Back to hotel info

Very good 7.5
Based on 5384 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 5384 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 6.2
  • Location 8.4
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.4
  • Service 7.3
  • Value for Money 7.6
  • Food/Dining 7.1
Sort by

Margaret B.
United States
October 11, 2015
Not sure I would go back
The pool
From the other reviews, we were expecting MUCH more. Our room was pretty disgusting. The wall paper in the room was peeling off the walls. Part of the molding was attached with duct tape and the floor was soft in places. The room smelled really bad but we were only staying two nights. Our friends had rented a suite in the hotel so we wanted to be close to them. Their suite was very 70's style. It was a bit cleaner than ours, but still was pretty ragged. We do not always stay in nice hotels, and often stay in 2 and 3 stars, this should DEFINITELY NOT be a 4 star hotel. After we left, I read a review that said some rooms are nicer than others so just ask to switch rooms, I wish I would have done this! The pool is nice for day of lounging. It is older but was nice to hang out in. We were the only ones down there, which was nice. There is a bit of a workout area also and a space to do some dance or yoga. The breakfast was pretty bad, a few options, but nothing was very good. It is enough to tide you over. I would not want to stay here for longer than 1 or 2 nights. There are PLENTY of hotels in this area for the same price, that are in much better condition.

Peter S.
Switzerland
October 09, 2015
Ok
Ok

Emmitt T.
United States
October 04, 2015
great location and the rooms are good for me
location, value,and clean rooms

Phillip P.
Australia
October 03, 2015
Still a lady but a touch tired.
Maids, door men, comfort
I have stayed at the Manhattan a few times. I still rate it as a good hotel, the best thing being staff such as floor maids and the guys at the door. The rooms are a touch dated with some wear and tear, and it is obvious but hey...it is an older hotel! However, the owners do do necessary repairs. The week we were there, the lifts were being serviced, tiling redone etc. in saying that, there was an issue with the hot water. A pump had broken down and we had no hot water for two days and on another morning, little flow and tepid. The staff are always for the most part absolutely welcoming and polite. They were always ready to say sawasdii and maintain some of those old true Thai traditions expected of "The land of Smiles"... There are one or two at the front desk that need to chill. One was blatantly disinterested in the issue of no hot water, her answer being...If the hot water is finished, it's finished...che sera sera". When I asked another about a late check-out her face wasn't one of loving kindness. l will qualify this by saying that l have had late check-out before and no issue and no attitude. I paid for the privelge but expected a bit more grace than mercenary indifference. The downstair staff at the morning buffet are great, especially the male in the kitchen who calls out orders such as bacon, omelette or fried rice etc. the cooks are great as is the welcome you get before you sit. Most people would talk about the location, it being surrounded by department stores and the Sukhumvit night or street market. The girls and guys dealing outside the 7/11 can be disconcerting for some. It is a minutes walk from the main road, close to both the underground and the BTS. Your are within a 5-10 minute ride to MBK, Paragon, Centra's myriad of stores and Jim Thompson's House. Dated but a good hotel with many great people working there.

David M.
United States
September 30, 2015
Good place for short stay
Location, location , location
When I first checked in at the hotel, they gave me a smoking room. I had booked for 4 days breakfast included. The room was on the 7th floor and the toilet didn't flush correctly. I asked to switch to a non-smoking room which they did for me as my asthma was going crazy at that point. The new room was on the 4th floor and had a nice view of the street out front. I had to give up my king size bed for 2 singles but that was ok with me. I'm not used to booking with hotels that allow smoking so that was something new for me. Next time I will make sure to specify non-smoking before I book. Other than that everything was good, I would stay there again.

wayne W.
Australia
September 27, 2015
the staff make tis hotel
staff location staff
well have to say the staff made it great and I hope they keep it up, as the bed was hard like sleeping on the floor with a sheet , but some people may like this , rooms are dated with stains on the floor has an in room safe , no thai style wash in toilet so could be a problem for some people too, the location is greet easy to get around did not eat there so no comment. thank you to the staff for making my stay enjoyable

Filippo O.
Australia
September 27, 2015
September 2 Day Stay
Location, Friendly staff, room size
Average. Air con filter dirty, corridor carpet shabby. Potential to be a great hotel but needs some attention to detail to get there.

Elizabeth M.
United States
September 23, 2015
Home away from Home
location, location and location
Another trip to Bangkok and another stay in Manhattan Hotel. The location of Manhattan makes it very convenient to go to the places I want to visit when I am in Bangkok. This is why I keep going back to stay at this hotel.

Elizabeth M.
United States
September 23, 2015
Great Hotel
the room, the location and the staff
My husband and I always get a quiet room at Manhattan. I like it that such request is granted. I also like that the hotel staff remember us whenever we come back to the hotel. It feels like coming home even though its a hotel.

Elizabeth M.
United States
September 23, 2015
Downtown Hotel
location, location and location
My husband and I are repeat customers of Manhattan and mostly it is because of its location. It is near Terminal 21, Asok and Nana train stations, and various restaurants. The staff is also very welcoming and always are very helpful.