arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

2015
Excellent 8.1
Based on 905 reviews

Agoda Verified Reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 905 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.2
  • Location 8.5
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.0
  • Staff Performance 8.1
  • Value for Money 7.7
  • Food/Dining 8.4

9.7 Sharmila B.
United Kingdom
May 28, 2014
Pleasent stay again at lovely hotel
Great Customer service, friendly, attentive staff who can go to that extra mile to keep happy clients/customers.
Express check-in/out, polite/friendly team always happy to help. I have stayed at several 5* hotels in Europe, Asia & Middle East, but nothing like this one. In my honest opinions hotels are only buildings its the Owner, staff & team work which makes it 5*.

8.3 Amin S.
India
May 27, 2014
Great stay, good food n good staff
Good rooms, Quick Service and delicious food
It was good, loved the ocean view room. The food quality was good and the staff was very helpful.

2.7 Victoria K.
Russia
May 21, 2014
We had to flee from the hotel
Only beach restaurant FishMarket
Almost at once behind hotel (directly under entrance to hotel, about 100 meters from an entrance to the building) there passes the railroad with the regular movement on it. The hotel has no own territory. To the left of hotel a good sandy beach. Pool small. Condition of hotel the depressing. Walls are somehow plastered - all in hillocks. Linoleum in the elevator is erased to holes. Everything is impregnated with a smell of dampness and splash. In the left wing (if to stand facing the ocean) worst of all. Slightly better in the right wing. Quality of numbers is depressing. Repair if became, long ago and according to the most economical scenario. As humidity high, and ventilation, probably, economical, strong smell of dampness and mold. You live as in a crypt. Numbers overlooking the ocean have a problem with noise from it. On ocean constantly storms also waves breaking about stones create very strong noise. With the closed window and the switched-off conditioner noise about 50 DB (conversation of usual loudness). Actually it is impossible to sleep. After looked at numbers in the right wing, it became clear that at the settlement we were deceived - gave number with more poor quality, than we paid. After it became clear that it is almost impossible to sleep in hotel, we during 26.02.2014 found in the internet and watched some other hotels and got over in Tangerine Beech (see my positive review on it). The hotel refused to return me the sum rest (it was paid from 25.02.2014 till 06.03.2014). At first they tried to refer to that something will not pay service of reservation to them. After I to them quoted the text from this service referring to hotel and suggested to close number and not to hand over it during the period paid with me, ceased to dodge and simply "sent" me.

8.7 Sarah W.
United Kingdom
May 21, 2014
Very relaxing
The views from terrace, the pool and balcony view
It was relaxing and staff tried hard although more training is needed particularly given the number of new 5 star hotels that are opening in 2015.

9.7 Sudharman R.
Australia
May 18, 2014
Homely,comfortable,Value for Money,City Hotel with
great staff,city hotel with beach facilities,value for money
Nice comfortable relaxing.Simply great nothing was a problem for the staff.Requested for International adopter , House keeping was very will to take photos,late check out no issues at all.Keep up the great service.

6 mario R.
Australia
May 15, 2014
Too priced colonial style hotel, needs renovation
internet wifi, awesome breckfast, close to the beach

8.7 Heimir H.
Iceland
May 08, 2014
Travel back in time to the 20s
Location & atmosphere
Travel back in time to the 20s in the great colonial style property in Colombo. I felt like a character from a Agatha Christie crime thriller and waited to see Hercule Poirot walking around at breakfast. The restaurant was certainly one of the highlights of the stay. I really loved this hotel and would check myself in there and avoid the centrally located Colombo hotels the next time I come to Colombo.

8.3 Georg K.
Germany
May 05, 2014
nearly perfect
location, breakfast, beach
And the end of safaries was this a perfect place to relax

8 Michael T.
United Kingdom
May 05, 2014
A hotel with a view
The ocean view. The alfresco dining areas. Direct seaview rooms
A first class hotel in a fantastic location. We have now stayed on three separate occasions over the past 12 months and enjoyed each stay thoroughly. Customer service is excellent with the exception of the front desk. On this latest stay we were allocated a sea view room in the old quarter which was less than satisfactory. We were informed there were no rooms available in the renovated area but after complaining, the front desk magically found one !!

8.3 Martin B.
United Kingdom
May 04, 2014
Excellent Hotel in a great location
Location, Pool & Breakfast
Excellent Hotel with plenty of colonial charm slightly outside of Colombo. Right next to a nice beach with plenty of Bars / Restaurants to suite all tastes. The swimming pool area was wonderful. The Hotel also organised a car / driver (guide) for my 6 day "tour of the Kandy / Ella region.