Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.2
Based on 54 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 54 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.9
  • Location 7.3
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.9
  • Service 8.8
  • Value for Money 8.1
  • Food/Dining 7.2
Sort by

ray M.
United States
October 15, 2013
Completely satisfying
Karni, the owner. Walking nearby. The breakfast in the garden
Wonderful. Exceptionally clean, beautifully located. Terrific breakfast and good company.

Jonathan S.
United States
September 29, 2013
fairly relaxing
the bed was more comfortable than most in Asia. The hotel was just out of town, about 5minutes by scooter. The hotel was fairly quiet after all the guests went to sleep
Overall my stay at his hotel was relaxed and somewhat fun. The owners are an Isreali woman and her Thai husband. They both were very friendly and welcoming, taking time to show me where the sights are on a map, offering to rent me a scooter at a slightly higher price than I could find it in town (50Bhatt more per day), etc. It felt like staying with a family more than staying at a hotel, until my last day when she presented an unexpected bill. But I will get back to that. The Thai husband would often times plug his guitar or an IPAD into an amp that was pretty loud, too. Several mornings a strange recording with Thai music and someone talking in Thai would go off nearby, starting at around 6:30 in the morning. By the last time it went off it was around 4:45AM and every dog in the neighborhood began to howl along with it. On my first morning I was offered breakfast with tea or coffee. Each additional morning I was offered a cup of tea, just how I liked it. Another day I was invited for a BBQ dinner. Not once was I told that I would be charged for all of it, nor what the charge would be. When I was checking out I was presented with a bill for over 500 Bhatt, just over $16.00 for the breakfast, the tea, and the dinner. I was charged for each tea bag and (I can't remember the actual amount) but over $7.00 for the mediocre half BBQ chicken dinner. In retrospect I find this appalling. The owner explained that she pays for it all and thus has to charge for it. I easily could have gone into town and had a luxurious 5 course gourmet meal for what I paid for the burnt chicken dinner, and tea should have been thrown in with the exorbitant nightly fee. Pai is full of bungalow hotels, many of which start around 200 Bhatt for a fan or 400 for air conditioning, and are in town or at least closer.

Manh H.
Vietnam
July 05, 2013
Good location for Pai getaway
Nice bungalow in the lychee garden, very peaceful, friendly and helpful owner

Jordan B.
United States
February 25, 2013
Lovely owner, beautiful quiet location
Gorgeous property, sweet location, so clean, owner is s helpful
This was easily one of my most favorite bungalows in Asia. A sence of home, and love from the owner. I wish we would of had a week in Pai ! the owner helped us plan our short stay mapped everything out for us and gave us lots of options. Even told us where to eat, and her recommendations did not disappoint ! The location is not as far as I expected, a lovely walk, or short ride. The property is so pretty! Lychee trees and swings, hammocks, orchids and friendly dogs. Felt like home away from home best sleep I've had in a long time!

Kiara L.
Australia
February 16, 2013
An oasis run by friendly caring people
Clean cottages, relaxed atmosphere and amazing service
we have been travelling in thailand for 2 months and lychee garden bungalows is by far the best place we have stayed. the cottages are extremely clean, they are cleaned each day. oh and the bed is so so comfortable, best bed we have slept in in thailand. the owners karni and rid are so friendly and welcoming, willing to help with any question or request. the garden is like a little oasis where you can relax and enjoy the moment. it is a little bit out of town, but that is no issue if you hire a scooter ... only a 5 minute ride into town and it gives you more freedom to see surrounding pai. the breakfast and dinner we ate there was very tasty. lychee was like a home away from home. we will definitely be returning to lychee.

Emily R.
United States
January 24, 2013
Scenic location with smart, clean bungalows
Helpful owners and a scenic location
We were so pleased with our stay here. It's a bit outside of the city (25 minutes walking or 5 minutes by motorbike), but that didn't really detract from our experience. We rented motorbikes to get around (essentially a requirement for seeing Pai - the owners even gave us driving lessons!) and the fabulous owners of the hotel took us to and from town whenever we needed. The bungalows are clean, bright and comfortable. We were more than satisfied. The garden area is great, we enjoyed our breakfast there and spent some time reading in the hammocks. Wifi can only be accessed out in the garden and it wasn't 100% reliable, but enough for us to check email. There is a small store across the road which was convenient for buying snacks and beers. When we arrived, the owner gave us a detailed map as lots of suggestions for what to see and do and where to eat. SO helpful! This place is a great find.

JUNYONG L.
China
November 08, 2012
like a family
friendly,nice,wonderful garden
It's my first time to thailand and feel lucky I have added PAI to the plan.Lychee garden bungalow is a beautiful place which we were staying at PAI,the most impressive thing is garden host, a husband and a wife. They provide not only service but also heart to us, make me feel so warm. Thank you for your help, smile and anything else.I am the husband of Chinese couple, we can not logon FB during these days, so hope you can see my notes here,we miss you all. Lychee garden is a remarkable memory of our tour.I will recommend to my friends undoubtedly.

MOLY S.
Israel
October 21, 2012
nice bungalows, familey atmosphire
good tips to travel around, good zula
we enjoy staying at karni and reed place! they where wonderful to us

alan R.
New Zealand
October 15, 2012
Friendly communal setup with English speaking host
English spoken,helpful hosts, village/rural atmosphere including early roosters.
Small pokey units,poorly equipped and overpriced relative to our other 5 accommodation units in Thailand. You will need transport to access eateries etc.

shujun C.
China
September 03, 2012
a bit far from centre, but easy to get by bike
helpful staff, nice room and enviroment
happy stay with all the staff, room is very nice and enviroment is confortable