arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

2015
Excellent 8.1
Based on 912 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 912 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.3
  • Location 8.5
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.0
  • Service 8.1
  • Value for Money 7.7
  • Food/Dining 8.4

Michael B.
United Kingdom
March 06, 2015
A.Little piece of tranquility in Colombo
Location , beach and dining .
Lovely one night stay with my partner, will Definately stay again.

Lorene N.
Singapore
February 15, 2015
historic charm
food view and the old world charm
Very nice though the morning trains can be a bit of a blast

Alasdair O.
United Kingdom
February 14, 2015
wonderful old colonial hotel
staff, pool, service
Wonderful old colonial hotel with excellent staff and service. Delicious meal at beach restaurant. Superb pool with great views. Could have stayed longer.

chandani C.
Australia
February 02, 2015
it is very good hotel.
good staf, good location, golden color beach
I spent good holiday at Mount Lavinia hotel

Shankar S.
India
January 29, 2015
Good hotel but not 5 star more like 4 star
Beaches, Food and decent room
Very pleasant Rooms clean and things in place. Beach by the hotel is nice. Bit expensive for the standards

Haldis T.
Norway
January 27, 2015
A must at first visit
The service, location and style
We like this hotel very much! The only thing I would criticise, is that some guests behavior is not in accordace With the style of the hotel - the hotel should have a stricter dress code. Even thoug the pool is in the restaurant area, it should not be allowed to take meals in swimming outfit!

Irvin P.
United States
January 10, 2015
overrated
family friendly, catered for older more established rungs of society, clean
I booked this place on friendo's recom but I was disappointed. If you are a solo traveler, I dont think this place matches well. This place is family oriented and floats on the poshiness of its 5 star rating. Besides being a basic mismatch, I felt like a mark for tips, the internet was unstable, and some of tge staff were snobs.

Jean B.
Australia
January 08, 2015
Wonderful holiday.
The friendly staff. Beautiful water view. Excellent breakfast.
Terrific.

Sharoni M.
France
January 07, 2015
A colonial mansion with a breath taking view
Location, style, beach
We had a beautiful room with a bed with four poles, the colonial style was respected till the end. The character of the place brings lot of charm and takes one away into the past. We really had a great time at the hotel. Only thing, I wish the reception staff was more trained and able to give better information to us. The rest was just perfect. I would highly. Recommend this place for a great stay near Colombo with an access to the beach.

Masatoshi S.
Japan
December 29, 2014
Beautiful Hotel with Historic Value
Food, Clean Room, Beautiful Buidling
A beautiful hotel building with colonial style. Really historic. Very popular for wedding ceremonies (worth to see because most of brides and grooms wear traditional costume). I enjoyed Sri Lankan traditional food, too. A little far from center so maybe not suitable for those who want to look around Colombo city.