arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

2015
Excellent 8.3
Based on 286 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 286 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.9
  • Location 8.9
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.4
  • Service 8.5
  • Value for Money 7.9
  • Food/Dining 7.5

Sebastian N.
Finland
April 20, 2016
Amazing resort
The place was fantastic! The beach is empy, you have it for yourself practically. The staff was so so nice and the price is very reasonable. Food by the beach was just fantastic. Would do great for honeymoon to stay here! Also booked whale watching and that was very nice as well. Would come back, have nothing negative to say about this place.

Madhumita C.
India
April 14, 2016
Excellent hotel on the beach.
Ideal place for people wanting a relaxed slow-paced holiday. The massage under the stars which we took is one of the memorable memories I will cherish forever. Very romantic.

Yoon H.
United States
February 08, 2016
Very comfortable and relaxed
Good location, low building
It was nice and good place to take a holiday. There were many old people from Europe enjoying such comfortable circumstance, looked like silver town lol.

Rashied S.
Malaysia
January 21, 2016
Best hotel in Bentota
nice location, good servie and good beach
This is a very nice hotel. Good hoppers for breakfast

samuel K.
United Kingdom
November 30, 2015
Our favorite hotel!
CONVENIENCE ,FACILITIES,BUFFET
WAS OUR SECOND TIME HERE..NOTHING CHANGE,IN FACT ITS GETTING MUCH BETTER.THE BUFFET IS OUR FAVORITE PART IN THIS HOTEL!ALSO THEY WILL REFILL YOUR TEA AND COFFEE IN YOUR ROOM EVERY EVENING (blueberry tea is our fav) spending our day around the pool was really relaxing.ALSO THE HOTEL CLOSE BY A LOT OF GOOD RESTAURANTS WITH HIGH REVIEWS.

Sunila S.
United Kingdom
October 31, 2015
Holida
No comment

Victor C.
Netherlands
August 05, 2015
MIXED FEELINGS need improvement
Nice rooms and swimming pool
The hotel is well situated at the beach with nice quality rooms. It’s next to the railway station and one does hear the train leaving several times during the day and early morning if your sensitive to that. The beach is of no interest for relaxing and not private with a very rough see. No sunbeds or swimming was done at the beach as well there is a small road between the hotel and beach with many locals. So all guests stay at one of the two swimming pools which are nice. There was a mix of western, local as well the wrong type of Russians and Middle east guests wearing a burka resulting in unacceptable behaviour to my family. Respect comes from two sides I was raised.. and definitely should not have an influence on the overall stay and quality of the hotel. At least to consider this when going there as the hotel does not act on swimming cloth rules or rude Russians shouting to the staff and disturbing other guests. The overall of the hotel looks nice although it’s really below their quality level at the swimming pool. The flooring around the swimming pool has loose parts, sticking out and loose screws so one can hurt their feed. The towels are extremely old with holes and spots. Also the parasols were old with mould and many broken and holes in the fabric. I really do not understand that a hotel at this level dears to offer such a poor standard to guests at the pool. The pool staff was great and of good service. There was a ping pong table for kids. There are different restaurants with prices to the higher end. The food and breakfast was of good quality although limited on western offer. There was a nice fresh pan cake and egg station but on the rest limited compared to peer hotels on that level. Overall very mixed feeling …… and would only stay there on a reduced price offer or better look for alternatives…

Nitesh R.
India
June 16, 2015
Great property
bar, beach and pool
we enjoyed our stay at Avani. The rooms and amenities were good. Good Value for money as well.

nanda V.
India
April 03, 2015
Overrated. dirty rooms & toilets. Fungus/mould
location. Walk to the beach
Staff are good and courteous. But the maintenance is terrible. Will not recommend. There are much better definitely 5 star hotels in the same area.

Stuart P.
United Kingdom
March 29, 2015
Western prices in Sri Lanka!
friendliness of staff
upon entering the room the floor was dirty and although the staff were as friendly as Sinhalese are, it doesn't really deserve 5 stars. Other examples include lack of bathrobes / floor shoes until requested, the towels were threadbare and needed replacing both in room and at the beach. I would say 4 star and then expect to pay for 4 star, not 5 star food and drink places. Resort is nice and there are some great restaurants, especially 'Malli's'.