arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 1595 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.6
  • Location 8.1
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.3
  • Service 8.4
  • Value for Money 8.3
  • Food/Dining 8.1

dana N.
Canada
August 26, 2015
Worth it
Cleanliness, spa, room
This was our second hotel in Chiang Mai and we really loved it! The decor was great and the view from our room was amazing (12th fl). The room and whole hotel were always clean. Staff are very helpful and kind. The bed was a bit hard and the pillows too high/thick so that didn't always make for the best sleep. The spa is VERY reasonably priced for a hotel and is very relaxing. I recommend getting the 1 hr foot massage.

Robert S.
United States
August 24, 2015
Good hotel
Reasonable price, good location, good swimming pool
It is a good mid-range hotel (3-4 star hotel). We like the wooden floors--no dirty carpeting. The location is good-- a 15' minute walk from the Night Bazaar and just 3' from Changklan Road, which is major street in the SE part of the city. The hotel is a definite step up from cheap backpackers' hotels, but it is not as expensive as some of the other 4-star hotels in Chiang Mai.

Allan M.
Australia
August 24, 2015
FIRST RATE
ItHard to settle on just 3 best aspects of this hotel. We loved the atmosphere, the beauty of it and above all the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff
We have stayed at the Sofitel in Cambodia that we have rated in the past as the best hotel experience ever. We have also stayed in the best hotels in Dubai. The Empress is older than the ones mentioned and may lack some of the modern accoutrements of the others, but the wonderful staff, service and relaxing atmosphere put the Empress above them all.

Jorg T.
Germany
August 20, 2015
They bend over backwards to help the customer
The standard of service that we experienced was outstanding. Whatever we required Khun Suppaporn (Khun Gai) and her staff did whatever was possible to help us, be it an earlier check-in, a check out
Continued: Although, when booking, we had forgotten to request a room with a bath tub, we were immediately given one as soon as it was available. They even upgraded us to do so. - On top of that, we were showered in little presents. - the hotel also seems to have a policy of inviting guests who stay a little longer than usually to a free candlelight dinner. We absolutely enjoyed the service dedicated to us during this event and would to thank all the stay and management for their welcoming charme, We will definitely come back.

Jenny J.
Taiwan
August 07, 2015
The hotel facility is very old. Low C/P
Old facilities, good location, staffs are ok friendly
For some reason the cleaning staff gave us a really dirty towel (looks like there was old period blood on it) on the second day of my stay, and we did give a 40 baht tips (for two ppl). Kind of gross, and my parents room had a broken matress. Btw, we booked two studio suits for 5 nights stay.

Yiau W.
Malaysia
August 07, 2015
Nice hotel
Staffs is freindly and helpful, quiet hotel,
Overall I satisfy to stay the hotel, clean and comfortable room, friendly staff. The breakfast is quite variety, but the food is ok. the area is quiet and quite walking distance to nigh market. I will recommend to stay this hotel again.

Clesson E.
United States
August 01, 2015
Nice Four Nights
Room was clean, Service was excellent, Welcomed us with a gift basket filled with snacks
Enjoyable! People were friendly and professional. We found the Empress of great value and would definitely stay there again.

Marie G.
United States
July 28, 2015
Good hotel for a couple of nights.
Very clean and spacious rooms.
We stayed here for two nights, it was very rainy in Chiang Mai during our stay so we took it easy and relaxed. There is a cute coffee shop right outside of the main hotel, I'd recommend stopping in for a latte or a a cup of tea if you need to get some work done. There was a big conference while we were staying at this hotel, but it was fine, not noisy at all. Breakfast was just okay in my opinion, I've had much better "continental" breakfasts in SE Asia. The pool looked nice, but the weather wasn't suitable for swimming. It's a little far from the old city, but transportation is readily available and affordable.

Susan E.
United States
July 28, 2015
Great stay!
Staff, breakfast buffet, pool

Puvadit J.
Thailand
July 27, 2015
Good stay , good and friendly staff
Convenience room, variety buffet and good staff
Good