Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.4
Based on 2474 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 2474 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.6
  • Location 8.4
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.6
  • Service 8.6
  • Value for money 8.4
  • Food/Dining 7.8
Sort by

CHONG Y. from Malaysia
Couples
Stayed 5 nights in February 2013
Lovely hotel and service with a smile
Design
The only incident which I am not happy during this stay (after so many times staying here) was the bad housekeeping . Everyday toiletries incomplete and everyday I have to called to complaint.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

CHONG Y. from Malaysia
Couples
Stayed 4 nights in February 2013
Lovely hotel and service with a smile
Location n design
Overall clean and great service by the hotel service
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Anna G. from United States
Couples
Stayed one night in February 2013
Lovely Hotel with Great Style and Service
Unique, Stylish, Hospitable, Friendly, Accomodating
My boyfriend and I chose Shanghai Mansion for it's unique look and it's location. Not only is it in the middle of China Town, but it is also not far from the ferry and train station. This made it a great base camp to see the sights of Bangkok and other areas of Thailand. Bangkok is a crazy city, but once inside the Shanghai Mansion the surroundings are calming and zen. The fresh scent of the hotel contrasted greatly with the not so good smells on the street. Very refreshing! We were enjoyed our stay there very much. The service was great! As soon as we walked in the door, we were immediately greeted, relieved of our belongings, and given tea. The staff was polite, friendly, and very helpful. The breakfast included in our stay was good and there were many different options to choose from. We would highly recommend staying at the Shanghai Mansion. It's a cool place to check out and you will enjoy your stay!
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Andrew G. from United States
Families with older children
Stayed 2 nights in February 2013
Beautiful, friendly, welcoming
Decor. Friendly, helpful staff.
all of the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. the hotel itself is beautifully decorated - don't be fooled by the less than ideal street-front. i was worried it was going to be loud because it is right on a main street of chinatown, but we were there on the eve of chinese new year and we couldn't hear anything in our rooms. breakfast was great. the rooms were immaculate, and the little extras they gave us (no charge for mini-bar items, new year gift of an orange and a goldfish in the room) made all the difference. the only drawback is that it is not walking distance to either the mrt or the skytrain, which meant we took a lot of taxis and tuk-tuk.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Tang Y. from Malaysia
Couples
Stayed one night in February 2013
A truely Chinese Mansion....
The fish pond looks great.
It is a wonderful hotel in Chinatown.I had a great stay.Feels like I've been back to China.Rooms and the morning breakfast are great.I can say that it is the best hotel in Chinatown.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Robert T. from United States
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in February 2013
A Chinese experience, from tea in the lobby...
Great location in heart of China Town
Escalator whisked us up to the second floor lobby and check in. We were welcomed and given tea and a cold wet handtowel to refreshing ourselves while our check in was confirmed. Rooms very quiet and decorated to the 9th degee in Chinese style. Breakfast buffet very good and much varied. Staff spoke excellent English.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Alastair S. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in January 2013
Oasis in the heart of china town
Decor is amazing, traditional Chinese with a modern twist
Loved being in China Town and hotel is close to the train station where we came in. You're not far from the river and grand palace etc, but a bit of s trek uptown to the CBD. Great breakfast buffet!
Reviewed February 13, 2013

John G. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed one night in January 2013
Great location and great service
Heart of Chinatown!
Really enjoyed our stay here in the heart of Chinatown in a great hotel. Clean and very unique, you could easily be staying in China itself. Great places to eat just down the road, hawker stalls serving roasted duck and pork to die for!
Reviewed February 11, 2013

robert R. from United States
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in January 2013
Gem of a hotel. Excellent service.
Colorful decor, sweet smelling, a bed the size of a small island.
After wandering around Chinatown for hours in the sweltering heat, when we finally located this hotel, we were quickly whisked upstairs to reception, a cool space scented with peppermint. After recovering on a lovely couch with a cup of tea and refreshing washcloth, we were efficiently checked in and shown to our room. Lovely, colorful, clean room with a great big bed the size of a small island. Awesome service from all staff. Various locations throughout hotel for sitting and relaxing. Good access (walking) to river. Not too far from subway and river taxi's. Very pleasant all around. Shanghai Mansion is a slice of tranquility amidst the chaos of Chinatown, Bangkok.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Irina R. from Latvia
Groups
Stayed one night in January 2013
Beautiful hotel but be aware of China town.
Very spacious, quiet, trendy
Hi there, We staid in the hotel for 2 days. It was beautiful greeting. They offered us wet towels a a cup of green tea. Staff is very helpful and like to share their smile with you which is very unusual for Bangkok. There is no much to say. The hotel rooms are exactly as on photos. Very clean and tidy. They are also taking you to a shopping center on tuk tuk free of charge. The only cons are they are cleaning the rooms around 4pm (which is quite late I think) and it's located in China town which I personally disliked very much. Oh yes, be aware of one butler. He has a good relationship with local taxi drivers and will pretend to get you a "cheaper deal" which is 3 x more than normal rate. It's always wise take a meter taxi.
Reviewed February 09, 2013