Back to hotel info

2015
Excellent 8.1
Based on 919 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 919 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.4
  • Location 8.5
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.0
  • Service 8.1
  • Value for Money 7.7
  • Food/Dining 8.4
Sort by

Dennis C.
Singapore
April 08, 2015
Some of it facilities not up to date
Sea view, pool and front view of hotel

colin P.
Australia
April 05, 2015
Great beach stay
Good location good food great ambience
My third stay and as always it feels like a home away from home

Claire F.
United Kingdom
April 01, 2015
lovely old hotel impersonal service
location, sea views, lovely old characterful building
I stayed one night. My room was well appointed but very damp presumably from the sea air. The hotel was busy, but I felt the service really lacked the personal touch and was brusque, especially the front desk. Nobody asked whether I had enjoyed my stay, and I was not made to feel like a valued customer, just a number. This was the first time I had felt this in a month long stay in Sri Lanka. The dining experience was similar, the service felt tired and in need of an overhaul. I guess that because of the hotel's location and long standing reputation, they get bookings without effort. For me it was the service that was not five star. A shame because it could be so different, and the building deserves more.

Prem J.
United Kingdom
March 29, 2015
Excellent
Service. Food. Clean
Very pleasent

gordon Y.
United Kingdom
March 29, 2015
The hotel deserves a little TLC.
The hotel is in a great location has real colonial charm and comfortable
The hotel is in need of some modernization and refurbishment. Although relatively clean the bathrooms feels dated and some of the fittings and plumbing are not working properly. It deserves some slight modern twist on the colonial atmosphere and glamour. The staff were friendly and efficient and the food offer was good and well priced generally.

susan W.
United Kingdom
March 25, 2015
Last two nights of Luxury
Breakfast was brilliant/ Loved Seafood on Beach/ Excellent Staff
Downside was building work that woke us up at 8am Also there was confusion about one person staying when I booked for two

mahdi G.
Jordan
March 09, 2015
Amazing Hotel but time for renovation to old now
location beach and food
I have been there for 3 time. Its time for renovation of the rooms. carpets furniture is worn. Toilet are old need to be renewed. For the same amount its paid can find a better place (although building history and prime beach location). But for more new rooms and comfort it would be better in other hotel. Becah parties at the Brach Hut is causing the hotel to loss it quality and value as travelers and prime people comes for luxury and quietness.

Adeeb M.
Jordan
March 09, 2015
Good experience
staff, location, security
I love the place, Very comfort however Few things I didn't like and I guess the hotel is working on it such as: The AC was a bit loudy. The hotel is upgrading their rooms hence worth to ask for the upgraded rooms There were insects in bathroom, didn't bother as I haven't stayed long in hotel. Cleanliness of beach. Regular leftovers carried from the Indian Ocean, should have dedicated staff to walk regularly and perform cleaning there On the other hand Staff are great Secured 100% no one hassle you at all Peaceful place Nice people there Safe to walk outside hotel and around with no fear Nice smell every where in hotel Free internet access in rooms and all around the hotel Overall better than many hotels in Colombo city. That's if you are looking for peaceful area with direct access to beach Totally will only come to this hotel and no other in Colombo city

Michael B.
United Kingdom
March 06, 2015
A.Little piece of tranquility in Colombo
Location , beach and dining .
Lovely one night stay with my partner, will Definately stay again.

Lorene N.
Singapore
February 15, 2015
historic charm
food view and the old world charm
Very nice though the morning trains can be a bit of a blast