Back to hotel info

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 154 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.7
  • Location 8.8
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.0
  • Service 7.9
  • Value for money 7.3
  • Food/Dining 8.2
Sort by

Ingram W. from United States
Couples
Stayed one night in May 2016
One of the best in Sri Lanka
The best hotel we stayed in during our trip to Sri Lanka. The food is excellent and the staff eager to help. The overall quality of this hotel is not as good as in Taj hotels in India, but compared to the alternatives in Colombo the place is first rate, and I would happily stay there again. We were also delighted to be given a free upgrade to a three-room suite.
Reviewed May 12, 2016

Kandeepan S. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed one night in April 2016
Best place to stay
Very good location,elegant hotel managed by experienced professionals,ocen view delux room exellent for sunset viewing ,best place to stay in colombo,luxary enjoyment of life time, good memory.
Reviewed April 26, 2016

david B. from United States
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in April 2016
Amazing and beyond our expectations
We stayed at Taj Samudra numerous times in years past, visiting a couple of days to a week each time. We made great memories with our small children at that time. Now that they are mostly grown, my wife and I were alone for a few days. We wanted to go someplace special to have some quiet time together. We decided to return to Taj for old time's sake. Our experience was amazing. We were so impressed with the staff, they genuinely wanted to help with even the smallest need. Mr. Yaseetha, of the hotel reception, was the best. He greeted us and treated us so nicely. He made us feel very welcome to return and thanked us for choosing Taj. The staff all seemed so glad that we came. We loved the many upgrades they have done to the place and it demonstrates a commitment to excellence we have seen in Taj properties throughout south Asia. Our travels have brought us to Taj family properties in Sri Lanka, India and the Maldives. As always, tastefully decorated, professionally staffed and delectably stocked. Highlights were: flowers in room, quality coffee in the Club Lounge and the juice selections at breakfast. We will not soon forget your kindness and excellence. Keep up the good work team Taj!
Reviewed April 25, 2016

Hitesh B. from India
Families with young children
Stayed 3 nights in April 2016
Perfect family holiday
Good location and great hotel with wonderful staff and hospitality. Great food and good facilities
Reviewed April 08, 2016

BJOERN H. from China
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in February 2016
Excellent
Much better than Galle Face Hotel (except the latter is direct by the sea, but not possible to swim anyway), very attentive and helpful staff, rooms have balconies (not att Galle Face) and small bathtubs (not at Galle Face), but it is annoying with all crows everywhere in Colombo.
Reviewed February 17, 2016

Trevor W. from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Stayed 3 nights in January 2016
They looked after us very well.
Food choices, staff excellent, rooms were clean.
Very nice, loved it.
Reviewed February 01, 2016

Manique C. from Sri Lanka
Solo travelers
Stayed 3 nights in December 2015
location
food/ friendly staff/ good location
The stay was excellent
Reviewed January 05, 2016

Yaswin J. from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in December 2015
The Management is Piss Poor
Location, room service and room service staff.
The service was TERRIBLE! I booked a room with twin beds, but they put us in a single with one bed. I called the front desk 8 (yes 8, that's not an exaggeration) before the resolved the situation. Even then, I had to demand they not put me on hold or say they would "call me back" because the 7 times I had called before they either disconnected the line and ended the call, or would say they'd give me a call right back and never did. And after all that, they finally switched me to the proper room, but when I checked out they had charged me an EXTRA $100 USD because they wanted charge me for an extra person, even though I had already paid for an double. I was furious. This is going to be my last time EVER staying at the Taj. And if anyone ever asks me if they should stay there, I will whole heartedly plead with them to not stay there. The only thing good about the hotel is the food, the wait staff and the view. The management is piss poor and th front desk is the worst I've EVER experienced in my 32 years of international travel.
Reviewed January 02, 2016

Gopilan G. from Singapore
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015
Excellent service
Friendly service staff, nice atmosphere, variety of multi cultural food
This was our second time staying at Taj Colombo. The stags were really friendly and they upgraded our room as we are an existing customer. The breakfast was excellent. The room conditions were more than expected. I would recommend Taj Colombo for your honeymoon / family holiday.
Reviewed December 23, 2015

Dessagren R. from South Africa
Couples
Stayed 4 nights in December 2015
Duty Manager - very rude. Account section in a mes
Gardens very neat. Room was clean. Buffet dinner was ample and food was good & room service good
Good, except for ffg. Although I confirmed booking for vehicle to fetch us from airport it did not arrive. Rates for vehicles are on the high side eg private vehicle charged 4700 from airport & hotel charged 7500 to airport.
Reviewed December 22, 2015