Back to hotel info

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 171 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.4
  • Location 7.8
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.8
  • Service 7.8
  • Value for money 7.7
  • Food/Dining 6.9

Ahmed K. from Maldives
Couples
Stayed 4 nights in June 2015
Best stay in Colombo so far
the room, the gardens & common areas, the staff
Highbury Colombo is very beautiful & relaxing. Loved our room & the hotel. The staff were very friendly and attentive & would recommend hotel. We're definitely going to stay at Highbury (if available) for our next visit.
Reviewed August 02, 2015

Ian I. from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed 4 nights in April 2015
Great little hideaway
Quiet location, very friendly and helpful staff, clean and comfortable rooms
I ended up in Sri Lanka by accident, and made a last minute booking with Highbury. Could not have been happier. The rate was extremely reasonable. the facilities are lush and comfortable, and the area is very quiet but also a quick ride to downtown. The staff was very helpful and even gave me a ride to the airport very early in the morning to catch my flight. It was a great part of my trip to Sri Lanka!
Reviewed May 04, 2015

lene L. from Denmark
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in March 2015
Best place - don't miss it!
Breakfast architecture peacefulness
Perfect and peacefull
Reviewed April 04, 2015

OI C. from Singapore
Business travelers
Stayed 4 nights in February 2015
Home Stay Feeling
Location , surroundings and Owner is friendly
This is the first time I stayed in the House in Sri Lanka. Owner was friendly though there was hiccups on the first night I've arrive the place after 11pm casue there is misunderstanding of my booking didn't reach them. Am planning to have some ex-coleaue and friends to meet me , am expecting to have the suite - sitting room to have a nice chat , but end up we need to meet up in the garden and I got more than 50+ insects bite.. haha .. A very good experience. My flight is in the late midnight flight , Though I've check out on noon , still am staying till very late and I got to leave a luggage for my friends, Owner is very very helpful .. Got to visit them in my next trip, too. Overall, it's a very good place to stay.
Reviewed March 02, 2015

Carlos S. from Spain
Couples
Stayed one night in January 2015
Minimal hosting
Main building is nicely designed it check were the room you are getting is located
This is a b&b. The guy didn't speak any English, so we couldn't communicate. We understand someone else does but they were not in that day. I'm not sure we were given the right room that we had paid for but there was no way to check. Ground floor rooms feel damp and there are plenty of insects in the rooms. Poor wifi. Peaceful location but far from most places you want to see in Colombo. In hindsight we would pay slightly more and go to a hotel, not a guesthouse.
Reviewed January 18, 2015

Nicolas E. from Germany
Groups
Stayed 2 nights in December 2014
Best spot in Colombo
Hosts, Food, Ambience
Lovely and helpful hosts, Great room, delicious breakfast
Reviewed January 03, 2015

lavanya J. from India
Families with young children
Stayed 2 nights in December 2014
Stay like a local with a local
location, food and family
I did not know what to expect when I got to Highburg with 9 family members. The home is beautiful. The location was just perfect. The hosts were extremely kind. Not only did they tolerate a noisy child, they also cooked us an excellent meal at very short notice. We were weary from from our travels and this was the perfect place to unwind. There is nothing rushed or stuffy about Highburg. It's a gorgeous home and feels like one.
Reviewed December 31, 2014

Andrew B. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed one night in November 2014
Lovely peaceful spot to stay in Colombo
Clean, peaceful, beautifully designed
This is a lovely house in a nice area of Colombo. Elegantly designed and very peaceful. Breakfast was good and we felt it was a good choice if you need to spend time in Colombo.
Reviewed November 19, 2014

Vanessa B. from Italy
Couples
Stayed one night in September 2014
Fantastic
Chilled relaxed atmosphere, friendly staff, great rooms (especially the 'hideaway' room)
Reviewed September 30, 2014

Chantal T. from Singapore
Couples
Stayed one night in August 2014
Woinderful little haven
serenity, comfortable rooms, beautiful place
great place to spend the night after facing the chaos of colombo. house was really comforting and quite despite being in the noisy city. Owners were really helpful and friendly. Little far off from the city centre but a tuktuk solves that easily for a very small price. Really wonderful place
Reviewed September 16, 2014