Back to hotel info

Very good 7.6
Based on 1095 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 1095 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 6.1
  • Location 9.3
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.4
  • Service 7.3
  • Value for Money 7.3
  • Food/Dining 7.1
Sort by

Susan C. from Australia
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in March 2016
Great location if you don't mind traffic noise.
Stayed for 2 nights in twin room which had a view of the lake but unfortunately had noise from the traffic, which started fairly early in the morning. Also woken by the monks chanting from the Temple of the Tooth, but that was quite soothing. The room itself was quite charming if you like colonial style, but it did have all the creature comforts. The dining room didn't have much of an outlook but was still pleasantly charming and the buffet dinner and breakfast had a good selection. It was nice to have a pool, though the pool area could have done with a bit of an update, it was still pleasant enough and surprisingly quiet. The best feature of the Qeens is its location right in the centre of town , next to the Tooth Temple and across from the lake . We had dinner one night at the Suisse Hotel and that seemed slightly more attractive in the dining room, pool and bar area - don't know what the rooms are like, but the Queens location is better.
Reviewed April 08, 2016

michael J. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 6 nights in March 2016
Will go else where next time
To start I had to pay $200 more than the agoda price, room was huge (suite) but had nothing in it , shower had no anti scald , either roasting hot or cold, room staff were efficient and friendly ,pool was ok but not well staffed part from the attendant for cleaning and towels, the hotel seems to cater more for the coach tours and passing trade other than regular guests, breakfast was decent enough but all other sittings were buffet more for the coach tours. The staff were friendly ,but some seem to lack in training to be more efficient in there duties to please guests. The hotel travel company was very good and well priced. The hotel does need a face lift ( upgrade) , guest are paying good money for poor surroundings. There plenty potential for this hotel with proper management guidance.
Reviewed April 04, 2016

lalith S. from Sri Lanka
Business travelers
Stayed one night in March 2016
bad experience
i was on a buinsess trip ac was out of order ..fan was making noice... staff never took a serious interest to help very unhappy
Reviewed March 15, 2016

Gerry B. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed one night in January 2016
Historic, but a bit tired
Location, pool, historic ambience
Difficult to rate this one. It is a rambling old barn of a place which oozes colonial history and for that reason alone is worth at least a night's stay. Location is also excellent with views over the lake. The rooms are all high ceilings and polished wood floors but showing their age (especially our TV which managed only 3 English channels, one of which failed during our stay. ) Breakfast was a buffet though nowhere near as good as ones we have had elsewhere. The pool is nice though cold ! Staff are friendly though not necessarily very efficient - our check-in at 2-15 took much longer than it should have done. Overall, it is okay for the feeling of history but there are definitely other Kandy hotels which offer much better value.
Reviewed February 04, 2016

Fiona B. from New Zealand
Families with older children
Stayed 2 nights in January 2016
old time colonial hotel right opposite the Temple
the old rooms, the clean cold pool and the bar area
great
Reviewed January 16, 2016

Annelie M. from Sweden
Families with older children
Stayed 2 nights in January 2016
Tarnished and run down, but still plenty of charm
Atmospheare, location, pool
We felt cheated as we had payed for two doublerooms (we have two teenagers) but actually was given only one room - a familyroom with only one bathroom, one tv, one key, etc etc The standard was also very simple, no airconditioning and run down furniture to sit in. This hotel has a great potential if somebody would renovate it and organize and educate the personel.
Reviewed January 07, 2016

Devashini S. from Malaysia
Solo travelers
Stayed 3 nights in November 2015
Comfortable & Super Central Location
Location, Comfort and Service
We had a really great stay - our second time back here. The hotel is really comfortable, clean with friendly staff and we absolutely loved its convenient location. We had a room overlooking the Temple of the Tooth and experienced great views of the monthly Poya celebrations, as well as quiet times by Kandy Lake. Breakfast buffet was also delicious. I would recommend staying here.
Reviewed January 01, 2016

Jia T. from Singapore
Couples
Stayed one night in December 2015
Quaint hotel at a good location
(1) working lift from olden times (2) just across the road from the temple (3) huge room
Reviewed December 20, 2015

Emi M. from Japan
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in November 2015
Good location, but...
Location, staff,
This hotel has a character and it can be an amazing hotel if they renovate the roos. But big Chinese group tourist making noise makes this hotel third class. Location is ideal. All staff is very kind. Nice breakfast.
Reviewed December 05, 2015

Scott T. from United States
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in November 2015
Choose room wisely
Location, Staff, Historic Charm
The location next to the lake and the Sacred Tooth Temple can't be beat, but be warned that the rooms facing the lake are VERY noisy with street traffic. We requested to move to another room, which overlooked the pool and it was far quieter. The staff were very attentive, friendly, and professional and there was a good variety on the breakfast buffet. Rooms were a bit rough around the edges, but that comes with the territory of a 150+ year hotel
Reviewed December 03, 2015