Back to hotel info

Very good 7.9
Based on 256 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 256 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 5.7
  • Location 9.1
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.7
  • Service 8.1
  • Value for money 7.6
  • Food/Dining 7.7

Richard A.
United States
October 17, 2015
The Best Location
The location could not be better
We had a pleasant though rainy stay at the Fort Inn. The guest house is in the heart of the fort and easy walking to all the sights. The room and en suite were small and well worn but this is to be expected in an original building in old town. The AC worked well though the Wifi was very slow. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We did not opt for the breakfast there and ate out. Restaurants in the fort were very expensive compared to elsewhere in Sri Lanka and the staff directed us to a the Indian Hut a short walk away that was very reasonable.

Gary E.
New Zealand
October 14, 2015
Great Location
location
The Fort Inn is in the heart of the Fort area so is in a great location but the building is quite old. Can be, as expected, a bit noisy, as its a busy area. Stay was Ok but feel the Fort Inn is a bit expensive for what it offers.

Kathryn S.
United States
August 25, 2015
Nice family, amazing location
Staff, location, character
A very nice family runs this quaint, cozy inn. Ask where to get ten curries, so delicious. Wonderful location to stay in Galle.

Mary-Alice D.
Australia
July 24, 2015
Good location
Friendly staff, good location, affordable
The location was really good, inside the fort and close to the fort walls. The room was clean and air conditioned, but with 2 people it was quite cramped (not much floor space when both our suitcases were open). The bed had a mosquito net but there were some holes and I got bitten a few times at night. The bathroom was basic, with no soap provided. The breakfast (fruit and eggs on toast) was good. We also had dinner there one night (rice and curry) which was quite good. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. Overall, I thought it was good value for such a convenient location, and would stay there again. Also, for info, there is no drivers' accommodation at this guest house, so if you have a driver, you may need to factor their external accommodation into the price (for us it was an extra 3500 rupees per night for our driver's food and accommodation).

Sebastian S.
Germany
July 10, 2015
Everything was great except of the cockroaches
Room, staff, location
When I arrived I was told that my room was currently not available and I was brought into one of there other hotels, which was very nearby. My room was so beautiful, the view amazing, I was so happy. When I wanted to use the toilet one more time before going to bed, I opened the door and saw 8 - 10 big cockroaches all over the floor. Some of them ran straight into the room, which was very unpleasant and prevented me from getting any sleep. During the day and early evening everything was fine when I used the bathroom then. It's so sad as I would've been so happy with everything, but cockroaches should really be a no-go for a hotel like this. If they get rid of that problem I would always stay there again.

rasika D.
Sri Lanka
June 07, 2015
"MY SECOND HOME IN THE WORLD"
Location, people, clean room
I really enjoyed stayed this lovely family run guest house, really friendly people i ever met in sri lanka. thee ower's wife is super friendly she chat with me long time.and she speak good english tooo. really eas going place, i don't understand why peoples are leaved nagative reviwes for this such a nice guest house, i wish that people should stay 07 STAR HOTELS, not choose the guest houses. if you want feel guest house feeling and really friendly people this is the place for you. and also if you like real srilankan food this is the place you can have very reasonable price, please don't hesitate to asked the owner's wife, she'll answer any time. I can't wait to go back this place and staying longer. HIGHLY RECCOMENDED!!!

rasika D.
Sri Lanka
June 07, 2015
"MY SECOND HOME IN THE WORLD"
Location, people, clean room
i missed this place. i loved it. unfortunatly i have leave otherwise i staying ever in this lovely family hotel. i can't understand about the people leaved nagative riviwes about this such a nice guest house, may be they made a mistake or they should stay at 07 stars hotel, better not choose the guest houses. The owner's wife really friendly lady she chat with me long time. she's english also very good. i can't wait to come back my second home really easygoing place. HIGHLY RECCOMENDED.

Philipp E.
Germany
April 03, 2015
Do not book this accomodation!
location.
This accomodation is absolutely overrated! We have had the room on 1st floor. The room not only smelled mouldy, the walls were full of it! One window you couldn't lock when it was closed which is a security issue because one could easily reach this room via the roof. The general state of this room in particular the bathroom was dirty and filthy. The shower worked not well. There was only little water coming out which was just not enough to wash long hair properly. Breakfast was a joke. Usual fruit, some toast with jam and approx half an egg served as scrambled egg. Friends had room on 2nd floor which hasn't been any better in terms of cleanness. Smell of urin. This accomodation was by far the worst we have had in 3 weeks!! Absolutely not worth we've paid! Booked two nights but left after one night already. Never happened before with us. Absolutely not understandable how they could get a reasonable rating so far...

huang X.
China
March 23, 2015
Good location
Location
Location is good. We want to know the train timetable , But the owner seems don't want to help us

Josephine R.
Australia
March 12, 2015
Basic but Brilliant!
Owners, location, balcony
We loved our stay at the Fort Inn mostly because they were just so very welcoming, helpful and friendly. Especially Namal, who was more than happy to take you in his Trishaw (tut tut) if you needed to get somewhere. The room we stayed in was on the first floor, it was basic but it had a fridge and air conditioning and a comfy bed with a mosquito net around it and a ceiling fan above. For the price in Fort Galle it was good and we would definitely stay there again. Breakfast was served on the balcony, a pot of tea or coffee, a plate of fresh fruit and eggs how you like with toast and jam. We loved the feel of Fort Galle, there are plenty of lovely places to eat and the people are all so friendly. If you are looking for a budget hotel to stay in Fort Galle, we would not hesitate to recommend the Fort Inn Guest House.