Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.8
Based on 1058 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 1058 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.8
  • Location 8.2
  • Room Comfort/Standard 9.2
  • Service 9.2
  • Value for Money 8.8
  • Food/Dining 8.1

Constance H.
United States
May 15, 2014
Great spa, good value
Spa, beach proximity wth great pool, spacious comfortable rooms
The service at the Nakamanda is quite good compared to other hotels in Krabi. Staff are very accommodating, honest, and friendly. Compared to some other Krabi hotels the view from the Nakamanda is not fantastic, but if you spend some time on a boat or kayak tour, you will see great views so not to worry. The spa is absolutely wonderful and we spent at least an hour there each day. wish it could be longer! Pool is large and well maintained, very clean, chlorinated. Restaurant not bad, facing the beach, quite tasty, but not too fancy. Extensive wine list. Breakfast ok with fruit, cereal, congee, egg stand, pastries, hot meat, thai noodles. Rooms are spacious with large comfy beds, aircon, well equipped bathrooms, a safe to store valuables, beach bag, sandals, umbrellas, slippers, robes, electric kettle, daily mineral water, free wi-fi, and multi-EU/US plugs. There is also a nice sala veranda with a table, towel rack to dry swimwear, and a large futon cushion. Great to relax there, especially with the overhead ceiling fan, and electric bug killer. Bring bug spray while outside! There seems to be lots to do around Krabi including boat tours, kayaking, fishing, snorkeling, diving, elephant tours, etc. Some of it is easily accessed right off the hotel's beach front. If you get bored, you can visit the hotels next door which are larger resorts and bigger restaurants. The negatives were 1) we had no hot water, perhaps an oversight that can be easily repaired 2) despite a LARGE bathroom, there was no privacy in the toilet 3) not too many restaurant or shop choices in Klong Muang but you can easily travel by taxi to Ao Nang, albeit the hotel car transfer is quite expensive at 500 bht each way. Mosquito nets over the beds would be nice too. Overall we enjoyed our short stay, and I would recommend the hotel for its good value and privacy.

Adrian G.
Norway
May 14, 2014
Hotel in need of a refurbishment
Close to the beach

Jessie L.
Singapore
May 13, 2014
Quiet resort with attentive and friendly staff
Quiet location with nice restaurants nearby and right at the beach
The villa was clean and came with a huge bathroom. The beach was right at our door step and if you want to visit the touristy area, Ao Nang is just 20 minutes away. The staff at Nakamanda were efficient and friendly. Breakfast was decent. Overall, we loved the place and will come back in future!

Christopher F.
United Kingdom
May 13, 2014
Good value, but a bit run down, access difficult
Quiet, relaxing, comfortable
Overall quite good, but needs renovation. Access to the beach from reception is not easy for the elderly or people with walking problems. Lots of steps. Nothing much to do. A do nothing place.Very quiet. Must have a car.

Sarah A.
Singapore
May 08, 2014
Amazing stay with Nakamanda!
Beautiful villas surrounded by lush greenery; amazing beach/sea view; lovely staff
I was impressed with the personal approach experienced as i reached the hotel for check in. The staff were sincere and pleasant. The villas were beautiful surrounded by peaceful and lush greenery. The pool and dining area were located by the beach front with amazing view. The spa was amazing too esp the Royal Thai Massage!

Peiyi W.
Singapore
May 07, 2014
Amazing hotel with friendly staff
Amazing staff, peacefulness, romantic
First and foremost, the attention to detail by the staff members was absolutely fabulous. I put in my booking comments that it was our honeymoon and they prepared the room with rose petals and a complimentary wine and a plate of fruits. They also greeted you at almost every single moment, and were always at your service. Next, the rooms were stunning as well. We got the most basic of rooms, and even that came with a bedroom, a HUGE bathtub, a shower, a toilet, 2 sink areas (for him and her), a makeup desk, and an outdoor area with a daybed and fan. It was such great value for such a big room. The huts were also generously spaced apart so you were guaranteed peace and quiet. Unfortunately the weather was a bit too hot for us to enjoy the outdoor daybed. The hotel itself did not have a very spectacular beach because it was situated at a small lagoon-like area which you could walk over at low tide. But if you want those picture perfect beaches, you could just go walk over to the neighbouring resort or even Sheraton, as the beach area was not cordoned off. It took literally 1 minute to do so. Lastly, we also arranged for a few day trips out with the hotel to go island hopping and kayaking. You could probably have arranged the trips cheaper yourself, but everything was still way cheaper than my previous experience at Phi Phi island. Overall, everything was pretty much perfect, and a very reasonable price to us. Highly recommended!!

Lih T.
Malaysia
May 05, 2014
Perfect stay in Krabi. Quiet with great scenary.
The staffs are very friendly and attentive. The hotel's location is superb, nice and quiet surroundings, perfect spot to enjoy sunset. The buffet breakfast has great variety of healthy food.
IT was simply fantastic. Everything was great, the ambience, the staff, the spa massage service. All round top quality. Cant wait to go back!!

Linus Y.
Singapore
May 05, 2014
Wonderful resort, wonderful staff
1. The staff who were always ready to serve, going above and beyond expectations. 2. The serenity of the resort 3.

Vincent L.
United States
May 02, 2014
Nice room, great service, fantastic sunsets
Quiet, off the beaten path, sunsets
My wife loved the room & room service, I think a moto,bike rental made it doable for me (about 20 min from Ao Nang beach & longboats). We rented for 3000 baht for the day, which was fantastic

talia E.
Israel
May 01, 2014
fantastic romantic pamperred vacation
1. amazing service 2. the regular villas rooms are spacious . comfortable and beautiful 3. gorgeous surroundings
besides what I wrote I would say 1/a fantastic group of people who gave us the best vacation 2. people withe disabilities- this is not your hotel as it is a hillside one' no lift 3. Food- pay attention in Thailand they all use MSG and other Flavour enhancers which can cause belly pains/Stomach ache