arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Very good 7.7
Based on 1961 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 1961 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.2
  • Location 9.1
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.8
  • Staff Performance 7.3
  • Value for Money 7.5
  • Food/Dining 6.8

8.3 Nick G.
United Kingdom
January 09, 2015
On the beach, great location
Big pool, wifi, on the beach
Had an excellent stay here it's right on the beach literally, paid a little over the odds but that's probs because it's isolated with few hotels surrounding it on railay west. This hotel is on railay west.....do not stay on railay east, no beach, and not as peaceful

8.3 Marina B.
Israel
January 09, 2015
great location and value for money
location, room comfort and cleaness
Very relaxed and please with our choice.

7.7 Lina W.
United States
January 09, 2015
Right on the beach!
Location, location, location
We had a great time in Railay at the Sand Sea Resort. Location: You could not ask for a better location than Sand Sea, or the other 2 resorts that are right next to it. It is right on the beach. I'm so glad we ended up staying here. We walked around the island to East Railay (about a 10-15 min walk away) and saw where some of the other hotels we were looking at were located. There's not much of a beach there, so everyone walks towards West Railay beach anyways. Room: We stayed in the bungalows. The room itself is very basic and pretty small. There's a drying rack in the room which is great since it was raining and we took our clothes to the beach. Our TV didn't work, but the AC did, so we were okay with that. The bathroom does have a half wall to separate the shower from the toilet which is great so the water doesn't splash all over the place. Bed leans on the harder side, and not super comfortable, but was closer to a queen size. The room also had tatami mats which we could use on the beach, which was great. Overall, the room is older, however, will meet your basic standards. Room also comes with breakfast buffet, which was decent. Luggage: As we checked out, we left our bags in the back room which is pretty much open to anyone. I had a rolled-up jacket that was sort of tied to my backpack, but when we came back for our bags, the jacket itself was gone. It was my fault as I should've tied or stored away properly. I'm pretty sure another guest had mistakenly taken it, however, I wish the staff would use a tagging system to ensure the bags and belongings are accounted for instead of letting everyone walk to the back to grab their stuff.

7 Kathy K.
United States
January 08, 2015
Needs a few minor imporvements
Location, location, pool
This hotel could be really good with a few minor improvements. The bath was like a sauna, but the window to outside did not have a screen. So your choice was mosquitoes or sauna. This is a very minor fix, but one that is very important. The roll away bed my son had was a disaster. However, the setting here is so beautiful, the beach and the rock formations so spectacular that it is easy to overlook these very minor flaws.

7.7 Agnes C.
Philippines
January 06, 2015
A small piece of paradise!
1. Excellent view of the sunset 2. Nice rooms for privacy 3. Good buffet breakfast
Traveled far enough to reach this island for an overnight stay. We didn't regret it though coz it was totally worth it! Excellent view of the sunset -- except for the part where a lot of Chinese would suddenly be in front of you trying to take pictures. Hehehehe! Buffet breakfast was okay. I wanted Thai breakfast. The rooms seemed rather old but overall it was nice and clean. Lotsa pillows which I really loved! :)

5.3 John L.
United States
January 05, 2015
Nice location, awful food
sand, sea, sun
Peak season so we were willing to cough up more than $100 per night. The "compulsory" New Year's Eve Gala Dinner at nearly $100 per person was uncalled for yet I realize that hotels and resorts around Phuket routinely do this, and anyway it was added onto my Agoda bill without warning. BOOM! No way around it. When I noticed the much higher cost, and found the compulsory dinner had been added without warning, I tried to cancel it online but noticed that it was not a cancellable booking, so we were stuck with it. OK, we decided to make the best of it and fully enjoy the New Year's Eve Gala Dinner even though we felt put out about that, imagining that at this cost it must be really something special. Well, it was not, they made a very half hearted effort, since everyone was obliged to participate in it, so why bother to make the dinner special. Not one glass of complimentary champagne, nor even a tiny glass of beer (the management seemed to be Islamic) . The "entertainment" was blasting speakers and amplifiers, with tone deaf Thai pop music and a sort of tribute to ASEAN, never mind that nearly all the guests are Northern Europeans and Russians with a few Americans and Japanese thrown in who barely even know, or care what or who ASEAN is. Anyway, the music was dreadful and the presentation worthy of a 2nd rate Thai high school event. The only thing we took away from it that the whole thing was such a disaster that it became a sort of funny black joke, one that will remain with us forever. As for the hotel, I would rate it as "acceptable". Breakfast OK, if you don't mind omeltettes cookied in margarine, fake plastic looking ham, industrial quality bread for your toast, "Fanta" like juice. Altogether we paid about USD $1000 for five nights at this resort, including the New Years Eve Fiasco Dinnar which works out to about 200 bucks per night. In Thailand?

9 Ramon B.
Norway
January 04, 2015
What a perfect place!
Beach! Bungalows! Lagoon!
Loved it. I can't believe it's only three stars. The food is terrible (literally the worst we had on our entire three week trip), but who cares when you can do a cartwheel on the beach and be in a different restaurant already?! We stayed in Koh Lanta first, which was okay, but if you're going to Krabi and want the perfect beach vacation, go to Railay and stay at Sand Sea Resort. Good value for money and in such a beautiful location. We got off the longtail boat and thought we had to trek for a while to get there but it was right in front of us. There are plenty of small excursions to adventure on and to occupy your stay for a week. I wish we had stayed longer.

5 prakit L.
Thailand
December 31, 2014
Need to upgrade overall facility
location

6.3 Jenna M.
United States
December 25, 2014
Great location, outdated rooms
Location, property, lovation
We could have stayed in a shack on Railay Beach and been happy, it's such an amazing place. However, when you are paying close to $100 you wish for a more comfortable room. It wasn't the worst I ever stayed in but the bed was hard and uncomfortable, the furniture was extremely out of date it was a very buggy room, lots of creatures, I guess that can be expected there. However, the We didn't have that problem at the Railay Beach Resort. If you aren't looking to spend $200 at The Railay Village, and you want to stay on the West Side, this is a decent option. Has a nice pool and day beds, just claim your spot early. But really you should be out there rock climbing! Railay Beach east is like a 5 minute walk so don't feel afraid to book there. Before booking it seemed much further away.

9.7 Troy M.
Australia
December 25, 2014
Clean, comfortable, friendly and well priced.
Clean, comfortable, friendly, amazing location and well priced.
This is wonderful resort. Very friendly staff, just be patient with them as their English isn't great. The restaurant has a huge selection, is well priced and is very safe. Although they don't serve alcohol at the resort, you can buy drinks literally next door or byo from walking street only 50 meters away. The location of this resort is by far the best along the very best beach. You cannot put into words how wonderful the view is every morning, midday and evening. Get a juion suite as although they are a little older they are larger, very comfortable and closer to the main swimming pool. Final tip: save yourself lots of hassle and get an airport transfer from the airport via the resort. It's cheap and makes life wonderfully simple. I watched so many guests struggling with all their luggage coming up from the beach after getting buses and then long boats. Just get a transfer and enjoy your holiday.