arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
All reviews (2439)

Business travelers (130)

Couples (1448)

Solo travelers (396)

Families with young children (148)

Families with older children (121)

Groups (196)

Excellent
8.4
based on 2439 reviews
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.8
Facilities
8.7
Location
8.4
Room Comfort/Standard
8.6
Staff Performance
8.6
Value for Money
8.4
Food/Dining
7.8

8 Christina B.
New Zealand
May 24, 2014
Nice boutique hotel friendly staff.
Ambiance. friendly staff, clean rooms.
Nice relaxing atmosphere lovely old world hotel with great staff.

5.3 Siam G.
Singapore
May 22, 2014
The hotel is too dim & no aircon outside room area
Design Staff friendliness Bed
It was a nice hotel but surrounding areas spoilt the stay. Its not near train station and nothing much to do once back in hotel.

5.3 teck T.
Singapore
May 19, 2014
not enjoyable, wont stay there again
the breakfast was good, cotton restaurant has a very nice setting
aircon was not cold at all, the doors are using keys, seems filmsy. for those who like retro/shanghai theme might like this place.

8 Mike M.
United States of America
May 27, 2014
Convenient located hotels with great service in Ch
Location, service, breakfast
Pleasant and relaxing, would stay here again and recommend to friends.

5.7 Choong K.
Singapore
May 19, 2014
Not up to expectations
Staff,Location,Unique decor
Staff were friendly and helpful. Check-in was quick, however, upon walking to the room, the corridor on the room level was dimly lit (was intentional I suppose?) and warm and on the corridor (seem to hv no aircon). The room door was a key and lock kind (practically with a key) which is so inconvenient. Aircon took a while to cool and when turned to the lowest was not that cold as well. There is no proper table to put your loose items, only a dressing table and TV consoles to double up as a table, so things were left like practically everywhere. Poor layout. Water temperature was terrible. In the afternoon, the water was warm, even when only the "cold" tap was on, floor was slippery when wet. Dangerous if there are children, the room was poorly lit (this again probably is the intention of the design). Beds was not as comfortable as I will have expected. Overall a place to stay if you are into the Chinese Décor, and the proximity of the hotel. For the price, can stay at a more comfortable hotel elsewhere.

5.7 Ann T.
Singapore
May 16, 2014
Great Location
Location, Staff Friendly Service, Quietness
The room is a good size but shower is abit uncomfortable as the water does not flow away smoothly (I have stayed in other similar rooms and experienced similar problem with the shower room)

10 Yan P.
Singapore
November 01, 2014
unique room design and good location
like the design of the room with 'paper lantern' lights and the beds with ancient feeling. doors were traditional red doors
Love the concept of the rooms with their unique design. They offered a refreshing drink when we checked in at the counter and good service. Good location and even though they are along the main road, it was not noisy. The main door is an antique red door and the decorations with special. If you want to experience living in the ancient times, it is worth staying.

9.7 Debbie B.
Australia
May 20, 2014
Lovely hotel❗️
Food, staff, and the style of the hotel...just beautiful
It was lovely. The staff were great and spoke English. The Buffett breakfast was awesome and the style of the hotel is so gorgeous. Very grand looking.Our room was a twin and it was so pretty but just a bit smaller than I was expecting but really I only slept there so who cares❗️ Highly recommend a stay there. I would absolutely stay again❗️❗️❗️❗️

10 timothy M.
United States of America
May 06, 2014
amazing unique charming
service rooms quality of everything
I have been traveling and living in Asia for over two decades and this unique gem is one of the nicest hotels I ever stayed in. Though we currently live in Bangkok, we really wanted to experience this special hotel. In a word it surpassed all expectations, the rooms were huge, tastefully decorated, colorful and made me feel as if i was transported to 1920's Shanghai. It shocks me that this hotel only has an overall rating of 8.4........I wish I could give it a higher rating than a 10. A truly amazing experience.

7 Yiu C.
Hong Kong
May 07, 2014
The interior environment is better than I expected
Quite good interior environment
Even though the hotel was a bit far from the BTS and MRT station, the interior environment was better than I expected. I would give one more merit to this hotel if she can try to change the door lock to a smarter and stronger one.