arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

2015
Excellent 8.1
Based on 905 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 905 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.2
  • Location 8.5
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.0
  • Staff Performance 8.1
  • Value for Money 7.7
  • Food/Dining 8.4

9.2 kim M.
United States
April 23, 2016
Great location
Rooms could be a bit updated but all in all we really enjoyed the pool and food.

9.2 Philippa H.
United Kingdom
April 17, 2016
Most stunning vue from our balcony
Lovely hotel, food and view were both outstanding, rooms are quite dated but clean. The rest of the hotel is beautiful example of colonial style.

7.6 Ole A.
Denmark
March 26, 2016
Service degrading
Hotel is surviving on reputation rather on actual performance. Service personel and waiters are often confused and need more management attention. According to street rumors the reason might be that the personel don't get their fair share of the service charges !

7.2 sourav P.
India
March 12, 2016
Fantastic Location and great breakfast
Room was nice with a view view of the sea. Breakfast spread is really great. It has a private beach access and a great seafood restaurant on the beach. Only one complaint, our room was not ready even at 4pm, when the check in time is 2pm.

10 PAULINE H.
United Kingdom
March 09, 2016
Superb
location, pool, food
The most beautiful colonial hotel with high standards, stunning and beautiful location, staff superb, food astonishing in its diversity, wi fi brilliant, rooms so comfy, staff helpful and attentive,historically wonderful. One downfall was minibar/fridge, which was unsuitable for a deluxe room and stopped working, but was mended within 4 mins of informing staff it did not work. For its age it ran like a smooth new vessel, butas being built 1806 it was aging beautifully, just remember it is not a new 5 star but deserves every star. 2 beaches, one beach with fish market and restaurant, beautifully romantic , both beautiful gorgeous pool, terrace bar pool area bar and dining area, morning afternoon and evening every area was just a joy being there.

8 Roy K.
Norway
March 09, 2016
Good
Beach, Pool, food
Good

10 John W.
Australia
February 17, 2016
Reliving colonial history
Architectural beauty, beautiful site, colonial charm
I had a wonderful stay at the Mount Lavinia Hotel.

10 Zabarie T.
Malaysia
January 18, 2016
Near to Train Station
Great Staff
100m next to Mount Lavinia train station. Great staff performance and nice ocean view.

5.7 Amy C.
Australia
January 13, 2016
Old rooms in serious need of renovation
Pool, beach, facilities
Mount Lavinia Hotel was our final few days after a month long trip in Sri Lanka. Given the ratings, I was expecting 5 star luxury. Upon arriving at the hotel, the exterior and internal public areas and lovely and as you would expect. The staff are dressed in uniforms with a colonial feel, and the hotel seemed amazing. However once we were shown to our room, I was seriously disappointed. Our room was old, with cracks in the walls, a musky smell,

5 Geeta C.
United Kingdom
December 21, 2015
Pricey and overrated
Buffet
I ordered a Deluxe room with ocean view and bath tub. The first room I was given, I could barely see the ocean and there was no bath tub. I could see a couple of mosquitoes in the room. I requested a changed and was given a room that had a bath tub but had hairs in it. A guy came in to check the minibar then insisted he send someone to put oil on the door to the balcony as it was squeeky and wouldn't open well. Most of the staff were nice, but at the buffets they all seem stressed and I wasn't offered tea/coffee for about half an hour.