arrow-up-icon Get points on your miles program!
Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.4
Based on 2453 reviews

Agoda Verified Reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 2453 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.5
  • Location 8.4
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.6
  • Staff Performance 8.6
  • Value for Money 8.4
  • Food/Dining 7.8

7.7 Stephen M.
United Kingdom
January 30, 2014
Nice hotel, good value.
Beautifully designed rooms
Our stay at the shanghai mansion was ok, not great, but also not bad either. The rooms were beautiful and a good size with a great bathroom. We didn't see many staff in our 4 days there but the doormen were very very helpful in getting taxis and giving us advice. The breakfast buffet was poor by bangkok hotel standards. Even though we've had better hotels in bangkok I would still recommend shanghai mansion to friends as a good place to stay.

8.7 simon F.
United Kingdom
January 30, 2014
outside madness inside an oasis of tranquility
quiet,up-market centrally located for some crazy market shopping and the best chinese food in thailand!
Absolutly brilliant a mix of madness outside but inside quiet and relaxing, in room 522

9 Mark B.
United Kingdom
January 30, 2014
comfortable, stylish boutique hotel
stylish design, elegant room, breakfast choices.
This hotel suited our needs perfectly. Nice to be in the heart of Chinatown and close to a couple of fabulous street restaurants.

9.3 Janelle R.
Australia
January 29, 2014
Loved this hotel
Comfort, location, quality
Excellent hotel. A quiet oasis in busy Chinatown. Awesome rooms. Breakfast had the best prawn dumplings i tasted in Chinatown, and that's saying something!

7 Thanh C.
Australia
January 28, 2014
The Hotel is just fine.
Great location, Plenty of shops and street foods.
The Hotel is fine, but definitely not my choice, there is no common toilets in this hotel. Rooms have NO view at all. Very poor breakfast.

7 davide P.
Italy
January 24, 2014
hotel is OK apart 2 trouples
breakfast, location, transport
breakfast, cleanliness, service all OK. the hotel is unusual but cute. however, 2 problems : 1) mattress too hard for my habits, had troubles sleeping and my back was screaming. however, this may be subjective 2) description of hotel shows "VIEW : CITY" however I was given a room WITHOUT window. hotel full, no other room and eventually extra-charge to pay. this is not acceptable for 4-star 58 euro/night hotel. I have stayed once and there not be a second.

8.3 Jiewen L.
China
January 21, 2014
i like s
staff service location
good.......................................................................................................................................

9.3 Michael A.
United States
January 15, 2014
Fantastic style and comfort in a great location
Unique style, good price, big rooms
Loved it. Pond is great. Let my daughter take a goldfish in a bowl in the room. Rooms are beautiful and unique we stayed in two, wife and I in one, daughter and mother in another. Great for family or romance! In the heart of Chinatown, close to trains, street food and temples like the golden Buddha. We will likely stay again next time we are in Bangkok. Not as much traffic in Chinatown as say Siam square or Lumpini Park areas where we stayed in the past which is a big plus. You don't spend hours in traffic in this area but close to everything you would want to explore in this great neighbourhood . No pool, gym etc but lovely ambiance, good service and good food though eating out is part of the Chinatown experience.

8.7 James G.
United Kingdom
January 14, 2014
Wonderful and quirky
Quirky design, spacious rooms, affordable especially for standard
Excellent stay, brilliant value for money. Would always stay there on my way through Bangkok and recommend to others. Oh, and Chinatown is the best.

9.3 Yohama G.
United Kingdom
January 12, 2014
Very welcoming and helpful staff!
Great location, good atmosphere and very helpful staff
We really enjoyed our stay at the hotel and in Bangkok. The hotel is located in the heart of Chinatown and is ideally placed for visiting the top sights in Bangkok and is close to some great restaurants. There is such great atmosphere at night when all the street food carts and pop-up restuarants take over the pavements and side streets in the area. We found that the area is generally very safe and family friendly. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and extremely helpful (thanks for Mr C and others for all their help during our stay). The hotel also has a tour operator through which one could organises trips locally within Bangkok. We were able to organise a 2-day tour (with car and driver) to Ayuthaya and Sukhothai which worked out very well. All in all, we were very happy with the hotel and would recommend this place to our family and friends.