Back to hotel info

2015
Excellent 8.9
Based on 190 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 190 reviews
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.6
  • Location 8.7
  • Room Comfort/Standard 9.1
  • Service 9.4
  • Value for money 8.4
  • Food/Dining 8.7

Catherine L. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in January 2016
Beautiful haven in the city
Loved the place. So relaxing and staff super friendly
Reviewed February 02, 2016

Kirpal S. from India
Families with older children
Stayed 3 nights in December 2015
A nugget of history
Food, staff service and cleanliness
Whilst the stay was very comfortable and the service superlative, my aged father of 90 was not at all comfortable with the dark colours and the interior design of the hotel. The building is a heritage one but the modern decor in shades of black beige and dark browns lent a very gloomy and dark feel to everything. Whilst the staff were really helpful and attentive, the overall lack of light in the suite was uncomfortable, especially for an elderly person. We did though thoroughly enjoy our Christmas dinner and are grateful for the services provided.
Reviewed December 25, 2015

I-Jin C. from Singapore
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in October 2015
Privileged stay in a historic home
Food, design, service
Reviewed November 10, 2015

kamolaphat T. from Thailand
Couples
Stayed one night in October 2015
Highly recommended
1.) hotel decoration 2.) service 3.) foods
We really did enjoy our stay at the hotel. Love love love the decoration and the size of the hotel which is not big like other commercial or branded hotels. Exquisite unique design, comfortable bed, and friendly staffs would definitely bring us back here again the next time we visit Colombo. The hotel only have 10 rooms which is great as it is more private and less busy. Good for travelers that hate the commercial type hotel. We would strongly recommend this hotel to our friends.
Reviewed October 26, 2015

Susan G. from United States
Couples
Stayed one night in October 2015
A perfect gem
Setting, service, rooms
Tintagel completely exceed our expectations. The staff is wonderful and appropriately attentive. Location is excellent. The restaurant serves delicious, well prepared food. My husband and I had a thoroughly enjoyable stay.
Reviewed October 19, 2015

David S. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in October 2015
An elegant small boutique hotel in a good location
It's history. It's quiet location. It's elegance.
The hotel is lovely and the staff are friendly and helpful. We had a very pleasant stay and the breakfast was one of the best we had in all our hotel stays over our 3 week holiday in Sri Lanka.
Reviewed October 18, 2015

Timothy W. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in September 2015
Fabulous hotel
Beautiful, comfortable hotel full of character. Staff extremely helpful and friendly. In a pleasant location a little away from the commercial bustle
Wonderful stay. Well worth it
Reviewed September 13, 2015

Earl W. from New Zealand
Couples
Stayed one night in August 2015
Paradise at Paradise
Food, Staff, decor
A great place to stay when visiitng Colombo truly 5 star
Reviewed August 17, 2015

Tariq E. from Saudi Arabia
Couples
Stayed one night in August 2015
Best heritage hotel in the city
The history of the place, staff and food
Reviewed August 15, 2015

Earl W. from New Zealand
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in August 2015
tremendous tintagel
The staff were fantastic,location superb and the suites are proper 5 star
An absolute delight ....old world charm but all the mod cons and fitout is superb
Reviewed August 08, 2015