arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Good 6.7
Based on 250 reviews

Agoda Verified Reviews

Filter by traveler type
Good



based on 250 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 6.2
  • Facilities 6.0
  • Location 7.6
  • Room Comfort/Standard 6.8
  • Staff Performance 6.5
  • Value for Money 6.3
  • Food/Dining 6.7

7.7 Susanne R.
Germany
August 22, 2013
Close to train station
Close to train station, old charm, nice view of harbor
We chose the hotel for the first two nights in Sri Lanka because it is close to the train station and the Petta area. It has a charming interior, piped in classical music and the restaurant has a great view of the harbor. The rooms are clean and simple (standard room)and the breakfast buffet is very good. We are not luxury travelers and this hotel worked well for us. Walk to Pettha and train station is about 10 minutes. Also the World trade center is in a 10 min walking distance. A tuk tuk to the train station should be 200 rupees. Otherwise the area is a little deserted. Something we had trouble with in Sri Lanka in general is that one does not get maps, neither in hotels for the city or for sights. So the best thing is to print out maps form the internet before arriving.

8.3 Joseph S.
India
June 08, 2013
old but well maintained hotel
nice location near port, great srilankan breakfast and centrally located
hotel was great but they could not accept credit card for payment for their taxi services, we had to take taxi from outside, great breakfast and nice view of port from restaurant.

7.3 David R.
Australia
May 16, 2013
Choose to see fading colonial character
Breakfast and proximity to markets and bus/train station
I chose the Grand Oriental to get a taste of the old colonial style but perhaps that has faded just a tad too much. Not really up to scratch for the cost of the room. It was fun to stay here and the breakfast is good, the location is also convenient for exploring the markets or catching a bus/train. It's not a bad option but the rooms are basic with old fittings and I'm sure there are better value options in town.

7 Ian V.
United Kingdom
April 29, 2013
clean and friendly
close to the railway, good restraunt with a good view over the harbour

6.7 Stuart R.
United States
April 22, 2013
Good to use for a stop over
Close to railway station, reasonable rate
We used the hotel for a 1 night stop over before catching the tain to Kandy. Perfect for what we needed, close to the railway station and reasonable rate. We arrived on a Sunday so was very quiet - however I am sure it is much busier during the week.

5.3 Joanna D.
United Kingdom
April 02, 2013
Adequate for a one night stay
Historical hotel, airport pickup, breakfast
This hotel has seen better days. The aircon was so violently noisy we could not use it. The curtains did not cover the windows so we could not block out the light or feel completely private. There was a connecting door with the next door room whose residents were having a noisy party until quite late. One highlight was that the room had a fridge. Overall - interesting for its history, staff were helpful, breakfast was nice enough and good view of the harbour from the restaurant, but not a very comfortable place to sleep.

3 Andrew R.
Australia
March 22, 2013
Tired old lady needs a facelift
The check in staff and the bellboys are the saving grace of this overpriced hotel

5.3 edwina G.
United Kingdom
March 16, 2013
Good location, great breakfast, but no intenet
Central location to galle face, good buffet breakfast, friendly staff
Great staff, but lack of internet real weakness. I would stay again, its a friendly place and well located, but for nnn night

10 VARUN V.
India
February 28, 2013
Great Location, wonderful hotel
Location, view from the restaurant, service, maintenance
close to 200 years, but still better maintained than some of the new hotels. the room was very modern and tastefully arranged. some might find the room a bit on the smaller side, but considering that it is a heritage hotel and the facilities, it is alright. excellent choice of dining options, excellent room service, quick processing at check in and check out - liked almost everything about the goh. the harbour view restaurant is a major attraction (but one might need to reserve in advance for the tables with the view, specially for dinner). on the flip side, nothing major - no one offered to carry our luggage to the room at the time of check in, corridors can be long and slightly confusing (and very hot in summer) and wifi is on a chargeable basis.

4.3 Raymond P.
United Kingdom
February 14, 2013
Long Past Its Best
Location for the station.
I have stayed here 3 times now, once in 2010 and twice in 2013. In that short time it has changed although even in 2010 it was in need of some care. The standard rooms are just that, very basic, tiled floors, tired bathrooms and very noisy air-conditioning. The hotel is very noisy with wedding parties and tour groups coming and going at all hours. The hotel use to have a good dinner menu but has fallen for catering for tour groups and buffet lunches and dinner is the norm. You can eat off card but it is hard work to get them to do this rather than steer you to the bland buffet. Overall I found the staff indifferent and unhelpful. Unfortunately the location of the hotel means there is little nearby choice to eat elsewhere. If you want to be near the station and Pettah area then this is your best option . Avoid unless you really cannot.