Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.2
Based on 89 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 89 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.3
  • Location 7.7
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.3
  • Service 8.7
  • Value for money 7.4
  • Food/Dining 8.1

Numira K. from Australia
Couples
Stayed one night in January 2014
Beautiful views
Views, comfort, staff
Set up on a hill, this hotel has beautiful views of the surrounding tea plantations. We found the food very tasty, both breakfast and dinner had a number of options and the staff were very accommodating regarding when and where we wanted to eat (dining room, in our room, outside). Our room was large, clean and comfortable and even had a gas fireplace. The pool and grounds are very picturesque. On the downside, the road is quite bad and there is no accommodation for drivers - the hotel provides meals for them but they have to drive about 3km to Nanuoya and pay for accommodation. When the road is finished, the location will be perfect for guests arriving by train, and the setting is far and away better than anything in Nuwara Eliya itself. Would definitely stay here again.
Reviewed February 05, 2014

Richard M. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in January 2014
Outstanding views in a very peaceful place.
views, food , comfort
We had a wonderfully relaxing time there. It was cooler than anywhere else we'd stayed , no need for air con.The view from our bedroom window early in the morning was of misty mountain valleys, very beautiful. The food was European , not Sri Lankan, and of a high standard. The only problem with this place was the road for 8km from Nuwara Eliya is being totally redone making the journey from this town very long and tedious.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Vikas V. from India
Families with young children
Stayed 2 nights in December 2013
Hotel is Good, but road to hotel not good
Clean, Superb view, peaceful and no crowd
The Hotel itself is very good, with excellent location and interiors, but the Hotel is located 13km from Nuwara Eliya and the road to this Hotel is under construction (till end 2014). This road is currently very dangerous. Avoid going to this hotel till the time the road has been constructed
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Dana S. from Australia
Families with young children
Stayed 2 nights in December 2013
Boutique hotel in tea estate
Beautiful property, outstanding views and warm, friendly customer service
After the long and bumpy drive (the road is under repair) we were very pleasantly surprised with the beautiful property tucked in the middle of a tea estate. The views are breathtaking and the rooms were adorable. The best part was the warm and friendly staff who catered to our needs. The place had a very warm and cosy feel to it. Daily high tea is served with freshly baked treats and local teas. Superb hotel would highly recommend to those seeking a quiet yet refreshing break. The gardens are perfectly manicured and did i mention the breathtaking views? Would love to go there again
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Emily S. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in December 2013
Attentive staff, but hotel is dated
Attentive staff, scenic surroundings, good breakfasts
We had mixed feelings about our stay at the Langdale by Amaya. Whilst the staff were very kind and attentive there are a number of aspects that let the hotel down and make it feel overpriced for what is offered. The hotel is advertised as a spa hotel however you have to pay extra to use all of the spa facilities. We were told we had been upgraded for free from a Superior to a Luxury room however the room itself was small with a dark feel to it and a small window. The shower was a very small cubicle and the bathroom looked dated. The evening food menu was disappointing as were the quality of the evening meals. The food feels incredibly overpriced for Sri Lanka and the dishes are rather 1970s western food. Finally whilst the location is very scenic the hotel is very isolated so it's not really possible to dine elsewhere in the evenings.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Vidhan B. from India
Couples
Stayed 4 nights in October 2013
blissful. romantic
Location, Beaches and swimming pool
terrific property. Friendly staff and great location.
Reviewed November 04, 2013

Judy V. from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in September 2013
Excellent location quiet in the middle of tea area
Restauran,t location,friendly staff
Excellent location friendly staff always helpful chef produced good meals both Sri Lankan (always ask for the Sri Lankan curries as they did appear on the menu!) and European. Views outstanding looking over the tea plantations. Would recommend hotel to my family and friends.
Reviewed October 09, 2013

fatimah Q. from Saudi Arabia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in July 2013
Tea plantion and nice mountin view small room
view wheather spa
the room is so small and outdated the price is so high the rode is really bad breakfast is good because the view
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Ruqaya A. from United Arab Emirates
Families with older children
Stayed 2 nights in August 2013
It was unforgettable relaxing hotel
Tea plantion and nice mountin view
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Regan W. from Australia
Groups
Stayed 2 nights in August 2013
Excellent relaxing stay
Small size, quality of staff, beautiful location
Our stay was wonderful and almost erased the memory of the dreadful road accessing the Langdale from Nuwara Eliya. Road works had started to improve the road but its at last 45 minutes of bumps and pot holes once you leave the main road. The staff are very attentive and flexible in arranging a birthday dinner for one of our group. The location set among the tea plantations is fantastic.
Reviewed August 19, 2013