arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Very good 7.2
Based on 200 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 200 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 6.0
  • Location 8.1
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.3
  • Staff Performance 7.5
  • Value for Money 6.8
  • Food/Dining 6.6

8 M B.
Australia
August 19, 2014
very happy place
beach, street, location
we stayed about a week on a unplanned visit. we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the staff are exceptional!!! food was good but with such a selection down the street we ate everywhere and it was all good. great place to do day trips from around the area. we will definately recommend this for other travellers.

5.3 Russell S.
Australia
August 19, 2014
Quite Awful
Friendly staff & right on the beach
I had to move out! Bed bugs! I was seriously bitten over 4 nights - I thought it was mosquitoes until I found a bug! The staff are really kind and friendly and the location is good if you want a beach holiday BUT like all the hotels in the Negombo area they are VERY expensive for what you get (thanks to the very high govt. taxes). Overall no value for money in Sri Lanka compared to, say, Thailand where you can have 4* for the same price and very nice properties. This hotel like the other 2 I've stayed at along the Negombo beach is run down & very basic. It feels like a cheap motel room in rural Australia. I moved out despite having booked & paid for 2 weeks.

5.3 Ralph C.
Germany
May 23, 2014
Overprized rooms; friendly staff; NO wifi
close to beach, swimming pool
Disappointing: overprized rooms, even with reductions. NO wifi in rooms, almost none public areas; Food was tasty, but more expensive than in close by restaurants. Friendly staff, but not always well trained. Close to beach, nice swimming pool.

10 Janet W.
United Kingdom
May 06, 2014
An excellent hotel in an excellent location
great staff, great location, clean and modern
This was our 3rd stay in Negombo, but our 1st at the Rani beach - and we will definitely be returning. Danesh and his team could not have made us feel more welcome. The rooms were clean and modern, and the views across the Ocean were magnificent. The pool is like stepping into a warm bath and the sunbeds overlook the beach. The hotel is located just short walk away from the bars and restaurants of Negombo, and the town itself is a short tuk tuk ride. The buffet breakfast is varied enough to suit all tastes, and eggs are cooked to order. The main menu again has a variety of international dishes, all cooked to order. All the staff were friendly and easy to talk to, and withn a few hours of arriving knew our names and didn't forget them once during our stay! I would highly recommend this hotel, and can't wait to return in 2015.

5.7 Jody R.
Canada
April 26, 2014
Ugg
Nice rooms, food was okay, beach is close
Where to start. Out by the pool area is where I will start. The staff there are completely incompetent. 1/2 hour to get a drink, that is IF they ask you. I was there 4 days before someone asked if we wanted a drink. Asking for towels and cushions for the chairs is like pulling chicken teeth and is also very time consuming. One time we waited 45 minuets for towels so we were dry and just went back to the room. The rooms are nice and big so that was good. The bathrooms are big also, it takes a few minuets for hot water but is is there. They dont have blankets on the beds only sheets so you have to ask for a second set if you need them. Be sure to let the cleaning staff to know you want toilet paper or it will not be there. I had to go to the front desk 2 different times and ask for some. The breakfast was okay. Good selection of food, nothing great but is worth eating. The drinks are by far way to overpriced. Go 2 doors up to get beer at less than half the price at the pool or in the room. The beach is open to the locals and they are always there bothering the customers always. This is the worst part of this hotel. The staff would just let them walk around trying to see you things. They do not understand the word no as every time I said it they would offer us something else. You have to get rude before they leave you alone. There should be a fence up so they cannot trespass. We enjoyed the country but next time we will go somewhere more secluded and enjoy our time more. We would not go back to this hotel.

7.7 Anders O.
Sweden
February 26, 2014
Convinient location
location, staff, pool
Easy to get to from te airport.Beach was ok,not like the once down south.

8.7 Nicholas F.
United Kingdom
February 18, 2014
Beech front location. Clean. Next to shops + bars
Beech. Clean. Proximity to bars/ and rstaurants
Enjoyable 3 days. Clean hotel overlooking a lonnnnnngggg clean beech. Friendly front desk. Close to bars, travel shops and restaurants. Good air con. Close (20 mins by taxi) to international airport. 5 min taxi ride to Kattuwa train station for the adventurous. Downsides. The few rooms that don't overloook the beech and pool overlook the road which is quite busy. Free wi-fi in reception is painfully slow and unreliable.

8.3 M B.
Australia
November 28, 2013
we had an excellent experience
Staff, pool and food
staff were probably the best thing here at Rani, we would definitely be staying here again. not one complaint.

9.3 Carol M.
United Kingdom
November 28, 2013
good location, beach location & nice pool
beach side, own pool great sized rooms
attentive staff, clean, pleasant hotel. basic breakfast, good wifi.

5.3 Dean C.
United Kingdom
October 30, 2013
Good option for late night arrival into Sri lanka
Airport location
Bit of an out of date property. Otherwise fine. Staff are reasonably well trained. Near the see and Negombo town has an interesting local market on a Sunday morning.