not up to scratch, but I understand that they will be closing and completely re-doing the spa this year (which FYI could mean some construction in the South/Landmark Wing).
Reviewed March 29, 2016

Sjoerd H. from Netherlands
Couples
Stayed one night in March 2016
Superb facilitities, great staff and top location!
Staff, facilities and the location
We stayed only for 1 night (to bad!) in the Galle Face. The ever friendly en helpfull staff was amazing, they arranged everything. Even the next day (our flight was at 10pm and the ckeckout 12am) we could use all the facilities in the hotel. They knew who immediatly we were. The location and the colonial building itself (totally renovated) were amazing. You feel the old vibes with modern facilities! The breakfast is absolutely stunning! We don't get the 7.7 rate, this is a big 10 for us!
Reviewed March 20, 2016

Jayaram G. from India
Solo travelers
Stayed 3 nights in March 2016
Good stay
Wjwn.I wanted change departure date they took aome rime and then said contact agoda directly. I thought rhey could have iniriated request
Reviewed March 11, 2016

Henry L. from United Kingdom
Families with young children
Stayed one night in February 2016
Stunning colonial hotel right on the beach
We only stayed for one night but really enjoyed our time at the Galle Face: fantastic atmosphere, lovely rooms. We are likely to return.
Reviewed March 09, 2016