Back to hotel info

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Above average



based on 185 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 4.8
  • Facilities 4.2
  • Location 6.4
  • Room Comfort/Standard 5.3
  • Service 6.3
  • Value for Money 6.9
  • Food/Dining 5.0

Nicolas S. from Germany
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in February 2016
Just don't go there....
-
I did a 4 weeks trip through Myanmar/Thailand and only slept in the most cheap budget accomodations. The shadow Inn was by far the worst. Very very dirty, the toilets were not usable, the room was very smelly, the bedsheets lookes very dirty too... Please just don't go there
Reviewed February 12, 2016

Tarryn H. from Australia
Solo travelers
Stayed 3 nights in February 2016
Alright, but could be better
The staff could have been a lot more helpful/interested in managing a hostel. The mattress I slept on had a massive hole in it.. Apart from that the overall experience wasn't too bad!
Reviewed February 09, 2016

Dmitry G. from Russia
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in January 2016
Bumpy rough beds
Place is ok for the money you pay, but they really need to buy new mattresses, because old ones are really rough and bumpy. Was not able to sleep more than 3 hours because of this, even though I sleep on a hard bed at home
Reviewed February 09, 2016

Dammer S. from Indonesia
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in January 2016
Very Cheap
location, price, friendly staff
I stayed 6 nights in Shadow Inn. The reason is price and also the location is good enough. Easy to get something to eat, local bus and also MRT dan train station to anywhere near bangkok. For the first time it's quite hard to find it. It's a bit hidden in an small alley in China Town. Actually I was thinking to stay a couple nights but after a while i changed my mind. The only reason is price. No doubt is very cheap. If you concern about cleanliness you might think twice to book it. I've never seen their staff doing morning job to clean rooms and also bathrooms as I usually see in any hostels in SEA Asia. But if you have tight budget this is the one you are looking for.
Reviewed February 03, 2016

János P. from Vietnam
Solo travelers
Stayed 4 nights in January 2016
Friendly staff at Shadow Inn in Bangkok
nice staff, quiet central location, chip small single room
The location was in a very small street but quiet and the city center was not so far. I enjoyed to walk and eat food in the street near the hotel. The room is really small and simple but chip and it was important me there was a single room. The stuff was nise and friendly. Ihad fun to stay in Bangkok and this hotel. I will go back if I will go to Bangkok again. Thank you. ขอบคุณครับ
Reviewed January 30, 2016

DAVID J. from Spain
Solo travelers
Stayed 4 nights in January 2016
Bed as hard as rock
The bed was hard as rock. I don't think they have any mattress under the mattress cover. It must be a long piece of wood. The bathroom was a disaster too. I have traveled a lot and stayed in many hostel, some of them quite bad too, but this one wins the prize. No way I would stay there again. I would rather spend a little bit more money and at least sleep on a proper mattress.
Reviewed January 15, 2016

Liang C. from Taiwan
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in December 2015
It's the most terrible accomm that I have ever see
Only a few minutes walk from train station
Aweful, the room and the bed are really dirty. Toilet are very disgusting and there's no hot water supply. Light, fan, toilet…, lots of stuff are damage and nobody fix it. The staff are busy in there own stuff and not willing to answer your question. They even didn't catch my call! Don't consider this place anymore, forget it!
Reviewed December 20, 2015

Gerd W. from Belgium
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in December 2015
Budget accomodation Bangkok
Close to Hua Lampong train station, quite area, correct price
My stay was okay. Eventhough the bed was hard and there was no chair nor a small table in the room, the room was spacious enough. The location is good: close to Hua Lampong train station, well connected with both Bangkok airports. Staff was friendly and helpfull. I'd stay again at Shadow inn for a next visit or transit in Bangkok.
Reviewed December 14, 2015

Nataliia T. from Russia
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in September 2015
not bad for 1-2 nights
owner, area
The owner is really nice person. The room is not big but ok.The bathroom is not very clean. And linens should be washed for sure!
Reviewed September 30, 2015

Tuan L. from Vietnam
Solo travelers
Stayed 5 nights in August 2015
German Solo Traveller
First, it is about the best price ever. Second, it is about the best location. It is 3 min to Chinatown and to find good Thai foods, also 10 min taxi to Grand Palace, as well as main river and boats.
I really love this place. Best location, best price. Large shared bathroom. Very kind and nice hotel owners. I booked two times to continue to stay here.
Reviewed September 05, 2015