arrow-up-icon Get points on your miles program!
Back to hotel info

Above average 5.8
Based on 25 reviews

Agoda Verified Reviews

Filter by traveler type
Above average



based on 25 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 5.0
  • Facilities 4.0
  • Location 6.4
  • Room Comfort/Standard 5.5
  • Staff Performance 6.1
  • Value for Money 5.9
  • Food/Dining 5.9

8.3 Tarmo R.
Estonia
June 19, 2013
Very friendly staff
Staff, great food: prawns, great location

2.7 Suranga B.
Sri Lanka
June 03, 2013
there was no room services at all to clean room
location is good

8 Gerry B.
United Kingdom
January 13, 2013
Good facilities, nice pool , dark rooms
Good swimming pool, nice location very near the beach, helpful friendly staff
The hotel is in a good location, just accross the railway from the beach. Facilities are generally good, rooms have AC and cable TV, though the rooms are rather dark with no view out at all. There is a very nice pool and an adequate breakfast is served in the restaurant on the beach. Staff were friendly and very helpful.

6 Lars W.
Sweden
December 18, 2012
Cheap and sufficient room for our stay in Colombo
Cheap, near the beach, near the diving centre
We arrived in the middle of the night but as the hotel reception seems staffed around the clock this was no problem. We were well received. We went for the cheap double room and it was as the title says quite sufficient. It was not extraordinary in any way but it was good. The beds were a bit simple but the mattresses made them alright. We hade some problems with our sink that might have been fixed if we just recalled to ask somebody. There were some issues that you get all over Sri Lanka except possible in more exclusive hotels where they work hard at fixing this kind of thing: - Ants - Low water pressure - Mosquitos (though very few as they are rarer near the beach, think it's the wind) Overall the people and service were good, the restaurant on the roof was complete crap, the breakfast was hardly worthwhile as I'm vegan, maybe good for people who eat everything, I have no idea. For better food you could go to any of the many restaurant around the beach so it was not a big problem. There is a nearby main street if you want to go buy groceries of some sort or buy something you forgot to bring. Look for Arpicos. Everything is cheap on Sri Lanka. Maybe next time I would spend more on the room. The wifi only worked in the lobby. I hope this was a temporary problem but I have no idea.

6 William M.
United Kingdom
November 25, 2012
OK hotel, friendly staff
The Lobby
Lobby very attractive but bedroom and bathroom could now benefit from refurbishment. I found a much superior hotel in Negombo at cheaper price. Be aware- notice in room says "special taxi rates for guests" - that means special high rates for guests. I was initially quoted by reception desk lady LKR6,000 for taxi to Negombo which I eventually negotiated down to 4,500 but my taxi driver told me the lady at the reception desk kept 1,500 of that for herself or the hotel.

5 Eefje K.
Netherlands
August 26, 2012
Noisy
Airco & mini fridge
Found it not very clean and although I like dogs and I can imagine they make fine security, but one (sleeping) on every floor?? My floor dog started barking in the middle of the night. Anyway: price/quality very off...

4.3 fabrice S.
France
August 23, 2012
fairly nice hotel but swimming pool was closed
location
The hotel is 50 m away from the beach which is accessible by crossing a railway track. There are 2 blocks , one witht he main reception and one across the stret facing the other block. The hotel being slightly away from the track means that you can still hear the trains but not as bad as it could be. The room was nice with nice furniture (except the hideous huge old fridge) but the bathroom was a bit out-dated. Breakfast is served int he restaurant located on the beach and is ok. Overall,not bad at all and fairly good value for money.

9 Renee D.
United States
August 19, 2012
Great location and great staff.
location and staff
awesome service and staff, very courteous, great location.

2.7 ULISES L.
France
August 15, 2015
a eviter et vite !!!!!!
Veil hotel tres old school, k'ai regreté d'etre dans cette hotel, surtout le trains passe a coté!!! c'est grave!!!!!

4 Oliver B.
Germany
January 02, 2016
Überteuerte Unterkunft in einem Hotel von Vorgeste
Netter Nachtwächter
Schmutziges Bad, kleines Zimmer in WG Atmosphäre, AC defekt