arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
All reviews (826)

Business travelers (54)

Couples (349)

Solo travelers (163)

Families with young children (72)

Families with older children (91)

Groups (97)

Excellent
8.2
based on 826 reviews
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.4
Facilities
8.2
Location
8.3
Room Comfort/Standard
8.2
Staff Performance
8.7
Value for Money
8.1
Food/Dining
7.4

8.8 Bruce B.
United States of America
March 29, 2016
Nice Location
Everything was nice except 20 mosquitoes in the room on second night, no restaurants open at hotel or nearby on Sat night. .

10 David S.
United States of America
March 28, 2016
Was a nice, small hotel very well located. The st
Would stay there again!

8 Peter J.
United Kingdom
April 05, 2016
Excellent value
Good size well serviced comfortable room. Nice size swimming pool and terrace pleasantly located away from the road. Good breakfast buffet with additional freshly cooked items (omelettes, etc) cheerfully provided on request. A liitle way from the town centre (10-15 mins walk or a cheap tuk tuk ride), but the upside is that it's quiet. Only downside is that the restaurant isn't open in the evening and the only one nearby only serves European food (no Thai food).

9 Kevin M.
United States of America
March 15, 2016
Unexpected Charm
1) Staff gave the "Land Of Smiles" new life. They were extremely helpful going over and above what would be expected to make you feel at home.
Excellent choice at a reasonable price.

10 Vernon A.
United States of America
March 14, 2016
Great small hotel in Chiang Rai
Service personnel, location, room comfort.
My stay was perfect here. All the staff were so wonderful and helpful. Hotel was quiet and yet, near to the center of town. Everything was just as I hoped it would be, really! Will return.

7.2 Pierre S.
Canada
March 05, 2016
An Oasis within a deprived area
On arrival by taxi one is not sure what to expect due to the poor surroundings. It is a pleasant surprise when entering the hotel. Staff are friendly and the place is clean. Pool is a main attraction. The rooms are big and the washrooms are big cement kinda feeling.They are functional. Numerous mosquito bits.

7.6 Roger L.
Canada
March 03, 2016
Very good
Overall experience was very good. Staff responded to everything immediately Shower drain was an issue and a small leak in plumbing under sink but not a huge issue. Would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone.

9.6 CHOO J.
Malaysia
February 29, 2016
Love this hotel very much. Service is awesome and
Will definitely be back when i next visit Chiang Rai

10 Karen K.
United States of America
February 26, 2016
It's a 12 on the scale of 10!
The staff, complimentary breakfast, and price!
We can not make enough positive comments about our stay at this terrific hotel. Special kudos to Bee, our adorable Thai hostess, concierge, and tour director. We are a party of 6 who has been traveling through Laos and northern Thailand for the past 3 weeks and must rate this hotel as our best experience thanks to your perfectly trained staff, delicious breakfast, and convenient location. If there were such a rating, the Nak Nakara deserves 4.5 stars!

8 Carol M.
United Kingdom
March 10, 2016
Pleasant Stay
Located not too far from the town centre - about 15 mins slow walk. Only about 80 baht in tuk tuk so we tended to walk down to the town and night market and get tuk tuk back. Ideally situated for the Saturday Night Walking Street market and lovely park just behind hotel which was lit up at night with various statues etc. We organised private car from the hotel to take us out for full day for about £50 and was able to create our own itinerary rather than follow set trip. Do not miss the White Temple. Hotel gives free shuttle to airport/bus station. There is a free tram around the town twice daily which departs from close to the King Mengrai Monument by the hotel - ask at reception. On arrival the receptionist gave us a map and showed us all the local sights which was a nice touch. Swimming pool was nice but got very busy so sunbeds not always available.