Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.4
Based on 2472 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 2472 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.5
  • Location 8.4
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.6
  • Service 8.6
  • Value for Money 8.4
  • Food/Dining 7.8
Sort by

Andrew W.
United States
January 04, 2013
Well done
clean room, convenient location, great service
This is a cool hotel on the eastern edge of Chinatown and just a few blocks (~5 min) from the main train station (Hua Lamphong). From the street, it doesn't look like much, but as soon as you go up the entry escalator, you enter another world. The decor is quite unique. The service from the moment you step inside is superb - patient, attentive and effective. The rooms are clean and come with everything you need/expect. We had drinks and snacks in the mini-bar, as well as breakfast and afternoon tea, all at no additional charge. One negative: the wi-fi is pretty slow. Especially if you're spending most of your time in Chinatown area, we strongly recommend this hotel.

Annore M.
South Africa
January 04, 2013
quirky and cool
location, friendly staff, quirkiness
great hotel. the rooms are quirky and the hotel looks luxurious inside. staff is friendly and helpful. 5 min walk to some great night food market/stalls. can walk to train station in 20min. breakfast included and lovely. rooms clean and spacious.

Shan Y.
Australia
January 03, 2013
Love the style
**
The check in/out service is super, less than a minute. The decoration is unique. The service is unpickable. The breakfast has a great selection. The hotel provides free transport to the major attractions (but it is too hot to go out in the middle of the day.) The hotel is located in a very busy area, not much activities around but great for night street food. The taxi service from the hotel is very expensive (But it is always the case).

alan J.
Australia
January 03, 2013
Great location when you can find it.
Location and the jazz band
Although in the heart of Chinatown, many taxis/tuk tuks could not find it. The room was full of character but, having no window, very dark.

Arthur B.
Netherlands
January 03, 2013
Lovely hotel in nice setting
Chinese design
The hotel is situated in Chinese art of Bangkok and is a bit out of the centre of Bangkok although everything is easy reachable with taxi and train. The hotel has no windows but you don't miss them as the design is so nice as is the atmosphere

Leon D.
Australia
January 02, 2013
An old favourite
Location
One of my favourite hotels in one of my favourite parts of BKK. I seem to be drawn to both Chinatown, and, the Shanghai Mansions during most visits to BKK. I like the location, the staff and the interior decor. I feel very much at home here.

Severine B.
France
January 01, 2013
ideally located with good breakfast
spacious nice rooms clean and fancy themes
The hotel is very charismatic with a nice Chinese tone. The room was spacious and clean. The location is very good. It is easy to come and go from the hotel. The breakfast is fantastic. However the ground floor room had no windows and upper floors seems nicer because they are more quiet and have a rest area. The ground floor rooms are in the building lobby so you can be disturbed by the noise of people passing by. Also there was white curtains to hide the light next to the main door but when you sleep the light through the curtains is coming into your eyes and there is no way to hide it. A small detail but if you need complete dark to sleep ensure you get a room with dark curtains next to the main door if you are on the ground floor.

Nichola K.
United Kingdom
January 01, 2013
Stylish hotel, fantastic location, great price
good value, stylish heritage hotel; really excellent service throughout
I stayed with my daughter in December 2012 and we chose the hotel as our base for travelling around SE Asia. We were really well looked after and will stay again the next time we're in Bangkok. We stayed in each type of room which were all designed with great attention to detail, and good value for money. The staff were very helpful, friendly and the hotel's shuttle service to MBK of course very convenient. The guide to a historical walk around Chinatown provided on our check-in was much appreciated. Great location, only a short walk to the ferry stop on the river. No complaints- if any downside at all, it was that the rooms do not have windows.

Theresa P.
New Zealand
January 01, 2013
Amazing
Decor is stunning
I chose to stay here for something different than the madness of Koh San Rd. The hotel is spectaclar - the furnishings & decor transport you back in time - loved it. Breakfast was great. I had dimsum every morning which was delicious. Street markets across the road were an adventure for bargain hunters - lots of cool things to be found. At night time the streets come to life with food vendors serving up amazing yummy food (shame about all the shark fin tho). The cotton club was great fun & served awesome cocktails. I would recommend staying here if you want something different. I loved every day here.

Lisa R.
United States
December 31, 2012
Very Unique Hotel in Chinatown
Design & location
I left my luggage with them for free to store for a few days while I traveled. They were very accommodating and helpful.