arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Good 6.9
Based on 301 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Good



based on 301 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 5.4
  • Location 8.8
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.2
  • Service 6.5
  • Value for Money 7.4
  • Food/Dining 5.2

Juliette C.
Australia
December 23, 2015
Great location. Good Value.
Great location, close to transport, restaurants and night markets. Good value for money. Clean and tidy.
City home guest house is ideal as a base for exploring Chiang Rai. Located right near the bus station, night markets, restaurants, and tourist bars etc exploring is easy. Motorbike/Scooter hire is a couple of doors away. A big thank you to the Lady who cleaned our room each day and done a great job too. It was lovely to come back every afternoon to clean fresh towels and bedding and a clean room. Her work was very much appreciated. We would stay again at City Guest House as was good value for money.

Simon D.
Australia
July 04, 2015
Close To The Bus Station & Night Market
Location, Price, Location
I chose the City Home Guest House primarily as a stop over and for its location close to the Bus Station. It was very close to the bus station and the night market which is one of if not the main night time tourist attractions in Chiang Rai. The room was basic but serviceable, and i had very little interaction with the staff, which was fine as i did not require their assistance. The room was noisy at night because of the night market, but i did not mind that, and the noise would of finished by 11pm i'd say. All in all it did the job that was required of it.

andrew S.
United States
March 12, 2015
OK
location to bus station, nice staff, ok price
Good. Considering Chiang Rai is not Bangkok maybe a bit overpriced. But nice enough and very convenient to bus station and other things.

dean R.
United States
February 26, 2015
Excellent location and value; that's about all.
location, value, OK room
I was bicycling from Chaing Mai to Chaing Rai and this was my end point. Picked it for location to the night market (one block) and to restaraunts. The location was superb for enjoying the night market and Chinese New Year activities. Room was comfortable and clean; otherwise very spartan. The lobby was the only place that WIFI was available. Lobby was open and filled with mosquitos; tables were filthy and trash was strewn about. Staff at the desk only from 8AM to 7PM, so after 7PM you're on your own. They said they couldn't help with getting a taxi in the AM because no-one would be there. So, good value, good location, OK room. That's about all.

Hong L.
Malaysia
February 02, 2015
Small room
location
Next to night market (convenient but noisy), small room

Hong L.
Malaysia
February 02, 2015
simple room
location
Next to night market (convenient but noisy), small room

CHI P.
Hong Kong
January 24, 2015
A nice hotel of good location
Good location, good wi-fi, reasonable room rate
City Home locates near the bus station 1 (old one). It is good if you travelled to Chiang Rai by bus. Night Bazaar/Market is just behind the hotel that provides a convenient spot for entertainment, dinner and shopping. The bazaar is just behind the hotel and fortunately our room did not face it otherwise it might be quite noisy. The room is all right and the only complaint was that the water heater gave us only lukewarm water. Chiang Rai is not too cold even in winter time. So it was unsatisfactory but yet not a big problem.

Khoo L.
Malaysia
January 08, 2015
Nice Location but Bad accomodation
Near to night market and other attraction

Matchali C.
Thailand
December 28, 2014
Good location
Clean Good location. Relax
Good location

Daniel K.
United States
December 16, 2014
Liked it, but it's not for everyone.
Location, funky old building, clean
This guesthouse is in an older building. It's right in the middle the central area - bus station, night market, night life. Even though the building is older, it's cleaner than many Thai hotels. I like the architecture. It has a small inner court yard. It's a little bit too noisy. They have old windows that let noise in. You'll hear the night market singer and maybe the metal shop during the day. When I decided to extend my stay, the staff volunteered to switch me to a less expensive room! How often does that happen? If you're OK with city noise, then you might like the other benefits of this guesthouse. I would stay here again. For less noise, get a room on the 2nd floor. I also recommend the nearby Connection Cafe, across from the bus station. They charge less than other tourist restaurant/cafes, but the coffee, food, and internet are good.