arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.4
Based on 2457 reviews

Agoda Verified Reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 2457 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.4
  • Location 8.4
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.6
  • Service 8.6
  • Value for Money 8.4
  • Food/Dining 7.8

Richard L.
Singapore
September 14, 2015
Fun hotel in heart of Chinatown
Location, staff friendly and helpful, Siam Swing Band at the bar most nights!
Excellent stay - again. This was my 3rd time, and I had the best room yet. Staff was so nice - very friendly and helpful. I love the kitschy old-China decor, the whole place is really quite comfortable. And when you walk out the front door, your in the heart of Chinatown. Food to die for up and down the street. Close enough walk (10 mins) to MRT or a little longer to the river and the commuter boats there.

Scott K.
Australia
September 14, 2015
Very Satisfied
Location, Friendly Staff, Hotel Design
Beautiful hotel, funky design, great location, nice staff

leong Y.
Malaysia
September 08, 2015
nice hotels
design, pattern, staff
its was a good stay in this hotel.good staff and nice design fort he hotel. near the food area and easy to shopping.

Luke S.
Japan
September 02, 2015
A unique Chinese-themed hotel in Chinatown
Breakfast buffet; super huge bed; near subway, trains, and 200 baht tuktuk from Khaosan or MBK
The staff were for the most part proactively helpful and very friendly. I got the feeling that they genuinely wanted our stay to be as pleasant and memorable as possible. The room was quite a surprise with its old style Chinese decor and the massive bed. There was plenty of space and in our room we got the morning sunlight through coloured window panes so it was a joy to wake up hung over every morning and begin preparing for the day. This preparation was always followed by a buffet style breakfast with western style options and a daily rotation of delicious Chinese dishes. It really was one of the best hotel breakfasts I've ever had. One drawback though was the lack of a power point near the bed so I had to leave my charging phone or iPad far from the bed. Wifi had good reception but had to be changed between the room and the kitchen. It could do with a little easier explanation with pictures. I had no problem but I don't think my wife could have worked it out without me there (Me :"open Safari and put x.x.x.x into the address bar"; Wife: "what's safari?"; Me: "the thing you use to access the Internet"; wife: "what's that?"; me: "just give it here...") I would recommend this hotel as a reward at the end of your travels for surviving the hustle and bustle of traveling Thailand but I think if you only stayed here you would be a little too pampered and you might miss out on some of the opportunities Thailand has to offer. Also, it is in Chinatown so it offers a little different atmosphere to the main touristy areas by on the other hand the surrounding area is less Thai and more Chinese so it depends what you AE looking for.

Lim R.
Singapore
August 30, 2015
Good stay
Location, design of the room
Nice stay in the hotel. Spacious room with very traditional design.

Stewart H.
Australia
August 29, 2015
Service and decor
furniture and decor , staff , attention to detail
A real eye opener coming in off the hot busy street to the cool calm of the hotel , the furniture , fittings and decor are worth a visit in themselves . Our room was huge and well appointed with the biggest hotel bath ever, attentive staff and good breakfast topped it off . Great area for street food and markets but drivers a bit reluctant about the area due to traffic and one way streets. Still, an amazing hotel in a fascinating area.

Jane H.
Australia
August 24, 2015
Great hotel and wonderful staff
Friendliness of staff, hotel and room design.
My stay at this hotel was very enjoyable. Dee, Pam and Joy were so helpful and an absolute delight to deal with. The hotel restaurant was lovely an their food and drinks were sensational. Highly recommend.

HARJONO -.
Indonesia
August 23, 2015
nice hotel, great location and comfor room
comfort room, great location and unique hotel
nice and bery beautiful

john T.
Australia
August 22, 2015
Shanghai Mansion Mini Stay
Location, Service, Decor
Our stay at the Shanghai Mansion Bangkok was ideally situated in Chinatown, the room we had was a good size, clean, quiet and the décor was very appealing. The sitting areas on each floor were very relaxing especially the fish pond area on the second floor. The Rose restaurant served delicious food and the service was very attentive, the food and wine was a little expensive by Bangkok standards but not outrageous. The hotel staff were all very friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them to do. Breakfast was very good with excellent variety to suit all tastes, the only criticism is some of the hot food had gotten a bit cool. The bar area at the front of the hotel was a great place to sit and relax while hubbub of Chinatown went by. I would definitely recommend this hotel as an excellent place to stay in Bangkok.

Heather B.
United States
August 19, 2015
Bugs
Massage was good, friendly staff, good breakfast
Looks good from the outside, but I was itxhy all night. Didn't think much of it because I usually need a night to adjust to the sheets. The next morning I discovered why: my bed was infested with little bugs. Not sure if ants or baby cockroaches. Didn't see them at night but in the morning all over duvet. Told staff, they seemed unconcerned and didn't apologize or offer any sort of remedy or discount, instead sent up a cleaning lady to take away the blankets. It looks nice from the outside but beware of bugs in your bed!