arrow-up-icon Get points on your miles program!
Back to hotel info

2015
Very good 7.7
Based on 1331 reviews

Agoda Verified Reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 1331 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 8.9
  • Location 9.1
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.7
  • Service 7.3
  • Value for Money 7.1
  • Food/Dining 7.8

4.8 Michael P.
United Arab Emirates
April 28, 2016
So much potential
A very sad experience considering I used to visit this hotel in my childhood. The staff need to greet the guests and understand that they are here for us! The gym is very disappointing and half the machines don't work. There are no towels either! Signage is pretty non existent around the property and on several occasions in ended up in the staff area. No point adding preferences on agoda as the hotel doesn't even make a comment about them!! food was ok but cleanliness of our room disappointing and n set time would rather of booked at cinnamon grand across the road. Such a shame as this has so much potential as the grande dame of Colombo.

10 Ana P.
Portugal
April 20, 2016
Superb and Relaxing Stay!
We travelled around Asia for 7 months and ended up our trip in this amazing historycal hotel in Colombo. very wide views to the Indian Ocean, very large rooms for reading, chilling, eating, or simply relaxing... The rooms are large, and in room all amenities needed for our stay are provided. The products for hair are superb, the mattress is superb, the big bed is so good ! So it's guaranteed that all nights will be very calm and tranquil :-) All restaurants serve excellent foods, with excellent options on the menus/a la carte. The 1864 is superbly managed and all foods are very tasty taking you to another world of happiness! All staff members re professional and very polite, they will do everything to meet our needs and to see us happy! Everyday you will be received with a big smile by every member of this fabulous hotel, so you will never regret to have chosen this magic place... Just come, step inside on this fabulous History Hotel, relax and...let it goes!!! Certainly you will be driven to a very safe port....in Colombo!!!

10 Christine M.
India
April 19, 2016
Timeless Grandeur
The Galle Face Hotel, Sri Lanka’s iconic landmark, is situated in the heart of Colombo, along the seafront and facing the famous Galle Face Green. One of the oldest Hotels east of the Suez, the Galle Face Hotel embraces its rich history and legendary traditions, utilizing them to create engaging, immense experiences that resonate with old and new generations of travelers alike. No visit to Sri Lanka is complete without staying at this majestic hotel, built in 1864 and recently restored back to its former glory. Value for money - A must if visiting Sri Lanka.

8.8 Elaine L.
Malaysia
April 17, 2016
Good service and beautiful hotel.
Beautiful location and friendly service. Quiet and relaxing atmosphere. Love the hotel.

10 michelle C.
United Kingdom
April 17, 2016
Fantastic hotel!
A wonderful end to our fantastic trip. You must stay here! The pool on the sea is magnificent!

8.4 Madhumita C.
India
April 14, 2016
Unbeatable location overlooking miles & miles of water
Everything in the hotel is superlative. Only minus is the very limited bar- menu which extends to people sitting at the fantastic ocean- side location. Watching the sun go down over the ocean waters and the waves crashing on the rocks below the hotel premises is such a memorable sight. One can just sit & sit here, but alas one gets only alcohol and tasteless 2-3 snacks. Minus this, all's well.

9.2 zuliana N.
Singapore
April 13, 2016
Awesome
Awesome

10 JERWIN P.
Philippines
April 10, 2016
Elegant and beautiful heritage hotel
On my last night in Sri Lanka, I chose not to be a backpacker. I couldn't say no to this lovely and elegant heritage hotel in Colombo. I wish I could have stayed longer. The staff were great. Check-in/out was seamless and they have a welcome tea drink. Breakfast was lovely. And the dining/pool area is one of the best areas in the hotel. It's a historic hotel with a couple of celebrity guests in the past like Mark Twain, Yuri Gagarin, Mahatma Gandhi, Roger Moore, Carrie Fisher, John D. Rockefeller, Steven Spielberg and Harrison Ford!

9.6 Maria H.
United Kingdom
April 01, 2016
Old World Charm in great location.
I liked everything about it. The pool is great right by the sea, the staff were helpful. The bed very comfortable and many dining options in the hotel and area. At 5:45pm daily the bagpiper bring down the flag just a little extra.

8.8 Amy K.
United States
March 29, 2016
A fabulous classic hotel
I have stayed at the Galle Face Hotel several times, and I love going back. Historic, beautiful, and comfortable (both the rooms and the grand common areas). Best place for sundowners in the city, and an absolutely lovely pool facing the sea. Staff are overall very helpful and nice. The breakfast is great --- both the food and the view (but expensive). Personally, I prefer the rooms in the South/Landmark Wing. Definitely spring for something with a sea view if you can. I would not recommend using the excursion ("expedition") services at the hotel. I consulted with them and found them to unfortunately not be very helpful unless you want to arrange a (very expensive) car and driver via the hotel. The Spa is also not up to scratch, but I understand that they will be closing and completely re-doing the spa this year (which FYI could mean some construction in the South/Landmark Wing).