Back to hotel info

2015
Excellent 8.1
Based on 921 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 921 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.3
  • Location 8.5
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.0
  • Service 8.1
  • Value for Money 7.7
  • Food/Dining 8.4

John W. from Australia
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in February 2016
Reliving colonial history
Architectural beauty, beautiful site, colonial charm
I had a wonderful stay at the Mount Lavinia Hotel.
Reviewed February 17, 2016

Zabarie T. from Malaysia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in January 2016
Near to Train Station
Great Staff
100m next to Mount Lavinia train station. Great staff performance and nice ocean view.
Reviewed January 18, 2016

Amy C. from Australia
Families with young children
Stayed 2 nights in January 2016
Old rooms in serious need of renovation
Pool, beach, facilities
Mount Lavinia Hotel was our final few days after a month long trip in Sri Lanka. Given the ratings, I was expecting 5 star luxury. Upon arriving at the hotel, the exterior and internal public areas and lovely and as you would expect. The staff are dressed in uniforms with a colonial feel, and the hotel seemed amazing. However once we were shown to our room, I was seriously disappointed. Our room was old, with cracks in the walls, a musky smell,
Reviewed January 13, 2016

Geeta C. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015
Pricey and overrated
Buffet
I ordered a Deluxe room with ocean view and bath tub. The first room I was given, I could barely see the ocean and there was no bath tub. I could see a couple of mosquitoes in the room. I requested a changed and was given a room that had a bath tub but had hairs in it. A guy came in to check the minibar then insisted he send someone to put oil on the door to the balcony as it was squeeky and wouldn't open well. Most of the staff were nice, but at the buffets they all seem stressed and I wasn't offered tea/coffee for about half an hour.
Reviewed December 21, 2015

HUSSAM A. from Saudi Arabia
Couples
Stayed one night in November 2015
Ocean view.
Stuff performance, ocean view & food.
Rooms furniture need to be replace it was very old and looking bad toilet need a renovation.
Reviewed December 13, 2015

HUSSAM A. from Saudi Arabia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015
Funtastic Ocean view.
Balcony, Stuff Performance & Food.
It's good and nice hotel but it is not a five stars hotel it can be a three star hotel because of room condition, furniture were too old and wall paint need to be clean or change. Toilet is ver old and need a little improvement.
Reviewed December 13, 2015

Chandrasekaran S. from Malaysia
Couples
Stayed one night in December 2015
Highly over rated hotel needs serious renovation.
Location by the beach
Was very dissatisfied with the quality of the rooms and attitude of the staff. This hotel is well past its prime and must be renovated soon. The rooms in particular smell musty and the bathrooms were dirty with grime and mildew on the walls, bathtub and floors. There were cockroaches too! Will never stay there again.
Reviewed December 12, 2015

khamis B. from Oman
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in November 2015
Don't miss the location
History and location
Very good
Reviewed December 05, 2015

Upali D. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 5 nights in November 2015
Fantastic.
Food, service, views
Wonderful and relaxing
Reviewed December 04, 2015

Michelle T. from Singapore
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in November 2015
the view makes it all worthwhile!
the view, the beach, the location
I definitely enjoyed my time at the Mount Lavinia Hotel. though the room could use some updating, it was a comfortable stay for sure. my time on the adjoining beach certainly made it all worthwhile! though watch out for enthusiastic lifeguards who keep approaching for conversation and indirect seashell-selling, but they are respectful if you indicate your desire to be alone. do head out of the hotel and check out Sparkling Gems and Jewels, located just outside. the owners are really nice and genuine, and their items are worth considering.
Reviewed December 01, 2015