Back to hotel info

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Good



based on 32 reviews
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 8.0
  • Location 6.9
  • Room Comfort/Standard 6.3
  • Service 6.5
  • Value for money 5.9
  • Food/Dining 6.5
Sort by

Thirumany S. from Australia
Business travelers
Stayed 3 nights in February 2013
Quiet location
Queit location. Situated on a mountain slope
The room was adequate but the view was not as expected. Difficult to find the hotel. Didn't have enough vehicle parking space.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

SOON L. from Singapore
Families with older children
Stayed one night in February 2013
it was ok.
the breakfast selection.
Elevator does not serve all levels. But thank god for porters, with a minimum tip required. Not much of a scenery you can enjoy, dinner choice of selection is not too bad. Staff are helpful and willing to give the extra mile. Wifi is only availble in lobby.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Melissa D. from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in February 2013
Very nice hotel staff, but dreary room
The staff was very attentive and helpful
For the price of this room, I was expecting a lot more. The hotel is a little out of the way, the view was nothing great (buildings next door) and the room was very blah. Pros: I had a situation with the reservation and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Also, the interior of the hotel as well as the pool area looked nice (although it was too cold to be open). Cons: Unfortunately, when I got to the room, I was extremely disappointed. The room was brown, the furniture was older, and overall it was very disappointing. I stayed in 8 hotels throughout Sri Lanka, and this was by far the worst value as far as I am concerned. I would definitely stay somewhere else the next time I came to Kandy.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Janet E. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed one night in January 2013
We were very happy with our stay here.
Warm welcome, friendly staff. Good clean room, food was also of a high standard
We stayed for just one night but would have been happy to stay longer. Perhaps would have preferred to stay a little closer to Kandy Lake, but then had we chosen to we could have walked down the hill or taken a tuk tuk. We were quite happy that we stayed in to eat. We did try to make contact with the hotel a few times by email prior to our stay, each time we received an automated reply saying someone would be it touch....this never happened. Clearly this is a weakness....if you need to make contact , recommend you call.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Jason T. from United Kingdom
Families with older children
Stayed one night in December 2012
Clean and comfortable
Clean spacious rooms.
Good room for a family of four - even with 2 large teenagers. Well positioned for exploring Kandy
Reviewed January 06, 2013

Asheesh S. from India
Families with young children
Stayed one night in December 2012
Good Location with a nice view
Location.
Room was good. Bathroom was too small when compared to the room. Water logging was an issue in the bathroom.
Reviewed January 05, 2013

Naomi K. from Canada
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in December 2012
Good for Sri Lanka
Close to Kandy Dancers
Helped me figure out the free internet. Helpful staff but always looking for tips... Charged an extra $40 when my friend decided to stay with me. This was odd because it was based on two persons and there were three single beds in the room. That was quite annoying.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Tamara W. from Canada
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in October 2012
Nice small hote
Very relaxing, nice view, pleasant staff and tasty food
Very nice staff suddenly became really unpleasant at checkout - yelling, really unhelpful etc. Staff not very aware of local attractions - provided unhelpful advice.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Emily B. from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in August 2012
Quaint hillside hotel with great views.
The views of Kandy from the balconies are fantastic.
i went to kandy for the perahera and was not able to get into the queen's hotel on the parade route for the night perahera so i chose the serene garden as option b. i was not disappointed in the hotel and enjoyed the peaceful location on the hill. i would still choose the queens for the perahera for its location but would be very happy at the serene for any other visit.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

gabriele S. from Austria
Families with older children
Stayed 3 nights in July 2012
good hotel, nice staff
quiet placee near to the bustling town
the staff was very friendly, the room was clean, many stairs, so it is not a good place for people who can not walk properly
Reviewed August 06, 2012