arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

2015
Very good 7.7
Based on 1336 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 1336 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 8.7
  • Location 9.1
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.7
  • Service 7.3
  • Value for Money 7.1
  • Food/Dining 7.8

Donald C.
Malaysia
January 12, 2013
Great seaview, good location,too many functions
Beautiful seaview, historic attraction, uniqueness
Great seaview, old historic ancient design hotel with attractive unique building design. Rooms at renovated block are of clean but old block rooms are in urgent need of upgrading renovation. Notice hotel owner not giving serious consideration with cost factors in mind with the style and type of temporary materials they used in some of their renovation seemingly not matching to the old ancient uniqueness of its ancient old century plus construction which is its great attraction. Room rates of the renovated room on the high side so would not be returning as there are several other seaview hotels with greater choice of facilities at much reasonable room rates.

Daniel L.
Australia
January 12, 2013
See my previous review- tourist trap
Grand common areas old world charm
Terrible reception service ( understaffed) the owners and managers of this hotel should be ashamed of their pour custodianship of this grand old hotel .

Yohan R.
Australia
January 12, 2013
beautifully refurbished old hotel, great location
beds, bedsheets and staff.
spent two days at the galle face hotel and absolutely loved it. staff were very accomodating, friendly and helpful. rooms were a little pricey, but very comfortable. the bed sheets were the softest i'd slept on. the hotel is next to historic galle face, the dutch hospital(retaurants like the ministry of crab and shops), financial district and other hotels. the pool overlooks the seawall,so the waves crash right in front of you.lying on a deck chair watching the sunset with a beer is absolute bliss. apart from the price of the rooms, would not fault this historic hotel.

joanne N.
Australia
January 11, 2013
Great colonial hotel
Lovely pool, good location
Beautiful old colonial mansion. The old part of the hotel is due for a make over but still has its charm

Lawrence I.
United Kingdom
January 11, 2013
Stay cancelled by hotel
Reception looks lovely!
Unfortunately we did not get to stay in Galle Face, despite booking months ahead. On arrival we were told there had been a computer error and our rooms were not available. To give them their due we were 'rehomed' in another hotel (Cinnamon Lakeside) which was very nice. Disappointing, however, as we'd been recommended the Galle Face, and it did look impressive.

Daniel L.
Australia
January 09, 2013
Pack your antihistamines!
Outdoor restaurants
This was a big disappointment. A heritage hotel, totally mismanaged. I stayed in the older heritage wing. Mildew abounds, loose floor boards, god forbid you have my room above the function room, because the weddings go from morning til night.. Any dreams you had of writing at your desk al la A C Clarke or any other luminaries... Forget it! Unless you write well to ABBA MC Hmmer or 50Cent ... Check in is appalling , only one staff to check in, the rest are.... Doin something else.... Any problems (like the wifi not working in the rooms- which you have to pay for...) "oh ask at reception" . Good luck. I hated every aspect of this hotel. Visit for a drink to experience the history, stay at the Hilton, taj or cinnamon lakeside for comfort. I abandoned my last night, that's how foul it is. Basically a tourist trap full of fools who know no better, both staff and patrons, think 20 something's... With too much money and nonsense, oh with their horrid brats. Try the majapahit in Surabaya Indonesia if y want true heritage hotel experience,

gavel M.
Australia
January 09, 2013
Great location charming hotel
regency rooms nice get a sea view
Rooms are clean with high ceilings, can have no views. Large size of hotel means service can be a little non attentive. Location is brilliant.

Philip M.
Australia
January 09, 2013
An Old Charmer
Charming Yesteryear
A 5 modern star hotel has its modern comforts, and thats great when I'm traveling for work. But when I holiday, when I can, I look for the old charmers of yesteryear. It may not be immediately apparent that that is so from the Galle Face, but the foyer on each floor, the old cage lift, and the creaky floorboards come together to time transport you to a time past.

Emma C.
Ireland
January 09, 2013
Beautiful heritage hotel
Great place to relax and people watch, great chill out areas within and outside of the hotel.
Hotel was unavailable for one of the nights we had booked, and though they arranged an alternative this was a disappointing start to our trip there. When we did get to stay, breakfast was beautiful, hotel was beautiful and the rooms are fine.

AXEL R.
Spain
January 09, 2013
Traditional colony style hotel; great location
Traditional, great location, nice view
Traditional colony style hotel in great location, still some rooms might need renovation in the classic wing of the hotel (so the other wings is newer and nicer). Service is very good, the buffet too. All is clean. Beautiful view and flair. Pool area could also be renewed soon (if you would plan to stay mostly at the pool). High amount of weddings take place, so you might have loud music in the classic wings until 11pm some nights. Overall nice experience.