Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.7
Based on 286 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 286 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.8
  • Location 8.9
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.8
  • Service 8.7
  • Value for Money 8.2
  • Food/Dining 8.5
Sort by

Hrishikesh U. from India
Families with young children
Stayed 5 nights in December 2015
Galle
Staff location food
Reviewed December 23, 2015

Mafaz I. from Sri Lanka
Couples
Stayed one night in December 2015
The grand old dame is looking tired
1. Food is still good, 2. Room is still comfortable 3. Location as in position
The lighthouse is a nice hotel but looking tired. The floorboards in our room need to be re-done. The bed is still very comfortable but the noise from the highway permeated thru. I had specifically asked for a room with a sea view (and paid extra) thinking we would get one of the rooms closer to the reception but we got a room furthermost from the reception and close to the highway. Who wants to request a change of rooms when you are only there for one night and arrive at 8pm and late for the function? Service is non-existent as in we had to carry our own bags to our room. Only point that someone offered to carry our bags was when we brought it back to be loaded into our vehicle. Lighthouse is a 5* price, 1* service, 4* food, rooms need to be desperately refurbished.
Reviewed December 12, 2015

John W. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 5 nights in November 2015
Galle visit
Location by sea. Beautiful pool. Easy to get into Galle. Good choice of food.
Very enjoyable,relaxing 5 days at hotel by the sea. Easy to get into Galle so the best of both town and coast. Good food at hotel.
Reviewed December 01, 2015

Claire O. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in October 2015
Outstanding accommodation, facilites and service
The customer service was excellent, greeted with smiles and never too much they could do. The food was excellent. The hotel was very well appointed and spotlessly clean.
Three things that should be improved: The safe broke and we had several visits to resolve the issue. It was never resolved. The road is very close too the room san our room - 421 was very noisy. You should insulate the door and the window above. There is a temple across the road that streams its service all night long. In addition to this and the procession we got very little sleep on the last night (Friday 30th October). Finally wee were charged for use of the minibar, which we never used and didn't realize until on the way home. I emailed you about this and a USB drive that I left in the room. You did not reply.
Reviewed November 03, 2015

R. G. from Singapore
Families with older children
Stayed one night in September 2015
My experience
Location, comfort and hospitality.
Reviewed September 27, 2015

Chuan Z. from Hong Kong
Families with older children
Stayed one night in September 2015
Best hotel in Galle
Breakfast & Beverage, oceanview, design
Hotel was built near the ocean, has very beautiful view from rooms and restaurant. Beverage is tasty and not too expensive. We tasted all the mocktails amd all were good. Dinner was disappointing, maybe we ordered the wrong dishes. Breakfast is good. Room has very good view, with a balcony just next to ocean.
Reviewed September 25, 2015

Claire S. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed one night in September 2015
Excellent hotel, wish we could have stayed longer
Beautiful room, tranquil location, lovely staff
Reviewed September 14, 2015

Wu Y. from China
Families with older children
Stayed 2 nights in September 2015
good
swimming pool , hotel condition, service
We are so lucky that they upgraded our room for a suite room for free. The swimming pool is very beautiful and the sightseeing from the room is so amazing.
Reviewed September 10, 2015

Sunil G. from India
Families with older children
Stayed 2 nights in August 2015
Management needs an overhaul
Location
The service quality of the hotel and their eye for detail is completely missing. The hotel overcharges. For an extra bed, Agoda charged us 50% of the double room rate. Have never heard of any hotel being this exploitative
Reviewed August 27, 2015

Manfred E. from Switzerland
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in August 2015
Relaxing and pleasant for a few days
Location, pools (great for swimmers in the morning before crowd arrives), frienliness and helpfulnes of staff
Great place to relax for a few days. Enjoyed it thoroughly. Not a place for people seeking "action" but for those who like spectacular views and lazy days at the pools, wandering along the beach, enjoying the cafes in the fort at Galle.
Reviewed August 09, 2015