arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

2015
Excellent 8.5
Based on 280 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 280 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 7.3
  • Location 8.4
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.7
  • Service 8.9
  • Value for Money 7.8
  • Food/Dining 8.6

Lindsey K.
United Arab Emirates
February 16, 2016
Amazing hotel and staff
The staff, view from the hotel, and service
We had an amazing stay at Theva! The view from the penthouse suite was gorgeous! The staff were so kind and attentive! Couldn't have asked for a better experience, Would absolutely stay there again!

Robin P.
United Kingdom
January 04, 2016
Theva is over priced and overrated
View, food, drinks
Our stay at Theva whilst was alright was far below what we expected. Massively over priced. We got a suite and it was average at VERY best. We asked before hand for a particular room which the hotel agreed too. We turn up and they've given us the room we absolutely did not want. Of course peak season meant there was no others available. The view is amazing I cannot fault it. The food was really good actually and they have some amazing cocktails. The restaurant staff were sooo great, their hotel staff were absolutely useless. Our fridge wasn't working, we asked them to fix it. They forgot. We had to ask twice again. When leaving we mentioned the fact that they messed up with the rooms. The manager was rude and bound about the whole situation even though I had email proof that we was promised a certain room. The hotel itself isn't bad but is well below luxurious. It is clean but tacky. Deco is nothing short of weird.. It has an amazing view but this is at the cost of relative location to the city. It is about a 5-10 drive from Kandy city center and it up high so walking isn't really convenient. Overall I wouldn't have minded staying at this hotel if I knew what I was getting from the start but the prices they ask is well above what you expect to receive. I wanted luxury, the only thing luxury about this hotel is how high the prices were. In my opinion it is far from 5 star.

Adam F.
United Kingdom
January 02, 2016
Best in Kandy
Great staff, serene location and TOP restaurant
Likely the best in Kandy - there are not many TOP quality hotels and this one comes close. Nice property if a bit rough around the edges, nice small pool and serene location. Rooms were large and guesthouse in feel - aircon was very loud but otherwise comfortable. Restaurant has a huge menu and is very good. The place could use a spa as well. A big thank you to the entire staff - I got very unwell on this trip (nothing to do with the hotel) and they truly went the extra mile to get me medical assistance. I am forever thankful for that

Christopher A.
Canada
December 15, 2015
Not a five-star hotel
Nice view of the hills around Kandy, high up on a hill so the air is cooler, and view of a sunset from hotel was amazing
The hotel has a modern decor, but wasn't as clean as any other five-star hotel; I thought the bed and pillows had a slight unpleasant musky odor. One night I was there the house next door played very, very loud music party till 1:30 am, and no security or front desk staff were around the hotel to answer the phone or help. And, I was encouraged by the hotel manager to tip the staff more. Disappointing experience.

Kazuhiro I.
Thailand
December 12, 2015
Nice location with beautiful mountains view.
Food was excellent, especially breakfast. Good service with hospitality

Naoufal A.
Morocco
December 05, 2015
Stay away!!
View and that's it.
Very poor stay. No hot water in the room, and they could not fix it in 24 hours which means we could not take a shower in our room!! The room was very noisy and we could not sleep as you could hear the staff cleaning the restaurant until late!! The food is overpriced, and very normal. I guess they take advantage of the fact that the hotel is very far from the city, so it's basically take it or leave it.. Overall very poor and will not be going back.

David N.
United Kingdom
November 16, 2015
Theva
The view, room size, breakfast with a view
Dinner seemed expensive, very western, and not of the quality I would expect from a 5* resort. Breakfast was pretty good, although I don;t think the juice was actually freshly squeezed and they could do with actually toasting the bread instead of waving it under a grill for 5 seconds (a fault at almost every hotel I have ever stayed in for some reason) Other than that, the views are stunning, the room was fantastic, and staff were great. Would definitely recommend to stay, just go out for dinner.

Chandana A.
Brunei Darussalam
November 09, 2015
Awesome Place but with Overprized Food
Friendly Staff, Awesome Location, Good Food

christo C.
United Kingdom
November 01, 2015
Just Charming
Food, Service and attentive staff
Absolutely fantastic will be back for a longer stay soon

Ramkamal B.
India
October 31, 2015
Comfortable stay, Friendly Staff, excellent food
Food, Cleanliness, scenic view
Stayed for 3 days. Very friendly staff, excellent scenic view. Food though overpriced is excellent. The hotel and the room was very clean. Approach to the hotel is scary especially at night with no street lights and zero visibility. The hotel is situated over hill top and could get to see a beautiful mountain view sipping tea from the room balcony. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Nothing to complain about.