Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.5
Based on 365 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 365 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.0
  • Location 8.5
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.6
  • Service 8.6
  • Value for Money 7.8
  • Food/Dining 8.3
Sort by

Yang L. from Australia
Couples
Stayed one night in December 2015
Overall good experience
Clean. Friendly staff. Heritage building.
Excellent and very clean. The room temperature was just right without air con or heater. Staff were very friendly. Laundry was very reasonably priced and quick. The staff that came to pick our laundry were very accommodating, even helped with our runners which were wet from climbing Sigiriya rock the day prior. Thanks a lot!
Reviewed December 13, 2015

Sarah B. from United Kingdom
Groups
Stayed one night in December 2015
Beautiful
The building, the location, the experience
The experience of this hotel is 5 star, but you might be disappointed if you arrive expecting a '5 star' hotel experience by western standards - we wanted rural quaint Sri Lankan amazingness and that's what we found. On the top of a hill surrounded by tea plantations up a wiggly and difficult road it's really beautiful. The staff are so friendly, the food reasonably priced and reasonable standard, the room lovely, the views amazing, the grounds amazing.
Reviewed December 09, 2015

Hak K. from United States
Couples
Stayed one night in November 2015
Such a beautiful hotel with view of tea plantation
1. Weather 2. Historical 3. Staff
Staff: They welcomed us with warming heart. The staffs were friendly and very knowledgable about the history of the hotel & tea. They were so sad to see us leave. Wish we did stay couple more nights here. Site: YES, it is a long way to get to this hotel. It is far but it is so worth it. You get to see many tea plantation also the hotel provided some recreations like tea leaves picking, riding horse & tour, tea tasting and etc. (which they didnt have 11 years ago when I visited). The hotel itself is just a beautiful! Very old tea factory with taste of history and modernisim were perfectly combined in this hotel. It is not fancy but just beautiful place. Food: It was not the best nor the worst. You don't have a choice but eating at hotel since other hotels/resorts or restaurants are not near by. I did enjoy their bar and desserts.
Reviewed December 01, 2015

Josep B. from Spain
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in November 2015
Nice location and good customer service
Location, customer service and landscapes
Excellent
Reviewed November 13, 2015

Mithila W. from Sri Lanka
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in September 2015
Very good customer service
Location, Service, Food
Excellent customer service. Best from where ive been to. Recommend this hotel to anyone. worth the price you pay. One small advice, try to reach the hotel before it gets dark, (5 pm) otherwise it is difficult to find the place if you are a first time visitor.
Reviewed October 21, 2015

Kumud J. from India
Families with young children
Stayed one night in September 2015
It was an experience.
Concept. Interiors.
Reviewed September 19, 2015

Claire S. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed one night in September 2015
Excellent hotel
charming, romantic, unique
Very unique hotel with beautiful surroundings. Doubt we will stay anywhere quite the same. Service and staff and food were all excellent, we were even upgraded to the executive floor as we were on our honeymoon. Wish we could have stayed longer!
Reviewed September 14, 2015

jin J. from China
Families with young children
Stayed 3 nights in July 2015
Excellent
Food, Nice Staff and the Environment
very good!
Reviewed August 19, 2015

Wei L. from Singapore
Groups
Stayed one night in December 2014
spectacular
location, history, tea plucking in the morning
it was awesome! the ride there was bumpy and it was foggy. amazingly restored building
Reviewed August 04, 2015

Muhammad A. from Saudi Arabia
Families with young children
Stayed one night in July 2015
Nuwara Elia Trip
cleanliness comfort interior hospitality
Great and Romantic
Reviewed July 25, 2015