Back to hotel info

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 740 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.0
  • Location 8.5
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.3
  • Service 8.1
  • Value for money 7.8
  • Food/Dining 6.6

Michael Z. from United States
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in March 2013
Very Good Location - Clean - Barking Dog Noise
Location, Cleaniness, Breakfast and In-room Internet included in the cost.
The hotel is in a very good location on a side street off Kotchasam Road, a main road by the Thapae Gate where there are many restaurants, a 711 store and ATM machines. It's also a 15 minute walk to the night market. The reception staff are friendly, always smiling and eager to help. All speak good English. However, all the reception staff need to improve on information service like knowing exactly the location of places like the nearest Tourist Information and ATM machine which was at the next street on the corner of Kotchasam Road. There's a security guard at night at the entrance which is a plus. Breakfast is American style - eggs, ham, whole wheat bread, jam, orange juice, mineral water, cereal but instant coffee, margarine (no butter) and tea. There's a comfortable lounge area on the second floor with books, brochures and travel information - the same at the reception entrance - another plus. The rooms are very clean. In-room Internet is very good. You'll need ear plugs at night if you are a light sleeper. There's a barking dog across the street that starts barking in the early hours of the morning non-stop. Also, pigeons have made the roof their home and you'll hear them too in the morning if you have a room on the third floor. You won't find many amenities in your room, like tissues, a comb, q-tips, radio, alarm clock - just shower soap, shower cap and shampoo. Pillows are hard. The hotel should consider offering guests softer pillows. Tip = ask for a room towards the back of the hotel, maybe you won't hear the barking dog and pigeon noise.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Johan N. from Sweden
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in February 2013
good value for the money
nice and clea
spent the day in the lovely room instead of the busy streets
Reviewed March 03, 2013

Allan M. from United Kingdom
Families with young children
Stayed 5 nights in February 2013
Modern, Clean hotel with wonderful friendly staff
Breakfast cooked to order, central location, exceptionally helpful and friendly staff
We stayed for four nights and it would have been perfect for the two of us if we had not had the baby as well. The room was a good size with a spacious ensuite toilet and shower although it was a bit dark because it had no windows facing to the outside. Breakfast was served on the first floor level and was made to order, although the only choice was ham and egg in some form. there was no other cooked option available. The hotel was in a relatively quiet, but central location between the night market and Thapae Square and was close to eating, laundry and shopping facilities. The disadvantages, relating to babies and toddlers is that there is no cot available so baby had to sleep with mum and dad. The room is furnished with Lanna style furniture which is both heavy and full of sharp corners just asking to be bumped into by fast moving kids. Likewise, the restaurant at first floor level is fenced by a timber screen which does not extend below seat level leaving a large gap through which a small child could crawl and fall to the lower level. In summary, the hotel, though excellent in most other respects, is not really suitable for couples with small children. In fact, this could be said of Chiang Mai in general.
Reviewed March 01, 2013

Konstantin L. from Russia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in February 2013
great location , lovely stuff, cute design
good bed
poor breakfast , small parking for a car. everything is not far, from one side is down town, from another side is popular and famously nigt bazaar . 2-3 minute you can find rent a car and bike. many massage shop and bars, restorante. biggest problem was mosquitos in hotel. every night we try to kill them inside a room. but outside room, you can't stay 4 min, because too much. they very angry)). for best condition i recommend chiangmai plaza hotel. food is very good and no mosquitos!
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Liang S. from Malaysia
Families with older children
Stayed 5 nights in February 2013
Great location, 10 min walk to Night Bazaar
Walking distance to Saturday and Sunday markets
The location of Na Tapae Hotel is excellent, with walking distance to Saturday and Sunday markets. It is also about 10 min walk to Night Bazaar. The surrounding is quiet, though the walk through the alley is a bit dark at night. The room quality is good, though the sound insulation on main door needs improvement. Front desk staff is very courteous, though the lady at the breakfast preparation was a bit temperamental when she was pressured by too many guests having breakfast at the same time. The menu was exactly identical (only 5 types on the menu), so you can imagine having to eat the same thing for 5 consecutive mornings. Having some Phad Thai, fried rice or Kao Soi (as Chiang Mai is famous for) as variation would be great. However, the WIFI is real bad! I could not get connected on my notebook at all on all three floors! My son had similar problem too, though on 1-2 occasions he managed to get connected, but speed was like tortoise! Lastly, the most important issue here! Price! Actually I wanted to book two rooms (for my wife and me, and two children), but after I got the first room booked, there was no more room for me to book the second room. I could not possibly stay in different hotel from my children! So I searched for another website (latestay.com) and I managed to book the second room, at even cheaper rate than AGODA! Mind you, by a hefty US$ 70 for 5 nights! This has definitely put a big dent in my confidence in AGODA! Please kindly look into this important issue.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Michael W. from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Stayed 4 nights in October 2012
This is the hotel I would like to own
Everything
Stayed here many times with Agoda and also booked direct with the hotel from within Thailand. I have never been disappointed by this hotel, its like a home from home and I will be staying here again in Jan 2013. The bed is comfortable and pleasing to look at, the bathroom is excellent with shower gel and shampoo provided in real quirt bottles, but sachets are also provided. There is a seating area on the first floor with tea & coffee available all day to make for yourself with books and travel guides people have donated to read.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Michael W. from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Stayed 4 nights in January 2013
The Hotel I would love to say is mine
I like everything
Its difficult to write a review on a Hotel you have stayed in 8 or 9 times and had an excellent time every time. I have recommended this hotel to my friends who now also stay here on their visits to Chiang Mai I have never been disappointed by this hotel, its like a home from home and I will be staying here again and again throughout 2013. The bed is comfortable and pleasing to look at, the bathroom is excellent with shower gel and shampoo provided in real quirt bottles, but sachets are also provided. There is a seating area on the first floor with tea & coffee available all day to make for yourself with books and travel guides people have donated to read.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Chris W. from United States
Business travelers
Stayed 2 nights in February 2013
no elevator, do not count on breakfast
roomy deluxe room on the third floor
The faucet spins around in my room, not stable. Room was big enough, paper thin blanket, cheap shower. Calking stains, problem. There is only 1 kind of bread at the B/F, there is no cheese nor veggies for your omelet so, it is actually just eggs. Instant coffee, instant tea, corn flakes, what stunned me was "margarine" ...we know margarine's almost liquid plastic, one molecule away from Plastic, we refused to touch. But it's what you like, some people don't care. With this price, Royal Princess Hotel sells at almost the same price with real buffet breakfast, and with real brewed coffee and tea, this hotel's breakfast was too simply cheap. Locally, the bread is so cheap and variety of kind exists at nice bread store, such as dark bread, rye bread, real french bread kind (one single long french bread is $1!) , why such crappy square, boring bread? It was almost insult level breakfast with that price, I thought this is a decent boutique hotel, not backpacker's hotel. It's such a SHAME to throw such junk breakfast to lower the hotel reputation. SAD. Service was OK. No elevator.
Reviewed February 07, 2013

Peter S. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 5 nights in January 2013
handy for loi kro road and the old town
in a quiet soi
The hotel is in a small Soi off the main drag but is two minute walk to the main bars and restaurants in the area. Friendly welcome from the staff. The bed in the room was fine. There was only a small frosted window in the corner but this is common in hotels built in the "Lanna" style found in Chiang Mai. The room was clean, but the bathroom in our room was finished in unpainted dirty looking concrete and looked terrible to be honest. Any rooms on the second floor are going to be very noisy. Breakfast preparations mean that from 7.30 a.m. you are going to be awake as the open kitchen backs onto one room and is facing the others and the guests having breakfast are a few feet from your door on the shared second floor landing. Also, the room service staff gather all their things in the corridor and again you are likely to be woken up early on that floor. I have stayed in many hotels in Chiang Mai and although it's quaint, I won't be coming back. Didn't bother much with breakfast, if you like eggs you'll be fine but nothing much else appealed. Better value for money elsewhere is available in this town at the prices being charged.
Reviewed February 04, 2013

Veronica C. from United Kingdom
Groups
Stayed 6 nights in January 2013
Thai style homely hotel
Pretty central to the Chaing M acativities
Wanted to be closer to the night markets but, it's an easy walk and plenty of activity round. Hotel spostless. 3 floors without lift. Owners and staff, all women are chariming and helpful. We stayed 5 extra nights here
Reviewed February 01, 2013