arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

2015
Excellent 9.0
Based on 2051 reviews

Agoda Verified Reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 2051 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.8
  • Location 9.1
  • Room Comfort/Standard 9.2
  • Staff Performance 9.2
  • Value for Money 8.5
  • Food/Dining 8.8

9.3 Brent R.
Australia
June 19, 2015
Flash Hotel
Room comfort, Swimming Pool, Great location

8.7 Ferdinandes M.
Netherlands
June 19, 2015
amazing location
location friendly staff good food
was great loved the location friendly staff and good food

10 Ian R.
United Kingdom
June 18, 2015
Superb
Staff, quality, location.
Absolutely superb. This is an expensive hotel and it shows from the moment you pull up in your taxi. Uniformed staff greet you warmly and it just gets better from there. Wonderful room overlooking the Chao Praya river with every facility you could want or need. It costs a fair bit but is certainly worth it. Every facet of this hotel is top notch.

9.7 sawiya N.
Thailand
June 17, 2015
Very very good breakfast
Location , service , comfortable
Good hotel

10 Laura T.
United Kingdom
June 13, 2015
Best Hotel in Bangkok
The Customer Service, The Moon Bar, The Food
Amazing experience - 5 star customer service - would recommend to anyone travelling to Bangkok

9 Ashran G.
Malaysia
June 11, 2015
Nice
Nice room..bed...toilets
Great

5.3 Roland P.
Germany
June 10, 2015
Failed to Impress
Location, Food, Check-In
On the first night we had to ask the room service to change our bed sheets, as there was a big stain on it. After not picking up the phone three consecutive times, finally someone came and changed the sheets for us. For a 5 star hotel this is really unacceptable (not seeing such a stain in the first place and also the way it got handled by the staff). We didn't get an apology for that incident either. Overall the Shangri-La seems highly overrated. The breakfast room is rather noisy and very crowded. I would almost call it chaotic. There are enough (cheaper) alternatives in Bangkok. We will not stay in this hotel again.

9.7 jay P.
United Kingdom
June 08, 2015
Great Hotel to Stay
Very friendly and welcoming staff, food was also great. The additional services available to guest made it worthwhile
I booked this hotel for our return trip to Bangkok. The hotel had a great location for travelling and exploring the city with the river along side the hotel. This allowed us to travel on tours quickly and efficiently. The hotel is self is very big and staff are fantastic. We stayed at the wing apart of the hotel and we where kindly given complimentary afternoon tea as well as a happy hour. Would recommend this hotel for sure.

6.7 kerry S.
United States
June 07, 2015
Felt like a cheesy Vegas hotel
Location view free coffee in the lobby before 8 am
Average at best I would expect a welcome drink and a cool cloth for every guest I guess we didn't look desperate enough! After a 25 hour flight I think otherwise. Overarated for sure. One good thing was the location to the river.

6.3 John L.
United States
June 07, 2015
Disappointing
Location
Mediocre