Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.2
Based on 319 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 319 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.9
  • Location 9.0
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.1
  • Service 8.2
  • Value for money 7.8
  • Food/Dining 7.9
Sort by

Nor N.
Malaysia
May 11, 2016
Serenity is the word
The place was serene and a had wonderful atmosphere, the food was good too! Good choice for a holiday!

Moira S.
Canada
April 22, 2016
Lovely setting but musty rooms
Lovely setting but the rooms smelled very musty. It was difficult to breathe in the rooms even with the AC on. There needs to be much better air circulation and airing of rooms. Guests with mobility problems should request a room near the reception.

Stephen C.
Australia
April 12, 2016
Wonderful resort in perfect surroundings
Sigiriya Village is magnificent. The grounds are huge and bursting with plants, ponds and wildlife. The rooms look modest from the outside but inside they are huge, beautifully decorated and magnificent. The restaurant and pool has views or Sigiriya Rock. The staff make the stay completely unforgettable. They are perfect, attending to your every needs. The food is extensive, tasty, varied and very well priced. I want to go back and stay there again and again. I am planning my next trip and want it to be for a few days to really enjoy the place.

Madalina P.
Romania
April 07, 2016
Very close to Sigiriya rock
Except location this hotel has a lot to improve: rooms have to be renewed, bathroom was awful, the A/C stopped working during our stay, bad smell in the room... basically very low quality price value.

YAN Z.
China
April 07, 2016
Good view, beautiful hotel
Good: The hotel is the nearest to the Sigiriya Rock. From the swimming pool, we can see the Rock. Nice view. It's a beautiful and clean hotel with a lot of monkeys. If you take the family with children like us, it's a good choice. Bad: The swimming pool was closed after seven pm. And it's dirty. The buffet is expensive and we couldn't find any delicious food to eat.

haesung J.
South Korea
February 29, 2016
great one of the best hotel in sr
food loacationn staffs
spectacular

Aditi K.
India
February 08, 2016
Brilliant
Very hospitable

NISHANT R.
India
January 28, 2016
Young
There is no wifi in the rooms. That is now such a sucky thing. Please update the property. Food and buffet breakfast were good. They also gave staff quarters to our driver. Its just a few mins drive from Sigiriya rock face. The entire property is covered in greenary and was lovely. Staff were courteous and welcoming.

Gerry B.
United Kingdom
January 17, 2016
Back to nature
Location, grounds, staff
Nice rooms set in extensive grounds. A good place to get close to nature , we saw monitors, mongoose, monkeys and lots of birds all in the hotel grounds. Has a very nice pool and the breakfast and evening buffets are good value. TV only had 3 channels working but otherwise the room and facilities were comfortable. Excellent location to visit Sigiriya Rock. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Ruth U.
United Kingdom
January 15, 2016
The name says it all
Cleanliness, the Ayurvedic spa
This is a perfectly good place to stay, but just so other potential guests are aware what they are getting into when booking - this is very definitely a holiday complex, which you are expected to stay within the confines of after 7pm, spending your money on their slightly over-priced dinner buffet and in their slightly over-priced bar. A sheltered environment to say the least, which some people may really appreciate - but I personally found it very restrictive. To illustrate - one evening I tried to take a walk down the road to a local restaurant I'd spotted earlier in the day, and the security guard actively prevented me from leaving. In fairness, it was for my own safety (there are rumours of wild elephants in the area, though I don't think all local guesthouses, ones without slightly over-priced restaurants for example, would get away with such a curfew) but I did find it very frustrating. I do appreciate however that it was my mistake booking this type of hotel in the first place.