Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.4
Based on 2471 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 2471 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.6
  • Location 8.4
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.6
  • Service 8.6
  • Value for money 8.4
  • Food/Dining 7.8

Mark W. from New Zealand
Couples
Stayed 4 nights in September 2014
Nice hotel shame about the breakfast
Pretty hotel, location in Chinatown, nice staff.
We stayed 4 nights, it is a pretty hotel with nice decor but the buffet breakfast was very slow to come out it starts at 6.30am and at times it still wasn't all out at 7.30am but worse than that the hot dishes were only luke warm and some were cold. This needs improvement.
Reviewed October 12, 2014

Jessica K. from Canada
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in September 2014
Friendly staff clean rooms
Staff cleanliness beautiful
Great hotel however as backpackers there were no other travelers to socialize with. Very clean and friendly staff really nice rooms. Location is in China town so it's very crowded in that area not very touristy. If I backpacked again I would probably choose something closer to the travelers area.
Reviewed October 04, 2014

Kathrine M. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in September 2014
Unusual boutique hotel
decor, food, staff
Reviewed October 01, 2014

Annabelle O. from United Kingdom
Groups
Stayed 2 nights in September 2014
Nice hotel and very bussly location
The restaurant manager, the Decor and live performances outside
The hotel has a beautiful authentic Chinese decoration throughout with a really nice tranquil pond running through it. The rooms were quite small with a very strong smell of sewage, which got worse the longer you stayed in the room, this apparently was due to the old building and poor sewage in the city of Bangkok! Our room had a partition door to the next rooms shower room which meant that the people in the next room were heard having a shower and having very loud conversations at 6am in the morning. The hotel is located right in china town which is good if you love the bussly street food atmosphere but not good if you don't like crowds or the smell of food all over your clothes and hair! overall we stayed for two nights only in September and that was enough for me!
Reviewed October 01, 2014

Espen A. from Norway
Business travelers
Stayed 2 nights in July 2014
Lovely rooms, but watch out for housekeeping
rooms, value
Fantastic rooms for a great price. However I am pretty sure that housekeeping took my external hard drive so check your belongings. Also I wasn't a fan of the location. For first time visitors to BKK the Chinatown location might be exotic an fun but for me it was just too far away from the MRT and too much noise and people in the area. It is just on the main street in Chinatown. Inside the hotel is peaceful though.
Reviewed September 30, 2014

Mike S. from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed 3 nights in September 2014
One of the Best in Bangkok for the Money
Staff, food overall value
Excellent. You can't beat the discounted rate at around $1500 baht for a standard room. I do not know if I would feel the same if the rates were higher but at this rate, it's a win-win. The staff is excellent, very friendly and attentive. The only drawback is the transportation service the hotel has contracted with. Avoid them. They are crooks and will charge you 3-4 times what the normal rate is.. They refuse to use meters so they can rob you. Do not use unmetered taxis unless you like paying 300%-400% more than you should.
Reviewed September 25, 2014

Wansi L. from Singapore
Couples
Stayed one night in August 2014
Good location, Crowded, 24 hours eateries
Convenient location, quiet
Room had mosquitos, bed was pretty hard and floors was cement. Getting back to the hotel is a pain as a lot of taxi drivers are not willing to travel to pratunam area because of the jam. Good experience but I will not stay here again.
Reviewed September 22, 2014

Neoh A. from Malaysia
Business travelers
Stayed one night in September 2014
too duck no enough light
Location and money
so so ...
Reviewed September 21, 2014

Clyde M. from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in August 2014
Clyde
Retro feel locatiom
Reviewed September 21, 2014

Yvonne B. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 7 nights in September 2014
Best Hotel In Chinatown
Clean, Friendly, Helpful
The Shanghai Mansion for me is the best in Bangkok. Small, friendly, helpful, lots of character. The two best Staff are Is ans S. If you are looking for a good hotel please do not look elsewhere. They have a Jazz band on most evenings. The restaurant is lovely, with good food and great choice. The customer service is the ever I have ever seen. A must while in Bangkok.
Reviewed September 17, 2014