arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

2015
Excellent 8.1
Based on 913 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 913 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.2
  • Location 8.5
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.0
  • Service 8.1
  • Value for Money 7.7
  • Food/Dining 8.4

khamis B.
Oman
December 05, 2015
Don't miss the location
History and location
Very good

Upali D.
Australia
December 04, 2015
Fantastic.
Food, service, views
Wonderful and relaxing

Michelle T.
Singapore
December 01, 2015
the view makes it all worthwhile!
the view, the beach, the location
I definitely enjoyed my time at the Mount Lavinia Hotel. though the room could use some updating, it was a comfortable stay for sure. my time on the adjoining beach certainly made it all worthwhile! though watch out for enthusiastic lifeguards who keep approaching for conversation and indirect seashell-selling, but they are respectful if you indicate your desire to be alone. do head out of the hotel and check out Sparkling Gems and Jewels, located just outside. the owners are really nice and genuine, and their items are worth considering.

John H.
United Kingdom
November 30, 2015
Beautiful hotel but management needs improvement
Beautiful building a views from bedroom breakfast was superb
The hotel is superb especially front courtyard and the lobby area. The pool and terrace perfect rooms very comfortable with lovely linen. However we had one very annoying complaint. The menus for both drinks and food fail completly to explain the pricing system. After complaining and having 'meetings' with several members of staff up to the financial controller level they still failed to give a satisfactory answer!!!!!!! Finally one of the receptionists gave a proper explanation. The prices quoted are net of both service charge and tourist tax which comes to approx 22 percent but then a regeneration tax is added which comes to 27 percent!!!none of the bosses mentioned that. They also put the 27 percent on top of the menu price Which is not the right way to calculate it if you look at the sri lankan governments instruction on calculating the 'taxes'. The hotel is in fact making alot of money by their merhod of calculation. They also will not give you a breakdown and itemised bill at the end of the holiday just a total figure to pay so you have no idea what you are being charged for. Be aware of the 27 percent- it makes a big difference and when you sign for anything check the bill thoroughly as we had several mistakes on ours. Better still photograph what you sign for!! For a beautiful hotel like this not to give a copy of what you sign for or an itemised bill is very inefficient.

Kiran G.
Australia
November 29, 2015
Colonial charm with great sea views
location, colonial architecture, view from room
I had a lovely stay at the Mount Lavinia Hotel - my room was a direct sea view so i had the sound of the crashing waves to sleep to. The balcony was great, so was the room service and the quality of the food and drink was very good. My baby and I enjoyed the pool and it is definitely a taste of old world charm. The rooms could however do with a bit of updating - particularly the bathrooms.

Rumi E.
India
November 25, 2015
A Hotel With A History
The architecture of the hotel is simply brilliant. The staff across all levels were very professional and looked to please the guests. The view from the hotel room is breathtaking, especially at dawn
Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the hotel. Although it is a heritage structure, the room decor as well as furniture and fittings can be brought into the 21st century.

David G.
Australia
November 18, 2015
Good Transit Hotel for starting/ ending your visit
Location, space , pool
Okay

David G.
Australia
November 16, 2015
lavinia review
Draught beer, swimming pool, location
Pretty good

Md. I.
Bangladesh
November 12, 2015
Wonderful location though a bit far from the city.
Private beach, view from the room, cleanliness

Mahmoud A.
Qatar
October 31, 2015
VERY NICE
ROOM.PLACE .FOOD
ITS GREAT TRIP AND NICE FRIENDLY STAFF