Back to hotel info

Very good 7.3
Based on 82 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 82 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 4.0
  • Location 8.1
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.4
  • Service 7.3
  • Value for Money 7.0
  • Food/Dining 6.5
Sort by

Horst F. from Austria
Couples
Stayed one night in April 2014
Conveniently close to Colombo airport
Close to airport, good standards, bungalows in garden setting
Good option for overnight stay after arrival as only 10 minutes from airport.Don't expect pick-up you prearranged is working. We had to find our own transport because the hotel staff I had arranged pick-up with either didn't pass on the information or forgot to arrange it.
Reviewed May 01, 2014

David M. from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in April 2014
Good airport hotel
Location - it's only 10 minutes from the airport. The staff were efficient and very friendly with excellent English and as it was New Year's Eve in Sri Lanka I appreciated theit good nature.
I stayed at the Tamarind on recommendation of Sri Lankan friends. I was only staying one night on my way to the airport and on reflection it was most probably a little expensive for such a short stay. Having said that I was well looked after, the wake up call came on time at 3.30 am and the taxi was waiting for me at 4.30 am with a remarkably quick check out. The buffet evening meal was good with quite a few package tour type travellers but also several Sri Lankan families. It is a quiet hotel and would be comfortable for families and couples.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Kenneth B. from Singapore
Couples
Stayed one night in March 2014
Good airport hotel for a good night's rest
Cleaniness, location and character
The hotel was located very near to the airpot (15-20min car ride. It would have been wonderful if they provided airport transfer, given their price. The hotel has character. It is like an estate with chalet resorts. The houses are quaint and the environment felt like a botanic park. Rooms are reasonably clean (but not modern like a usual hotel), and well furnished. However, they were spacious and comfortable. When booking, be sure to book a room for 2 pax, as we booked a for 1-pax from agoda(although it looked more like a double room) and had to pay more for the top-up. overall, it was an acceptable hotel. wanted to book another hotel but it was full. hope the comments help.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Sophie F. from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in January 2014
Good airport for late or early flights
Location near airport; breakfast; quiet surroundings
We arrived at Colombo Airport late and needed to be back at the airport fairly early the next morning. This hotel was about a 15 minute drive from the airport, and for US$25, the hotel picked us up. The check-in process was quite slow despite having the booking confirmation, credit card, and cash in hand. We walked some distance to our room, which was actually a suite and fairly large but basic - particularly for the price. The bathroom had no aircon and was very hot; the aircon in the room didn't work but there was a fan. The beds were decent but you could feel the springs in the mattress. Overall a perfectly fine place to stay for easy access to the airport -- if you get a good deal and aren't in a rush. Check-out was also extremely slow: the night before we had confirmed twice that we would have a ride back to the airport the next morning, but at the appointed time no one was there. After many phone calls and hand-wringing, we left for the airport 15 minutes later than planned - cutting it close but ultimately arriving in time.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Feng C. from Singapore
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in November 2013
Simple and near to airport
Nearby airport so is good for late arrival
Overall is not a bad hotel for transits, as the rooms are big. Staff are friendly even though we check in at around 2am.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

IAN T. from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in September 2013
RELAXING, COMFORTABLE AND FRIENDLY.
THE STAFF WERE GREAT, THE ROOM WAS COMFORTABLE AND VERY CLEAN WITH ALL THE FACILITIES AND IT IS IN A GREAT SETTING WITH A SUPERB CLEAN POOL.
IT WAS A GREAT PLACE TO RELAX WITH VERY EFFICIENT STAFF AND WONDERFUL SURROUNDINGS BEFORE HEADING OFF ON A LONGHAUL FLIGHT. WILL DEFINATELY STAY AGAIAN.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

John C. from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in October 2013
its ok - not ideal at all
checking out
I was here for about 10 hours as I waited for a flight - nothing is free you end up paying for everything even the airport transfer - the grounds are nice but that's about all
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Mark F. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed one night in September 2013
Perfect for late airport arrival & early departure
Tranquility, convenient for airport, restful.
We needed a hotel in close proximity to the airport for unsociable flights at either end of our holiday. The Tamarind Tree provided just that within quiet gardens. We were impressed with the left luggage service and also the takeaway breakfast for our early morning flight. The room was large and comfortable and the swimming pool was clean and great to soak off the rigours of travelling. The staff were most helpful and attentive.
Reviewed October 06, 2013

Vannan N. from Singapore
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in September 2013
Quiet and comfortable, good for a well earned rest
Staff,food and location
I felt that I should have brought my family,The resort did not have a live band, if they were to have one that would be wonderful. The especially the sea food (lobster) was fantastic. For couples Tamarind would be very romantic, for families it would be home away from home actually. Classic, Thank you
Reviewed October 01, 2013

SAJI B. from India
Families with young children
Stayed 2 nights in August 2013
very nice and warm hotel with friendly staff
the inside view, the location and the staff
It was excellent my family really enjoyed the stay.
Reviewed August 24, 2013