Back to hotel info

Good 6.7
Based on 255 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Good



based on 255 reviews
  • Cleanliness 6.2
  • Facilities 6.3
  • Location 7.6
  • Room Comfort/Standard 6.8
  • Service 6.5
  • Value for money 6.3
  • Food/Dining 6.7

Shane C.
Australia
May 18, 2012
Old Bristish Navy Type in 1857
Near the Container Yard /Harbour
It is very attractive old British designed Navy hotel and in the past it is in a harbor. But,at present, it is the area of police head quarter and with container yard development.When the time i booked the room and i requested to face the harbor and it was a big mistake. It is because the container yard is operating 24 hours and the noise of the container trailer is running pass the hotel from time to time that make me hardly sleep. The function rooms is commonly rented for the India wedding reception.

Cian D.
Australia
May 15, 2012
nice rooms, good location
room was clean, decent sized, food in restaurant was good, service is basic
best thing about this hotel if the upper level restaurant with views over the harbour, food was pretty good. rooms were neat and clean, if a little tired. as allways wifi is too expensive

Philippe B.
Cote D'ivoire
April 26, 2012
Great Location near the harbour and central town
Large rooms, good staff but old construction
Good place for business, near all main government offices, banks, safe near central police center and staff are helpfull, large rooms .the only problem is that all the rooms are not having the same cleanless

Sheryl D.
Australia
April 24, 2012
Lovely hotel and service with a smile
Close to city, food excellent
lots of heritage attached to this grand old hotel. large rooms by hotel standards and you can upgrade to one of their two suites. there is no swimming pool and the airconditioning in our room was old and noisy. beds are hard and so are the pillows. bathroom is outdated, but we enjoyed our stay at this hotel. staff are very accommodating and the restaurant food in both dining rooms was wonderful and reasonably priced.

david D.
United Kingdom
April 18, 2012
great hotel great staff
the hotel staff were brilliant made my stay
clean and tidy the food at the hotel was spot on the waiters andthe reseption staff were brilliant only there for 3 nights but will go back again no problem!!!keep rocking grand oriental loved you dave basildon essex

Robert M.
Australia
April 10, 2012
Has been a lovely hotel, good view from restaurant
central location in Colombo, helpful staff
This hotel is a bit like Cargills store, a has been. Redeeming features are few as it needs a major facelift. Also, staff from restaurant talking at high volume at 6.45 a.m. with friend in room opposite ours so the whole corridor of rooms would have heard this noise

Willie F.
Ireland
April 10, 2012
Good standard service
Fairly central with some very interesting buildings near by.
I enjoyed the room which is quite spacious and the bed was very comfortable. The only negative was that sometimes the staff presumed they knew what I wanted but didn't. Not sure if this had to do with their training or their level of English.

Wayan S.
Indonesia
April 09, 2012
Spooky Hotel
in the central of the city
The hotel is really old, restaurant on the ground floor was expensive and few flies flying by. Room was kind a dark, no tooth paste even after we asked the house keeping, they never sent us one. At 2:00 there was sound of horses' hooves in the hallway! what a creepy hotel, I would never go back

kathinka K.
Netherlands
March 29, 2012
Good location but over prised
The advantages of this hotel is its location and its different facilities in and around the hotel
I had problems with the AC, the room was not very clean and there is no good room service and in general I found the hotel not worth the amount I had to pay. The nice thing however was that as I had to leave very early next day the breakfast was packed for me and ready for me to take along.

Stuart B.
United Kingdom
February 22, 2012
Good location but in need of a refurb
Central location with nice restaurant overlooking Colombo harbour
middle of the range hotel in need of update , clean rooms and comfortable beds , ideal for a few days stop-over in colombo . friendly helpful staff , nice restaurant on fourth floor overlooking harbour .