arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Very good 7.8
Based on 162 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 162 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.3
  • Location 6.9
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.4
  • Service 8.0
  • Value for Money 7.9
  • Food/Dining 7.5

Tiffany E.
Australia
March 06, 2016
Comfortable and clean!
We enjoyed our stay here :) We opted to pay a bit more to have the premier room and we were happy with our decision! The king size bed was incredibly comfy, with clean linen and good pillows! Their was a few minor problems with the bathroom- toilet leaked water and the door didn't close but that didn't bother us for our one night stay. Be mindful that the wifi only works in the reception area. The staff were helpful and happy to assist. A tip for anyone staying at Lavinia villa is that it's pretty hard to find. We asked numerous tuktuk drivers and locals on the street who didn't know of the street name given. Easiest way is to put the address into maps on a phone and find it that way!

Neermala N.
South Africa
February 26, 2016
LOCATION AND GREAT SERVICE
Location, Staff helpfulness and kindness
For the amount we paid, we got value for money. Breakfast is good, staff is kind and helpful, they went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. Location is central to eating places, beach, bus and taxi routes. Keep up the good service

Anne C.
United Kingdom
February 25, 2016
just ok
Good area

Gabriel C.
Israel
February 12, 2016
Great place with some issues.
The rooms are huge , very clean with everything you need. but some of the staff gave me the feeling like the female guests there are more important than me. and after I met one of the female guests there I realise I'm not wrong , from the moment she arrived there, the staff of this place didn't stop offering taking her places and getting things for her and not as a good guest house service.. more like I want to sleep with you service . one of them threw some words and jokes that in other country he probably find himself without a job the next day. when I asked the guy in the from if he can call me a taxi he told me: go to the main street and stop one. I was there with two heavy bags.. when my female friend ask for a taxi the same guy told her : I will take you everywhere you want to go. I really trying to be as nice as I can but it's not a way for a place to work. female solo travellers be aware.

Charles F.
Canada
January 26, 2016
Excellent time at Lavinia Villa
The staff is very friendly and helpful especially with young kids.
We had a great stay. Lavinia beach is just a few minutes walk away. We were able to recover from our overnight flight quickly in the hotel, it is far enough off the Main Street to be quiet. There are plenty of restaurants around. The breakfast is good and healthy and as mentioned, the staff are very friendly and have plenty of advice for further travel.

Hea C.
South Korea
January 24, 2016
Far from downtown
breakfast
As soon as I arrived, the manager of this hotel said " Your room is out of order now " and then He suggested me to move another hotel. So I stayed one night in the other hotel which is two star. I never imagined my room in this hotel is out of order. I booked this hotel, which is three star, but I stayed two star hotel in the other area.

M C.
Australia
January 21, 2016
Awesome hospitaly
Cleanliness, comfort, friendly staff
Absolutely loved my stay at Lavinia Villa! I was there for a business trip and was perfect place to return to after a long day in the office. I will be visiting Sri Lanka regularly and would love to stay at Lavinia Villa again. The staff are very friendly and always very hospital. There's only wifi in the lobby but Niranjan, the hotel manager bought another modem so that I have access to wifi in my room and be able to work on weeknights and weekends.

Harshan R.
Sri Lanka
January 18, 2016
we loved staying there. staff was really friendly.
clean, comfortable, friendly staff

Jude F.
Sri Lanka
January 08, 2016
Pleasant Stay
Clean Rooms, Friendly Staff

Rajat G.
India
January 05, 2016
Great place to stay in
Clean, friendly staff, homely
I booked the stay at Lavinia Villa as a last minute resort and I can definitely say that I wasn't disappointed with the choice made. Niranjan who manages the entire property went out of his way to ensure that we were taken care of. He gave us the right sort of advise and guidance at every point. In addition, the place was really clean and well maintained with extra helpful staff. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a stay option at mount lavinia.