Back to hotel info

2015
Very good 7.7
Based on 1345 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 1345 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 8.7
  • Location 9.1
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.7
  • Service 7.3
  • Value for money 7.1
  • Food/Dining 7.8
Sort by

Murtaza Z.
Pakistan
January 16, 2013
Good Hotel with good friendly service
Grand layout - Good Location - Good Service - tunning View
I went there with friends for a sporting competition. The staff were all friendly and helpful and they had competent people at their travel desk. So felt well taken care of. However, their poolside food and service was really bad, the only sour point, otherwise its a good hotel.

Katharina H.
Switzerland
January 16, 2013
Lovely hotel, good service
Beautiful salt water pool. Colonial style hotel
The galle face hotel is one of the oldest hotels in Sri lanka, and despite numerous renovations it still has the pleasant feel of a colonial style hotel. The pool is just gorgeous, and the service is good as well. One of the famous attractions of the hotel is the sundowner drink on the terrace outside the hotel. Everyone that stays in Colombo has at least seen it once in their life. The sunset on a good day is amazing. Definitely a good choice for a hotel in a Colombo

Mallika J.
Sri Lanka
January 16, 2013
Nice to be in a Colonial Type Hotel in 2013
Old is Gold !
nice see facing location, and good service, but rooms are small, nice fan and other gadgets, "old is gold" nice smell when you enter in to the hotel, taxi, car rental easy to get around the hotel, galle face green small restaurants like nana is having tasty food, spicy food really enjoyable.

yoann G.
France
January 16, 2013
hotel doesn t worth the price for old room
location staff
this hotel is nice with a great view and wnderful food (breakfast and lunch/dinner), but we got a very old room, I think the room definitely doesn't worth the price. just because of this room (the room was very noisy, no hot water...) It was the worth choice of our sri lanka trip. ==> I don't recommend this hotel with this kind of room ( check also on the hotel website directly since they can propose cheaper price than Agoda)

Rosanna W.
United Kingdom
January 15, 2013
Grand hotel, great views and what we hoped for
Spacious, authentic, clean room. Swimming pool with loungers overlooking the sea also
We enjoyed the classic wing as it had character, and a spacious room with a view of the sea and Galle Face Green. The swimming pool was enjoyable and my partner enjoyed the male sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. The female equivalents unfortunately did not work. The breakfast buffet was wonderful, but the bar food in the evening was of a poor standard with poor service too. It was ironic that after staying in many cheap guesthouses with free wifi, the grandest most expensive place we stayed charged a lot for use of wifi.

Kay L.
Australia
January 14, 2013
old world charm
space, refreshing pool, excellent breakfasts
Despite it being an extremely busy period, we were treated well and without delay Curtains in room need to be changed to blockout strength. Unfortunately, we had difficulty sleeping as there were Christmas lights outside the room. They went off in the early morning - but then the sun came up... Consequently we were very tired and didn't enjoy our stay as much as we would have.

KALASALINGAM S.
India
January 14, 2013
Lovely hotel and service with a smile
Nice rooms, quiet location, helpful staff
My stay in the hotel was pleasant, the room was clean, the staff was helpfull, a big plus is the big showerroom, the room was not that big but, for sleeping it was very comfortable

Lisa A.
Australia
January 13, 2013
Great location and service
They upgraded us into a newer suite free of charge
We stayed in the old and new parts of this historic hotel. The old part needs a serious revamp....but despite that it was still fun to stay in a massive suite. The newer part of the hotel has smaller rooms but it is completely upgraded. The hotel was a joy to stay in because the nightly buffet was just $16 for an all you can eat buffet of seafood and meats etc plus hundreds of desserts.

Emma G.
United Kingdom
January 13, 2013
Old charm but very tired
Size of family room, classic ocean front setting
Rather disappointing stay at what was obviously once a grand hotel. Thought the rates rather high for such a dilapidated hotel. Room very basic, mattresses and bedding dubious, no water pressure in the shower . Bathroom light fixtures placed at 'head banging' height! Several injuries to my son and husband! Water leaks throughout the corridors with major puddles on the ground. The staff were very friendly and accommodating, the food is average and reasonably priced. Ambience outside by the sea face rather charming, if not faded. If money permits one day with renovations this could be a great hotel of the world but for now it is seriously over priced and not worth the money.

Michael H.
United Kingdom
January 13, 2013
Could be so good..... very tired!
Location, the historic building, the wonderful staff, bar
i wont stay here again, not until the rooms in the classic wing of the hotel are renovated. the hotel is lovely and a wonderful taste of the past. however the rooms in the classic part of the hotel are tired and quite frankly well below standard for the price.