arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Very good 7.5
Based on 131 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 131 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.6
  • Location 8.3
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.5
  • Service 7.5
  • Value for Money 7.0
  • Food/Dining 7.0

Peter C.
United Kingdom
February 15, 2015
Comfortable hotel - good location - nice facilitie
Location, swimming pool, gardens
This was my 2nd visit to Elephant Reach. It is in a good location for Yala. Comfortable chalet with adequate facilities. Nice swimming pool area with plenty of sunbeds available. Varied food in the dining room and the a la carte specialities were good. Friendly efficient service from all the staff. Recommended

Mark M.
United Kingdom
January 02, 2015
could be great, but is only good
staff, tour organizing, effort for new year
It was a nice place, and when opened it was probably lovely. Just started to look a bit dated and the bathroom in particular was a bit grotty. Food was ok, and the special event on new year was excellent, however the other buffets were generally not hot enough which let them down, and no al a carte menu meant that even if you only need a snack at lunch, you have to have a 3000rp buffet (and given location, no viable easy alternatives) The staff though we're excellent, couldn't do enough to help and all very friendly.

pascal B.
Germany
December 21, 2014
quite nice place
In the nature, single bungalows, nice ambiente
All in nice! We used the stay to visit the yala national park. From that hotel u are fast at main entrance. The hotel give the right feeling before the safari.

tianrui L.
China
September 12, 2014
disappoint
swimming pool,pick up ,villa

steen B.
Denmark
July 28, 2014
Average hotel good located for safari
Acceptable value for money and good safari starting point
Room OK, restaurant and served food below expected standard but not a disaster. Everything could need a thorough refurbishment.

yousif A.
Sri Lanka
June 19, 2014
fine hotel
good staff , rooms were good
Enjoyed the short stay

Stephen D.
United Kingdom
January 08, 2014
Very good hotel for heading to Yala National Park.
Proximity to Yala, comfortable cottages, quiet surroundings.
Overall a good stay but there isn't much to do in the area after visiting the safari park - particularly if you leave at 5.30am and return for 10.30ish. I'd have probably stayed for just the one night with the benefit of hindsight. Several reviews on Trip Advisor mention the poor food. Although the restaurant itself is a bit of a canteen, I thought the quality of the evening (hot) buffet was pretty good.

Sasanka S.
Sri Lanka
October 22, 2013
Comfortable but had few issues.
Location, Staffs attention and food.
We had some issues with the plumbing and drainage and the matter was reported to the reception desk. But they were unable to attend to it immediately. So we were forced to use the Toilets in the reception area. Charging extra for WiFi was another issue that the management has to seriously think about. If staffs have been given Name Tags, it would have been a better experience (than ask for the server's name every time). Fairly large and quite rooms with large comfortable beds. If the rooms have been fitted with dimmer switch so we can adjust to our own liking is something the hotel has to seriously look into as the room was a bit dark in the night. Food was extremely good and so were all the staffs from Bellhop to waiters (Shan is a great asset to them).

Gerhard K.
Germany
August 13, 2013
Great for safari and relaxing
Safari in Yala National Park, relaxing at the pool
This place is ideal as a base for a safari into Yala national park. Safaris in open SUVs can be booked for 5.30 in the morning or 2.30 in the afternoon and take about 3 1/3 hrs. It takes you about half an hour to get into the park, including the formalities at the entrance, the rest of the time you drive through the park. Animal spotting is not comparable to Africa - there are fewer animals here, and a lot more cars - sometimes, there are real traffic jams with up to twenty cars at spots where there is something to see. Otherwise, Elephant Reach is very good for relaxing - a nice pool, large, nicely decorated rooms with balconies and well-equipped bathrooms, even a children's playground and a chequers and a chess game in the reception area. Our kids aged 7 and 10 loved it! Breakfast buffet is fine (the hotel provides you with a breakfast box if you take the early morning safari), lunch is a la carte, dinner again a buffet, unfortunately, not with much variety, which is a bit dull if you stay for more than one night. But all in all, a recommendable place!

Henk S.
Sri Lanka
July 19, 2013
Good value for money
Food, location, kindness staff
Very pleasant stay, good location to depart into Yala parc