arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.2
Based on 335 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 335 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.6
  • Location 8.9
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.4
  • Service 8.3
  • Value for Money 8.0
  • Food/Dining 7.3

Paul J.
United Kingdom
April 04, 2016
Great location and staff but far too rundown
We stayed at Safari for 1 night and I'm very pleased we didn't book for longer. The pool was grubby with black grease marks at water level, the deck around the pool was delapidated with huge holes and broken planks. There were glasses and plates all over the place covered in ants which had been there for days. In the room, the shower stank of drain, the aircon was fierce and leaked water al over the floor, the tv didn't work in the first room so they swapped us to another one. This hotel is in a fantastic location on the lake in Tissa and could be so good, but management need to get a bit of maintanence to make the place worth the money.

ANNA P.
Saudi Arabia
April 02, 2016
Good location
Lovely location on the lake. Perfect sunset spot. Clean and spacious room. The swimming pool area need renovation.

Rob E.
United Kingdom
March 09, 2016
Highly recommend!!
Fantastic hotel, clean rooms, amazing views over the lake from the balcony. Good was amazing too! The pool was a great bonus too although had a fair few leaves in it hence my 4star rating on cleanliness.

Natalie B.
United Kingdom
February 10, 2016
Disappointing
I think that the outside areas of the Safari hotel, such as the pool and restaurant were quite run down. The pictures on the website made it look a lot nicer than it actually was. The restaurant was really disappointing it was very dated with a dreary buffet like an assembly line. The waitress was not particularly friendly or helpful (she seemed like she didn't really want to be there). The food was Ok, it wasn't awful but it certainly wasn't good. The actual room was fine and the decor was better than the rest of the hotel. We had random people knock on our door late at night, which was not particularly nice or what you expect. Also I really don't think they understand service very well, we had someone from the restaurant come and knock on our door 30 minutes after we left the restaurant (where I gave my room number to when ordering) they demanded that we pay there and then, which is just beyond rude and not normal hotel etiquette. overall disappointing.

Cheryl B.
Australia
January 11, 2016
Very pleasant location right on a lake
lakeside setting; very nice pool; good room
This hotel could very easily be so much better than it is. The food offering is repetitive and very average at best. The buffets were the same at lunch and dinner. We tried a la carte on our first night and it was abysmal! Fish that had been crumbed and deep fried some time ago (probably once a week!) and re-heated. Truly awful. Not much else to say about the food. The problem is that, given its somewhat isolated location, eating in-house is the only option. Our room was reasonably well appointed and spacious. Regular maintenance of the buildings has not been a priority, e.g., rotting and broken timber boardwalks around pool and restaurant area; chipped and cracked external floor tiles in public areas. Very pleasant and welcoming staff.

Dilani S.
Sri Lanka
January 05, 2016
Comfy rooms, service needs improvement
comfy room, good view and spacious bathroom
the view is beautiful. The view made the stay worthwhile. The stay was comfortable. The rooms and bathrooms are spacious and modern. good amenities Food was ok. The staff, even though friendly were not effective. Had to request a change of bed linen as bedding was stained. this was unpleasant.

Lahiru H.
Australia
January 01, 2016
Nice peaceful hotel
location, close to yala, relaxing
Had a lovely stay at this hotel. Its idea if you plan on going on a safari (Yala), but a great place to just relax for a day or two. There is a lovely lake nearby which makes it even more pleasant

Ruilu L.
China
December 23, 2015
nice hotel
decoration,service, view
It is a comfortable hotel with every good service and decoration, you can see beautiful view in the room. I like this hotel very much. it would be better if the price can be cheaper :)

HUSSAM A.
Saudi Arabia
December 13, 2015
Very good room size.
Food was perfect, stuff performance & Nice view.
It was a one day but when compare safari hotel with others in Sri Lanka it was very good.

Gao Y.
China
December 11, 2015
Room is decent with good view
Room is clean, view is good. Food is nice.
Food is nice. Staff are friendly. Room is nicely decorated with lake view. We enjoyed our stay there.