Back to hotel info

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 1006 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 6.9
  • Location 8.3
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.1
  • Service 7.3
  • Value for Money 7.2
  • Food/Dining 6.3
Sort by

Marcel S. from Australia
Couples
Stayed one night in November 2013
Overpriced hotel
Large room, decent location
The China Town Hotel is an old hotel on Yaowarat Road, about 500m from Hualamphong Railway Station. It is quite a convenient location. The hotel itself is really nothing special though. Although it is over 70 years old, it doesn't really have any kind of special atmosphere, and it really could do with a fresh coat of paint and other basic maintenance. It has a bit of a grimy, dirty feel in the public areas, although the rooms themselves are perfectly clean, well lit and very spacious. There was a safe in our room, complimentary bottled water, hairdryer, soap and shampoo in the bathroom (although you have to buy toothpaste, combs, shower caps etc which I thought was a bit mean). The wifi in the room worked fine, the air-conditioner was old but still in good working order, and the water in the shower was nice and hot. The breakfast was ok: there was a choice of eggs or rice porridge as well as buffet-style fruit, salad, toast and pancakes. Reception demands a 1000 baht deposit from all guests at check-in, but they refunded it without any hassle so it wasn't a problem. The only thing really wrong with this hotel is the price. Later we moved to another hotel on Krung Kasem road (only a few hundred metres away). For less than half the price we got an equally nice room with a better view in a hotel with a friendlier atmosphere.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Wen M. from China
Groups
Stayed 2 nights in November 2013
Great
Location, Location and Location
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Jeffrey H. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 4 nights in November 2013
An old faithful.....
location, location, location
We stayed in Banglampu 30 years ago, but stay well away from this location these days. We have stayed at this hotel quite a few times over the past 10or so years. Chinatown as a location is great; exotic to say the least. However the Chinatown Hotel is now getting a bit old & tired; perhaps it is time we started looking for a new location to stay in Bangkok........
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Carris K. from Singapore
Business travelers
Stayed 4 nights in November 2013
Cheap
Value for Money, Location and Chinese Speaking Staff
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Ng H. from Singapore
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in November 2013
Enjoyable trip
ideal location, shopping and food
I choose China Town when ever I came to Bangkok. I choose China Town Hotel for its location, price and no language barrier.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Kay R. from Germany
Solo travelers
Stayed 3 nights in November 2013
Bestneighborhood, exciting Chinatown, good restaur
Central , in midst restaurants, Chinatown
Although the hotel was under reconstruction there was little annoyance. Many daily tourists, all nations. Since I have my friends,I was little annoyed. Service was always excellent.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

MUSTAFA O. from Malaysia
Business travelers
Stayed 2 nights in November 2013
Satisfactory stay
Close to China Town shopping for craft items, surrounded by eating stalls and restaurants, prompt service to complaints.
The stay was at first beset by problems.... aircond not working properly, wifi was with somewhat limited access. The aircond was promptly atended to... but the wifi limited access was for the whole duration of stay.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

LIM C. from Malaysia
Families with older children
Stayed 3 nights in October 2013
comfortable and relax
chinese speaking staff
a good choice of hotel if choose to stay in chinatown, bangkok. deluxe room for three is spacious and have twin air conditioner. although condition of room and hotel interior is aging but still on acceptable level and most important - clean. front desk staff is helpful and friendly. with stay again if chosen to stay in this area.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Kee E. from Singapore
Groups
Stayed 3 nights in October 2013
Affordable hotel at Chinatown
Cheap, centrally located at chinatown, responsive stall
On the first night, the flush system was not in working order. The following day, the sanitary engineer fixed it, however, the flush system was still not stable. On the second day, when we went to collect our breakfast voucher, we were told that someone else had taken our vouchers and there was no attempt to replace it for us. The internet connection was slow and unstable. In summary, even though this is a cheap, budget hotel with friendly staff, unless you do not mind the above points listed, then this is the hotel to go for as it's right at the heart of Chinatown.
Reviewed November 09, 2013

Simon F. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in November 2013
Not what you expect!
Location, good staff, nearby restaurants
The hotel is in need of renovation, it's bordering on backpacker standard without the backpacker rates.
Reviewed November 07, 2013