Back to hotel info

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 2132 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.9
  • Location 8.9
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.1
  • Service 8.2
  • Value for Money 7.8
  • Food/Dining 7.6

john W. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in March 2014
A mixed bag
The view, the lemon grass and lime sea bass, the location
The air conditioning is very loud as well as everything echoes in the hall and you can hear in room. There was a child crying. All in all it is not great if you can't sleep well. The pool is a bit shoddy also.
Reviewed March 08, 2014

Natasha S. from Canada
Couples
Stayed one night in February 2014
Average hotel stay for a high price
Location by the water, hotel size and ROOF-TOP POOL!
Our room was pretty basic. I was a little disappointed when we arrived as the pictures I had seen online hyped it up. The rooftop pool made up for it all though. It was amazing to jump in after a long and sweaty day exploring Bangkok! Breakfast was included with the room we had reserved. It was nothing special, but eating on the terrace by the water was really nice. Because of the price/value, I don't think I would stay here again. I tend to be more of a budget traveller, but don't mind splurging once in a while... I just didn't feel like this stay was worth the splurge!
Reviewed March 08, 2014

Sarah P. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in February 2014
Great location but a few small gripes
Great location, good rooms, nice breakfast
The hotel enjoys a great position with a river-bus stop right in front and lots to look at while you eat in the outside restaurant. On the street side it's a short walk to Khao San Road and lots of restaurants and bars, etc. The rooms are well equipped, clean and comfortable and the rooftop pool a bonus. I know people have complained about the noise from the live music opposite but that stops at midnight and we didn't find it a problem. However, the incessant "elevator muzak" that follows you from the bar to the restaurant to the pool is dreadful - put us off eating anything other than breakfast in the hotel and drove us from the pool, too! I think also the staff could be a bit more pro-active. Reception staff were great, really helpful, but in most other areas they stood aloof, equally ignoring guests who wanted to order drinks and noisy kids diving and bombing each other in the pool (read the notices?). All fixable with a bit of training but detracted from what could be a brilliant hotel.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Jean Q. from France
Groups
Stayed 4 nights in February 2014
A correct stay.
Room comfort, location, balcony
Navalai was nothing of a resort, despite the name. The rooms were clean and comfortable, though. Service was OK (some good points, some not so good points) and location really good considering the distance to local sightseeing and the fact that BKK was under turmoil at that time.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Thomas C. from Germany
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in February 2014
Perfect location, nice hotel
Location close to Express boat, clean rooms, helpful staff
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Nicholas P. from United Kingdom
Families with older children
Stayed 3 nights in January 2014
Three day stopover in Bangkok
The hotel is located on the Chao Phraya river with a boat stop right outside the hotel; the rooms are all clean and comfortable with wifi and safe; very good thai food.
Very enjoyable stay in the heart of Bangkok and access to all parts of the city through the river boat system that costs 30p a trip. The service was very friendly and the hotel / rooms were all clean and well maintained. Do not judge the hotel by the streetside entrance!
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Serina S. from Singapore
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in January 2014
Not fantastic at all
Jetty right in front, walking distance to Khaosan
Bed was ok, pillows are too hard, aircon not cold, breakfast lousy, no train station, transport not convenient , away from shopping mall
Reviewed February 04, 2014

Michael S. from United States
Couples
Stayed one night in January 2014
Excellent location to explore Bangkok market life
Interior of room was very nice and spacious. Also sexy shower set the romance to a nice room.
The hotel was clean and front desk was very attentive. The location is great for viewing the market and city life. The room was very cozy and romantic inside. Concerns I had was the price of the room and paying additional for a Riverview with Agoda. When we arrived at the room it was the second floor above the restaurant. This left us with a partial view of the river and a metal roof. I went down and asked for a different room and was given a refund request instead. I requested again for them to be accommodating since I paid $140.00 usd and should get something with a full view. They moved us up one level, but initially claimed it wasn't an option. As we were going to our room the gentleman handling our luggage made complaints in Thai about us changing rooms and moving luggage which I tipped him prior. He wasn't aware my wife spoke Thai again. From there out the rest of the stay was very nice and the front desk was very helpful except for the luggage handler as we were leaving. He again was complaining to our taxi cab driver that our bags were heavy and ranting about a bag he lost in Thai. We found it after we went to the holding room together.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Sandra B. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in January 2014
Great location, right on no13 pier for Khao San Rd
Location, location, location
The best part for us was the sea breeze room. It was great to have a view over the river just watching the hustle and bustle of ferries, longtail boats and cargo boats going past just doing their every day business. This is a great location for many restaurants, bars, massage parlours and just a 5 minute walk down to Khao San Road, which is a must by night.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

WICHAI S. from Thailand
Business travelers
Stayed one night in January 2014
Good REcception ,clean room ,quiet
River side , city center , interest area near
so good when stay here due i like this hotel because near chaopraya river and i like River so i like this hotel but breakfast no so good shall improve. due near river hotel such as new siam river side the food was good taste.
Reviewed January 17, 2014