arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.3
Based on 120 reviews

Agoda Verified Reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 120 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.0
  • Location 9.0
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.3
  • Service 8.9
  • Value for Money 8.4
  • Food/Dining 6.6

9.3 Yiu L.
Hong Kong
August 09, 2013
Superb and memorable expeirence
Stylish, culturally rich and friendly staff
Staff was really easygoing and outgoing, willing to share the resources of the hostel and information of the Haulien city to the tourist. Although it's of a bit self-help, one may just find the cozy environment like home. Great experience.

8 Kelly H.
Singapore
July 22, 2013
The taste of an old house
The owner, the design of the place, the location
It was really a very pleasant stay. The moment that we hopped off from the taxi, we saw this really tastefully done up old house. That's really very similar to the pictures that we had seen albeit smaller in size. Soon, we were greeted with the very friendly owner. And it was oh so lovely to just chat with her and talk with her about everything under the sun. Yes, the house is old. So do no expect superb sound proofing or posh toilets. But this is what makes this house special. Top it up with the deco around, we really felt so at ease and peaceful at this place. The toilet and the bathroom are shared but there are generally no queues. The old house is very near alot of nice food and then it's not too far from the train station too. All in all, I would strongly recommend this place if you are looking for something special, something to slow down the pace of your life, something to create some memories that you will cherish.

8.7 Ying W.
China
June 04, 2013
A beautiful old house
convenient location, fantastic deco and very friendly manager
I had a wonderful stay in Daydream Hostel. The hostel is located in the city centre of Hualian, so it's near many food places. The room we stayed is very big, and the entire place is beautifully decorated which makes it perfect for picture taking. The hostel manager knows Hualian inside out, she gave us a lot of great tips.

7.7 Maureen A.
United States
February 17, 2013
Quaint Japanese style hostel
Beautiful garden and the atmosphere is very relaxing and friendly
quaint japanese style hostel. we (my boyfriend, his brother and dad, and our friend) stayed in the family room, and they were quite nice about us exceeding the number of adults that were supposed to stay in the room. there are only three bedrooms total in the hostel, so don't assume that you will be able to book extra space if you need it. there is no front desk service, but you can call upon arriving and someone will meet you there to check you in. the woman who helped us was very nice, and though she didn't speak enlgish the owner of the hostel does and she gave us her card in case we needed any help. the shower in the hostel was amazing! the only drawback is that there is only one in the whole hostel, same for urinal and squatter toilet. the hostel is about a mile and a half walk from the train station, but it is very easy to find. overall we compared the stay to a step above camping, but hey, we love camping!

5.7 Charles-Antoine D.
France
July 14, 2012
Old style but renovated japanese/taiwanese stay
old style, friendship with owners
This hotel is in fact an old taiwanese or japanese house which was renovated by conserving the old touch into a guesthouse. Thus, the room is very basic and the toilets/washrooms are shared. Overall, we appreciated for 1 night. However, if you are there for a long stay after some sporty activities, it might not be a good choice. For us, it was a good experience to end our Taiwan trip. It is well located in the nice area of Hualien with a good nightlife, shopping

8 Leung Y.
Hong Kong
June 29, 2012
Good for everything
Good location and staff
The staff is just so kind to provide any information u are looking for. And the location is quite close to the central station and easy to find. Room is clear. And the design of the hostel is great. You can have a free tee or coffee as well. Wifi service is free and I can't think of any bad thing it has.

7.7 LINZ L.
Singapore
April 23, 2012
Quaint and nice little place
Unique
nicely tucked along the street, with old-school charm. streets with dessert shops and boutiques are a just a stone throw away.

6.3 Martin T.
Taiwan
April 09, 2012
Homy
Feels like home, tasteful decoration
Found it last minute on agoda, nice alternative to regular hotels in Hualian. Excellent location to discover the bobo lifestyle of this artsy city. A bit far out room train sation. Should provide breakfast service, too simple services.

4 JHON M.
France
August 12, 2012
hotel charmant mais le service nul
la decoration style japonais,paisible, et mignon
le style japonais nous a plus (ma femme est japonaise..) ,la decoration tres simpas ,mais pour le service, tres nul!!,le drap du lit etais pleins de cheveux et aussi des fourmis tous les jours dedans.la douche etais separer Pendant les 3 jours aucun changement de drap na etais effectuer etc.. et pour le prix de la chambre ,cest beaucoup trop cher! en faite cest tres dommage car ces gros details, si il sont corriges ,cette hotel aura bcoup plus de charme!

8.3 HAYATO S.
Japan
February 23, 2013
オシャレなホステルです。
オシャレ。日本的。
オシャレな日本風家屋のホステルです。部屋は3つで最大8人泊まれます。タオル等必要なものはそろっています。繁華街や観光地に近く、町の中心に位置しています。駅からは遠く、歩いて40分ぐらいです。ホステルを見つけるのに最初苦労して、道を尋ねてたどり着きました。