Back to hotel info

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Good



based on 73 reviews
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Location 6.8
  • Room Comfort/Standard 6.5
  • Service 6.8
  • Value for money 6.8
  • Food/Dining 5.2

Xuemei Z. from China
Couples
Stayed one night in February 2013
Not bad
Good location for airport departure
New hotel. Swimming pool is good. Room is big and clean. Food is ok. Very quiet hotel.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Gerald P. from United States
Couples
Stayed one night in March 2013
Nothing positive to say
Reasonably close to the airport
We arrived in Colombo on a late flight. Emailed the hotel ahead of time to inform them we would be arriving late and would like a cab to meet us. No cab, and no one to greet us upon arrival at the hotel. Taxi driver had to rouse the attendant. Room dirty, and bathroom obviously not cleaned after previous occupant. We were the only guests, and I understand why. We've been traveling SE and South Asia for 2 months, and this was our worst hotel experience.
Reviewed March 08, 2013

Richard H. from New Zealand
Couples
Stayed one night in February 2013
Nice and friendly hotel
Big rooms
I think we have been the only ones at that hotel what seemed a bit strange, but the room was big and really clean
Reviewed March 04, 2013

kathinka K. from Netherlands
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in December 2012
Quite good looking hotel in quiet location
Not far away from the aiport
If you need to be in Colombo city this hotel is no option but if you need to be near the airport this hotel is quite okay. There is no WIFI however and even other facilities are limited. Staff is friendly but inexperienced and hotel is used for wedding parties as well. Rooms were clean.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Vijay M. from India
Families with young children
Stayed one night in February 2013
Basic hotel which can do much to improve
Big rooms
We, as scheduled and confirmed over phone with the hotel staff, arrived at 230am after a long flight only to find that the reception was closed and we waited a while for the staff to turn up and open the rooms. The room was large and spacious with basic features. Interestingly, there was no blankets provided (there was airconditioning though) and only a thin sheet to cover. We were there for a few hours and checked out at 10am.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Carl D. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed one night in February 2013
Great Location - ideal for Airport
Location, Room size, price
stayed for a brief overnight stop after landing at 1am prior to heading south, room was clean and spacious - although initially we had trouble waking the night staff! we didnt have breakfast so cant comment on it, and the pool looked good. for the price an excellent option for the airport
Reviewed February 12, 2013

David I. from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in January 2013
Not so much a hotel
Location for early trip to airport
Not so much a hotel as an up-market wedding venue with very nice rooms. When I was there only another one room appeared to be let and there was no bar or restaurant open. The skeleton staff were,however, very friendly and helpful and ordered me an acceptable take-away meal which was sent to my room. In the morning no staff at all were to be seen and I left my room key with the security guard on the gate. Convenient for early flight out but all-in-all a bit odd, well placed for businss travellers as between city and airport but tourists would probably be better off staying in Negombo.
Reviewed February 09, 2013

John B. from United States
Couples
Stayed one night in January 2013
kind of strange
a little dated,but a nice hotel
A nice hotel,friendly staff but is in out of the way location.the seemed almost deserted during my stay.location is pretty far from airport and in a neighborhood vs.commercial location.th we hotel has a nice pool and pretty grounds.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

DIPESHKUMAR P. from India
Couples
Stayed one night in December 2012
Lovely hotel & Execellent Rooms
Located near international airport,big rooms and pool,good services & good food
We are senior citizen couple and have stayed in standard air conditioning room ! Room was big and comfortable,with no complains ! Our check in was fast and smooth ! The staff at reception was so nice,co-opearative and helpful and have taken each and every care of us starting from the check in to check out !The location of this hotel is near to the international airport,which is only ten minutes drive,so it is also recommended for the stop overs ! In short,our stay with Stargazer Hotel,was perfect and without any complain.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

DIPESHKUMAR P. from India
Families with young children
Stayed one night in December 2012
Lovely hotel and execellent services
Located near Bhandarnaike international airport,good rooms & lovely services
we are a family of four persons ( 2 adults and 2 child ) and have stayed in standard air conditioning room ! room was big and comfortable,with no complains ! our check in was fast and smooth ! the staff at reception was so nice,co-opearative and helpful and have taken each and every care of us starting from the check in to check out,particularly manager, was very helpful,we have sit togather in the night time after having our dinner,regarding hotel policies & how to upgrade it to a full,have couple of drinks also togather & cherish our discussions !the location of this hotel is near to the international airport,which is only ten minutes drive,so it is also recommended for the stop overs ! in short,our stay with stargazer hotel,was perfect and without any complain.
Reviewed January 19, 2013