arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Good 6.9
Based on 183 reviews
Very good 7.6
Based on 702 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Good



based on 183 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.0
  • Location 6.9
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.0
  • Service 7.2
  • Value for Money 7.3
  • Food/Dining 6.4

Chun K.
Malaysia
December 13, 2012
NIce and lovely rooms
Convenient location
Very nice and clean hotel. Location is convenient, there is a railway station nearby, 5 mins walking distance.

Steve
Australia
April 17, 2016
Old and dingy
Staff were friendly and helpful
Hotel is old, dingy and in need of renovation.

Innocent
Canada
April 15, 2016
Very friendly staff, airconditioned double...
Customer service, friendly staff at front desk!

Satrio A.
Indonesia
November 29, 2012
Good Location and Very Near to Odel
Only the good location
The hotel was average. The service is average. If you want to stay 1-2 nights, this place is recommended. In the evening, the area surrounding is gloomy.

Nena S.
Croatia
November 24, 2012
Cheap - that's all!
Price.
It was ok for one night stay, between flights. Next time we'll choose another hotel. No matter it was inexpensive, we'd rather pay a couple of $ more and get more. Reception staff were exceptional - they really did their best to help with information we needed. Waiters behaved completely differently - incredibly slow. We've waited for ages no matter we were the only guests in the restaurant. When food (dinner and breakfast) finally arrived we were disappointed once more.

Nathan
Hong Kong
April 10, 2016
Not bad
Breakfast with string hoppers
No vibe

Miguel
Portugal
April 09, 2016
Does the job for a...
- Clean and big room with A/C - Nice staff - Close to train station
- The area seemed dodgy at night - Although the location is close to train station, doesn't have anything interesting near by.

Anshuman K.
India
November 22, 2012
Decent Rooms, Great Location
Location, Location, Location. Also, some rooms have balconies overlooking Panchikawatte Road.
This is a good, decent hotel if you're looking at a a place to crash for the night for a day or two. The rooms are cheap, clean and some even have nice balconies overlooking Panchikawatte Road, great for having that early morning tea before you head out. Location is extremely convenient -- right in front of MAradana Railway station, and 10 mins ( = 2.5 kms or about 200Rs. in an auto) from Colombo Fort Railway Station/Bus Station. Don't expect too much in decor and ambience. The downstairs area is a bar/wine shop where all kinds of shady characters drink all day (popular with auto drivers in the area, apparently). But it's a safe place -- ok for couples, mixed groups & single men. Wouldn't be too sure about women travelling alone, you may want to look at other options.

Ahmad S.
Indonesia
November 18, 2012
Value for money
near train stations, 24hrs reception, value for money
We arrived at this hotel very late night after 1.5 hrs taxi drive from airport. Check-in process was fast and we got a room on 3rd level. Room facilities were okay, bathroom was clean, they provided electric kettle with some free instant coffees and a bottled drinking water. Very basic facilities good enough for transit hotel like. The only bad experience we had at this hotel was power off, it happened three times, that made us feel so spooky. But, when we moved to other place in srilanka we also had the same experience.

Hollie
Australia
April 08, 2016
Beautiful old hotel!!!!!!!!!!!
The staff were fantastic and sooooo friendly. Food was fantastic, loved the atmosphere of this hotel!!!
The location from Colombo is just a little too far away.

Peter
Slovakia
April 07, 2016
Good
Good place, close to city centre. Possibility to have shower next day evening before the flight.

Aldi P.
Indonesia
November 14, 2012
Antique hotel
Unique and vintage
I like this hotel because it nearby to anywhere. You can find the restaurant nearby there.

CRISTIANO C.
Ireland
November 14, 2012
Fair accomodation
I was not impressed about the hotel and facility.
I was not impressed about the hotel and facility. The room was not as expected from photos. Probably this is a common error all of us make on choicing cheap accomodation from website... but honestly I have found so many nice and great accomodation for less money. I wouldn't advise for this one even if close to city center.

Yiu
Hong Kong
April 04, 2016
Worth for stay
The staff are nice and friendly. Good location which near the bus station.

Maria
Spain
April 01, 2016
Pleasant
Friendly Staff
The bathroom was dirty and wifi is not very good. Really expensive for the quality

Jose A.
Philippines
November 10, 2012
Old rooms, extremely quiet, creepy
Good service
this hotel is 60 years old, and its age is obvious. rooms are old and spacious, but are not well-laid out, with lots of hidden corners, and somehow have a creepy feel to them. beds are huge, though, and service is impeccable.

Seok T.
Malaysia
October 27, 2012
One of the cheaper hotels in Colombo
Relatively cheap and comfortable hotel in Colombo
The room is comfortable, has good running shower and TV. Only stayed one night but if had to stay 2 or 3 nights, wouldn't have minded.

Iuliia
Russia
March 30, 2016
Good
Spacious room, friendly staff. Free luggage store and a free shower after check-out.

Matous
Czech Republic
March 18, 2016
Very good
rooms to the garden are quiet good prices on dinner/breakfast close to the railway
quite far from shops

Barry B.
United States
October 26, 2012
No Swimming Pool!
Downtown Colombo
we chose the hotel because of its central location in colombo and swimming pool. there is no pool! there is an error on both the agoda and priceline web sites! the web sites show a pool but there is none. service at the hotel was decent and the food was so so. at night value at the shalimar was not nearly as good as other hotels with pools ( night) we've stayed in.